Bad Start

To look at the sunrise Friday morning, you wouldn’t know I went to bed nearly in tears on Thursday night.  We left on schedule, but hit TWO traffic jams before we got to Richmond.   (Not quite an hour from our house…)  Later, we risked getting arrested for trespassing at a golf club (no names to protect US!) so that Sissy could empty her bladder in a rather emergent fashion.  A few exits after that, the Knight stopped for gas at some wonderful spot with more bullet-proof glass than I’ve ever seen – really.  Then, about an hour before we got to the beach house, Sissy – our “good” rider – threw up in the back seat without warning.  Mugsy hyperventilated the entire way.  (He was the best rider, prior to our accident in December.)

The Knight doesn’t do puke, poop or his own blood.  To say that he wasn’t helpful is an understatement.  By the time we crossed the bridge, everything but Hooters was closed.  He did get me a Starbucks iced Mocha in a large bottle from a convenience store, and that was breakfast Friday morning.   For reasons I still don’t understand, Sissy didn’t get walked as soon as the Knight walked back into the house.  (We always drop the dogs off before getting dinner and doing our shopping.)  So, after washing the back seat AND one floor mat at 10:30pm, I stepped in a puddle when I walked in the door.  Welcome to the beach.   I drank a beer, ate a few wings and onion rings, and went to bed, very literally praying for a better Friday. 

(Note to all – I’m a wine girl.  However, the Knight offered a taste of his ice-cold beer, and honestly, I’ve never had a beer go down so smoothly.  The reason he’s my Knight is because he never flinched; he just went and fetched another for himself, acting as if that was the plan all along.) 

 (Excuse the photo.  I couldn’t get the angle I needed on the deck, so you get to see the screen.)  THIS is what Sissy and I watched every morning, from our front porch.  Mugsy stayed inside, on the sofa with his Dadaw, where it was warmer.  I did wear my shawl, but it clashed with my nightie, so no photos for you.  Sissy REALLY likes listening to the noises of beach road.  Mopeds fascinate her, but she’s not quite tall enough to see out the windows!

Now THAT is how to start the day.  Sissy and I would hang out on the porch, knit and sway on the swing until the Knight fell off the sofa with the announcement that he was ready to eat. 

Friday was THE perfect day.  It was almost cloudless, so we drove around all day with the windows down and the sunroof open.  We went on a little trip for two special little boys – I’ll blog separately – and hit the Cotton Gin  on the way back.  Crocs and monster sized Tervis Tumblers were only some of the things we came out with, and then we headed home to take the dogs to the beach.  Friday night also marked their first night visit on the beach.  The moon was full or nearly so, and it was beautiful. 

Saturday, we hit Knitting Addiction.   That too will be a separate post, as there was also knitterly goodness on the front porch here in Virginia when we arrived tonight.  There were also FOs, but one is a secret, so it will get blogged about when it goes to its forever home.    We were surprised to get a call from the Knight’s brother and his girlfriend, but we enjoyed spending time with them Saturday night and again for lunch on Sunday before we headed north.

That’s how the darling ones travelled this afternoon, thanks to a round of grape chewable Children’s Benedryl for both pups.  Sissy actually slept the whole way, save the flash in the face moment above.  I did get some cute beach photos, but you’ll have to come back on Thursday for those.  Tomorrow, we ease back into our lives with a rainy Monday at the family business.  (Read:  I’ll have lots of time for another post or ten, and the Knight will either be wallowing in the mud or buying breakfast for ten, or both!) 

 

 

19 comments on “Bad Start

  1. Anita says:

    Sorry you guys had such a horrible ride down!!! But it sounds as if the rest of the weekend was good. 🙂 Cute photo of the pups on the way home….

    I love my Tervis tumblers!!! Those things are awesome!

  2. Anne says:

    Welcome back – SO glad to hear that things settled down after the horribly rocky start – sounds like you needed them to! The pups look adorable – I’m amazed Sissy puts up with that!

  3. Nancy says:

    sounds like what started out as a bad getaway quickly turned wonderful. I don’t do beer much either, (much prefer wine too!) but sometimes, an ice cold one does the trick. Those sunrises were lovely. Glad you got away and the weather was great. Looking forward to the rest of the details!

  4. Alana says:

    Well, if misery loves company, I’ll tell you that when hubby and I came back to the car after eating at Subway last night, one of our sweeties had puked on my back seat. Just what we needed for “dessert”. Lucky for me, hubby does do puke, and he cleaned my car all up!

    However, the rest of your weekend sounds loverly, and I can hardly wait to see the rest of your pics! BTW, I finally posted a picture of that wrap that you wanted to see! I’ve been a slacker, I know!

  5. Mary says:

    Oh my gosh, at least it ended well! Great photo of the pups, gosh Sissy is BIG compared to Mugs 🙂
    Absolutely gorgeous sunrise and I bet the sunsets were just as beautiful!! I was in heaven with those pic’s.. Hope you did some toeing in the sand..lol
    Hopefully the week will be good for all.
    Can’t wait to hear about the rest!

    Love ya’s!!

  6. Bubblesknits says:

    Mary said what I was thinking. Sissy has gotten HUGE! LOL Mugsy looks almost tiny next to her. I love the picture of them in the back seat. It may have been Benadryl induced, but it was still precious. 😉

    Sorry to hear y’all had a rough trip down, but I’m glad things got better after that. Talk to you tomorrow!

  7. Devon says:

    I’m sorry to hear things started off so rotten. Glad that they made a turn around for the better and that you had a nice few days. And by the way, what is it about husbands and cleaning bodily functions up? LOL Have a great week and give my love to the pups and tell them to give you a hug from me too.

  8. AlisonH says:

    Goodness. But the sunrise photos do make me homesick–see that? See that? The sun is supposed to RISE at the beach! Always!

  9. crimsonpurl says:

    But thank goodness for the great ending and the wipeable car seats!!!

    Glad you are back safely! Can’t wait for Part II & III of the trip!

  10. Amanda says:

    At least the glitches were done by Friday morning! Glad you got to relax and had that gorgeous view each morning!

  11. gaylen says:

    Oh how I have missed having time to comment rather than just update my own blog.

    The sunrise is incredible and the pups – oh my. JB was reading over my shoulder last night and he thought Miss Sissy was precious!

    I can’t wait to be home. Hope all is well with you — g

  12. grace says:

    glad everything calmed down and the rest of the weekend was good, now I must go google Tervis Tumblers as I am clueless!!!

  13. Dianne says:

    Oh, no…what a trip to the beach! I guess your weekend could only go up from there. Can’t wait to see the pictures of Mugsy & Sissy on the beach. Love the one of them in a benedryl-induced haze! I’ve taken it myself as a sleeping pill, but I’ve never thought of giving it to the dogs. Brilliant! I’ve got to google Tervis Tumbler, too. Never heard of it.

  14. Stephanie says:

    Oh, I wish I was looking at that view right now!

  15. StarSpry says:

    I’m glad your weekend got better after the initial drive to the beach!

    That’s a beautiful sunrise photo! Mugsy & Sissy look so cute in the back seat 🙂

  16. MrPuffy says:

    I feel for you with your disasterous road time to the beach. I’m glad it got better really quickly. Gez, and you didn’t want to go to Hooters for dinner to round out the evening?

  17. fireflynights says:

    So you resorted to drugging the little darlings for the return trip? You just don’t know what fun is. Try driving two Jack Russells back and forth to Michigan, 1,000 miles each way. It takes four hours just to convince Mosby that he is NOT riding in the front seat.

    Sounds like part of the weekend turned out well and you got out before the bad weather hit. Pretty sunrise. Glad you enjoyed everything except Thursday night.

  18. Nichole says:

    Sorry you had such a bad start… I truly know and feel your pain. :/

    Great shot of them on the ride home though! 🙂

  19. Robin says:

    Love the pictures!!! Knitting Addiction is a great store! I bought my first Tofutsies there!

Leave a Reply

