Evidence and Expectations

She’s no angel.  Last night, I allowed Gretchen a moment with her spoils, just to prove my point.  Bad idea.  A few hours later, I was in the bathroom and heard the Knight speak sharply to the wee one, twice.  I wasn’t surprised when I returned to see my Creatively Dyed cashmere blend on the other end of the sofa, but Gretchen was in the floor playing with a non-knitting toy.  My girl has expensive tastes.

The girls are at work today, and will be again tomorrow too.  Neighbor Dude came and got Sissy for me when I pulled in, and she and Shadow were playing happily when Gretchen and I came in.   Next thing I knew, Dae had rushed out of his office and was speaking firmly to Shadow, Sissy was in a submissive pose, peeing, and Gretchen was climbing up my leg.

A switch flipped in Shadow’s head when Gretchen came in, and he decided to guard her from Sissy.  After some alpha moves by Dae, the Knight and me, Shadow settled into an uneasy watchdog roll, and Sissy eventually got comfortable enough to engage in play with her little sister.  He and Dae soon headed home for a long weekend of RVing, but we’re going to have to be sure to put Shadow in his place in the future.

Today’s Dogs on Thursday post is REALLY about a business I hope you’ll consider next time you need pet collars, tags, etc.  Pet Expectations EXCEEDED my expectations!  We’re big on harnesses in our house (for the dogs, people!!), so I began looking for a wee one for Gretchen.  I’m now sold on Lupine and their guarantee, so off I went to find a special pattern to match the adorable leash Nichole sent Gretchen.  I found it elsewhere, placed the order, only to receive an email (AFTER the Paypal payment had been accepted!) that there would be about a ten-day delay as THAT style/pattern wasn’t REALLY in stock.  Hrmph.  At least the vendor gave me the chance to back out, so I did just that.  Google led me to Pet Expectations, and now, I can’t imagine buying Lupine or tags anywhere else. 

If you have a standard monitor (say… 15+ inches?) that’s probably about life-size Gretchie there, sporting her new harness.  This vest or “step in” style is what Mugsy’s internist recommends to avoid trachea trauma AND to prevent the reflex that all dogs have to pull harder when their throat has something (collar?) pressing on it.  That size will likely fit her for life, and thanks to Lupine’s guarantee, will be her regular-wear harness for the rest of her days.  We do have plans for a 3/4″, sturdier model when she’s full-grown, for playing in the surf and more strenuous activities where we’ll need more control.

However, as delighted as I was to find the matching harness and have it within two working days, the real find was the Remembrance keychain.  The two tags are identical on the one side, and the back of each features each boy’s information.  Blue for Fred and red for Mugsy, although the one I order for the Knight must be different…  GREEN for Fred (that was Fred’s primary color, with blue as his second option), and the red for Mugsy… 

The keychains are warrantied for life too.  If you look back at the “group” photo, you’ll see a couple of freebies too.  Each month, many Lupine vendors offer a free keychain with purchase (with strings attached, in many cases), and Pet Expectations also does a free pen of the month too.  Did I mention the great customer service?  I also ordered wee bones with each dog’s name and the Knight’s cell phone number on them, and they’ll go on their collars just as soon as I remember.  Sissy’s current collar is embroidered with the same info, but that collar is about to become her spare.

I know this was a long one, but really, Jill of Pet Expectations is a gem I needed to share with you.  (Lupine AND Jill offer cat products too, my feline lovin’ friends!)

Have a great little Friday and don’t forget to visit the other Dogs on Thursday!

21 comments on “Evidence and Expectations

  1. gaylen says:

    Oh what a sweetie with the yarn. Gotta nip that in the bid at least The Knight was paying attention tonight. Maybe he’ll regain his status.

    Strange that Shadow should decide Gretchen needs protection from Sissy. I’m sure you’ll all get him in line.

    Love the collars and harnesses. I wonder if a harness would help with Lucy pulling on JB’s shoulder. Hmmm, might have to go shopping. thanks for that – g

  2. Bubblesknits says:

    Oh, Gretchen! Back away from the expensive yarn, girl! *shudder*

    Off to check out that link for the kittehs some new collars. 🙂

  3. Dianne says:

    Maybe the yarn came that way? Maybe she was just keeping it away from Sissy? Did you even consider that the Knight may have messed up your yarn and then quickly slipped it to little Gretchen? I think the evidence is merely circumstantial. 🙂

  4. Sue says:

    I’ve been looking for a harness for Noah. Since his surgery I don’t like to use a collar. That one looks low enough to not rub on the shoulder either.

  5. Paula says:

    Wow! What cool harnesses, I have to check them out for Elise!
    Oh no, not the cashmere blend! Poor Gretchen.

  6. Paula says:

    P.S. I just love the dog rememberance tags too!

  7. MrPuffy says:

    When I saw the picture I thought the title of your post was going to be Evidence and Accusations!

    Thanks for the info on the doggie gear. I’m in favor of harnesses too.

  8. Dawn says:

    I’ve tried harnesses on Fuji and she hates them…she doesn’t move at all and then if she does she scoots on her side trying to get it off. She did all her training with a collar/leash so I think she’s just used to it. Still use the snap off collars in case they get hung on something. The remembrance tags are cool, never seen that before!

    Love the yarn pic….she looks sooo innocent!:)

  9. Pooch says:

    Cute puppy and tangled yarn is SO familiar! Thankfully, at 18 months, my puppy is pretty much passed that stage!! Thanks for the info on the harnesses! I’ve never used one on any of my dogs, but I’m considering it now.

  10. anniebananie says:

    Oh dear, were you able to untangle the yarn??? Oh dear oh dear oh dear…

    I would not be nearly as calm as you are.

  11. sonya says:

    I have seen that at my house, but mostly is was balls of yarn being tossed in the air.

    That is some wonderful yarn, hope it survived the attention.

  12. Isn’t it a darn good thing that puppy is THE cutest thing around? Even in the midst of her naughtiness she is aDOGable! Good luck with the yarn and knitting for the next little while.

  13. StarSpry says:

    Oh dear! I think it may be hard to be mad at such an ADORABLE little puppy 🙂 That’s a really cool harness for Gretchen. Glad you found such a good company to buy from! I really like the dog remembrance tags, too.

  14. AlisonH says:

    Ouch on the cashmere! Good thing she’s so cute…

  15. monnibo says:

    Lovely post! I’m glad all your expectations (pun intended) were met! …..But why oh why did you mention they have cat goodies?! Now I’m itching to go look!!

  16. Cathy says:

    I have loved Lupine for a long time – I have one of the loverly keychains and have used it for 5 or 6 years now – it is green with little ladybugs on it (I think it might be a retired pattern). I have wanted to get Jetta and Joe each a step in harness and am glad you’ve road-tested them for me! And as we both know, it is a good thing puppy girls are so cute, isn’t it?!

  17. Natalie says:

    How awesome is that!! I love Lupine as well. I’ve not tried the harnesses on my big dogs but I might want to some day! I will for sure with the new puppy! 🙂

    Love the goodies and the picture!! And hope Gretchen learns about yarn. 🙂

  18. Anita says:

    Ok, I’ll have to check out the cat goodies over there…. Christmas is coming & Princess Jasmine is one who I love buying for (some other family members not so much, LOL). 🙂

    Gretch looks so pittiful there with her yarn, we are such suckers! This is how they train us to get everything they want! SNOL

    Love the new harness & your tags, very sweet!!
    I also love that photo of Sissy with the toy, such a cutie pie!!

  19. Marjie says:

    Thor has a harness, too; of course, his is a pony harness. He gets very excited when it comes from beneath the sideboard. I don’t like walking a dog on a collar, because I’m so afraid of pulling on their necks. Love your picture of the pup in the harness!

  20. Kathy says:

    LOL…….sorry, didn’t mean to get such a chuckle out of Gretchen and her (ahem) toy but you must remember I reside with Mr. Bettis.

    I’m off to check out loot for dogs………..

  21. nichole says:

    I’m so glad you found the matching harness… I just adore the leaf print!

    LOVE those keychains..

    I’m booking marking now……

Leave a Reply

