Bassitude

Happy Thorsday, little friday, Thankful Thursday, one week before Christmas and whatever else.  I apologize for my unplanned silences, but that’s what happens when one has a real job and she gets the bright idea to do League leadership mid-year reviews at mid-year even when that falls during the holiday rush.

So, I haven’t even had time to set up my most exciting, early Christmas present from the good folks at BROOD – the local basset rescue.  See, they had a raffle a few weeks ago, and imagine my surprise when I not only won, but won my favorite of the four prizes donated by the extremely talented paws at Sir Bentley Art.  I hope they won’t mind if I use their cover photo from their Facebook page to illustrate my most awesome loot!

Courtesy of Sir Bentley Art

Courtesy of Sir Bentley Art

Which piece is your favorite?  I truly can’t choose.  I’m just delighted to own it; I might have to shuffle around some other precious things so it can live year ’round in one of our glass-front cabinets…

Courtesy of Will Kerner; JLC future, present and past presidents

Courtesy of Will Kerner; JLC future, present and past presidents

Obviously, I’m thankful for the generosity of talented artists, for the good folks at BROOD helping houndies find great homes, and for literary classics that make us think and inspire us to be better people.  But I’m also grateful for landing in a job that is never the same two days – or two minutes? – in a row and for my good-natured co-workers who make me laugh, one way or another, every day.  I’m also honored to serve the community with the dedicated, brilliant women in the JLC, especially those awesome leaders who went along with my crazy notion that the mid-year reviews should happen between Thanksgiving and … yesterday.  We did it, and they have some great ideas on how to move the League forward even further in the next few months.

Of course most of all, I’m grateful for the Knight, who never does more than sigh and make sure the bluetooth headset is charged when I mention at 4:35 that I have four conference calls, beginning at 5.  And I’m glad Sissy has remained relentless in her demands for a daily walk, except in the foulest of weather.

I hope friends and family will understand when our Christmas cards arrive next week… or after the 25th.  There’s also been no baking this year.  It might be the year of fudge, because I can manage to stand at the stove and stir for five minutes and then wait for time and the magic of cooling, liquefied sugar to happen.   But next year…

Never mind.  I’m pretty sure I’ve vowed to get my act together better every year since life started getting in the way.

What are you thankful for today?

 

 

 

11 comments on “Bassitude

  1. Nancy says:

    Love the photo of the JLC presidents – it’s a great shot of you.

    My favorite piece in your bounty is the one decked out in PANK, of course!

  2. km says:

    I’m thankful that M has a job. They let someone go at his company (not a surprise to us) and now he has more responsibility…and some job security as no one knows as much as he does on this project. I’m thankful that I found a Chiropractor that is helping me with my back pain. And I’m thankful that the kids new pediatrician is seeking answers for my middle kids issues.

  3. gmariesews says:

    I think my favorite is the little basset girl in the plaid skirt – because her face is white and her ears are brown so she looks like AbbyDo! That’s a wonderful win! I’m incredibly happy for that one. I would definately be moving stuff around.

    Thankful – hmmmm – healthy dogs, vets who ‘get it’, the new job (which isn’t so new but is awesome and never the same day to day), health, the beautiful Seattle skyline. That’s enough. — g

  4. sue says:

    Fudgie’s perfect lab report, the little girls getting along and a pack of happy excited dogs who inspect every package that arrives.

  5. Marjie says:

    What a great prize, and a lovely picture of the presidents. Hope you and yours get some rest next week!

  6. kathy b says:

    LOVE the Basset with the black outfit and hat/hood. Love them all.
    Im so thankful we met in person this year. A highlight for sure of 2013. I LOVE C’ville.
    THankful for 31 years with Fireman as of yesterday. :)
    THankful for Beatles, Tank, Pie and Rozzy
    Rozzy managed to hang on to this her 17th year….and she purrs up a storm every day.

  7. Thankful for the people in my life. Not so thankful for the crazy heavy gusts of wind ripping through my world today. The high bridge and raised causeway on I-5 today were SCARY!

  8. AlisonH says:

    Good to hear from you (and don’t feel you have to when it doesn’t work out timewise.) Love the prize you got! Sounds like things are coming along well there; I’m so glad.

  9. You look so pretty! That’s a great dress!

  10. I’ll be on the road tomorrow going back to SA, so Merry Christmas!

  11. Oh dear Channon, it sounds like your world is quite in the whirl. I do hope things get in sync for you soon. I’m sure they will.

    Sending lots of Christmas wishes your way this Joyous Holiday Season, Channon. Merry Christmas to You and the Knight and those awesome “girls” of yours! Enjoy that Fudge!

Leave a Reply

