Recovery Monday

I’ve had vacations where I needed to come back to work to recover.  The past two weekends have had me looking forward to the “relaxing” pace of the work week!  It rained or stormed much of the long weekend, but we had a good weekend just the same.

Saturday, we went to the parade and then stayed for Summerfest long enough to collect our loot.  I wish I’d taken photos, but I didn’t.  I was too busy waving and hugging old friends to snap even a single photo.  Our department won best appearing fire department, which is akin to “best in show” in other competitions, and best appearing antique fire apparatus.   (Photo of the antique, now privately owned, borrowed from our website.)

Yesterday, we battled rain and storms to collect my furniture and to spend time with my aunt and uncle.  We’re blessed that we have at least one DEAR aunt and/or uncle on each side of each of our families.  We had lunch at one of my favorite spots in the world – Wilkerson’s.  They have the best fried oysters in the world, and the Knight is STILL talking about their crab legs.  It was a lousy day for a view of the Potomac, or I’d have snapped a shot for you.  Heck, it was even hazy enough that I couldn’t get a great shot of my favorite view from the farm for you.  I thought the Knight had taken a great photo of a young buck in velvet right on the edge of the driveway, but it’s not there.

In exceptionally happy news, the Prince is fine.  Old with belly fat that won’t budge, but fine.  That’s the pre-vet photo.  He’s really been out of sorts for about five days now, but according to our wonderful vets, his anal glands were PACKED, he’s lost 2.5 pounds, and other than that, he’s just a normal, old doggy.  PHEW.  A few of you knew I was fearing the worst, but I was just being a worry wort! 

There’s so much more to share, but I’ll close by mentioning that two of my blogging buds are having contests.  Gnat at Bark ‘n Knit is having one, and sweet Monica of Monnibo is having her 1000th post contest too.  Be sure to tell them that I sent you, and check out their cute pets.

15 comments on “Recovery Monday

  1. nichole says:

    Congrats on the win!
    Great photo – glad the old bugger is just OLD, lol

  2. AlisonH says:

    What a sweetheart. And I’m so glad you got to see your old buddies. As for Potomac pictures, that’s my old river back home, I’d love any I could see.

  3. anniebananie says:

    I’m glad that Prince is fine, and especially glad that you got to see your Aunt and old buddies this weekend. Despite the weather, it sounds like a pretty good one. 🙂

  4. Mary says:

    Oh so glad about the news on the Mugster!
    Sure glad youhad a great weekend!! Welcome back to Monday..lol

  5. StarSpry says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend! Congrats on the win for your fire department!

    I’m so glad to hear the Mugsy is doing well 😀

  6. Sarah says:

    That’s great for the department! Always good to win awards!

    Those crazy dogs! I’m glad that the little mr. is doing so well now!

  7. Wendy says:

    Glad to hear that the dear old prince is doing well. Let’s hope he stays that way. Kick your feet up onto the desk and relax a little.

  8. MrPuffy says:

    Congrats on the win – great picture of the fire engine. Reminds me that I need to wash my car – LOL!

    Glad to know Prince is going to be fine.

  9. sounds like a pretty good weekend despite the weather. and i love the pic of mugsy. he looks like one happy dog.

  10. gaylen says:

    I posted a long comment this morning – wonder what happened to it. Anyway – I said sometimes they just need us a spend a whole heap o’cash to know that we still love them. Apparently – your Prince wasn’t feelin the love and needed a payout.

    Glad to hear that he is okay. Hope all is better in your neck of the woods. g

  11. Dianne says:

    Good news on little Mugsy. Give him (and Sissy) scratches behind the ears from me, and kisses from Emma, Tara & Cooper.

  12. Amanda says:

    I am SO RELIEVED to read this post. Glad that there is nothing else going on other than normal aging stuff. PHEW!

  13. Monica says:

    Thanks for the shout out. Glad to hear the Prince is okay! 🙂

  14. insanknitty says:

    See what happens when I don’t read blogs for a week! Hugs to sweet Mugsy… I didn’t realize in your email the other day that the worry was actually this recent… I”m so sorry for my brainlessness…

  15. fireflynights says:

    Wilkerson’s sounds good and so do the crab legs.

Leave a Reply

