Fido Friday

The dogs are at work again.   Sissy’s over at Uncle’s desk, getting started on payroll for me.  (This photo was actually taken last time Sissy was in the office, pre-Gretchen.  She seems to be content to stay off the desks now.)  I’m amazed at how much progress we make with them when they can come to work.  Sissy is back to responding to visual cues, and Gretchen is asking out, rather than relying on me to pick up on her little signs that come only when it’s almost too late.

My knitting mojo seems to be back.  It seems that I really have to find that happy place where a fun pattern and a great yarn meet to form a true knitting zen experience.  It seems I can’t just knit something because it’s the right thing for that person, and that makes gift knitting rather tricky.  More on that another day though…

imbuyingbooks_button

Blogging has allowed me to discover several folks with interests very much in line with mine.  Monica is one such gem, and through her, I found out about a campaign I’ve always supported, unknowingly.  Books for the Holidays is a great concept, encouraging us to stimulate the economy AND the minds of those we give gifts.  There are reviews and suggestions for different genres and age groups too.  Will you consider both giving books and spreading the word?

I’ve always given and received books for most gifting events, but a few years back, I stumbled upon a book that I knew several of my nearest and dearests would like.  I think I bought five copies that year, and a tradition started.   Sure, my friends and relations include a lot of rabid readers, but I also try to gift the youngest folks on my Christmas list with a book or two too.  Maybe I was a strange kid, but I loved books then too!  I still have my first set of Tolkein’s books about those hobbits, although I bought a new collection a few years ago too.  (Okay, maybe the Knight does have reason to fuss about my library.) 

I always look forward to getting a book or two from my favorite cousin and Bec.  Our interests are similar, but they stretch me a bit too, gifting me with books I might not have picked on my own, but neither of them has ever failed to give quality, enjoyable reads.

I know some of you do audio books.  I keep saying I want to try one, but I haven’t yet.  The idea of knitting and “reading” at the same time seems almost too good to be true…

This is another full weekend.  Tomorrow, a guild meeting and Thanksgiving with the Knight’s duty crew at the firehouse.  Sunday is relatively normal, with a meeting at the firehouse in the evening.  However, next week is what we call Hell week at our house.  The third week of the month is always hectic, but this month, the League moved its general membership meeting up a week to accommodate Thanksgiving travel. 

How ’bout you?  Anything fun planned for your weekend?

20 comments on “Fido Friday

  1. Sue says:

    Gifting books is a great idea. Include a neat little bookmark, too. It adds a nice touch. I must do a blog on the gorgeous library Rob is building for me.

  2. Dawn says:

    I love getting books! Great idea! I’d love to have a library built of oak where I’m surrounded with all my books…one day.

    Sounds like you’re going to have a great weekend! I’m going to make some soap one day and might go to a knitting meeting. Not much planned, need to clean too, phewy! Next weekend is another swim meet and of course on Fri. Twilight movie!:)

  3. gaylen says:

    Hmmm, this morning I’m being a bum. I have workout, then I need to pop into the office for a quick minute, then sewing. Tomorrow it’s the vet at dawn for routine exams on the tall kids, followed by coffee and a walk in damp woods – again with the tall kids. Other routine chores that hopefully involve actually booking our holiday. You get the idea, busy with life 🙂 g

  4. This week Hubby Dearest had Lasik surgery, so he gets to be off this weekend!!! Whoohooo….I think I’m going to drive him up to Apple Hill (we haven’t made it yet this year) and take some pictures of Fall. Oh, and knit whenever I can…how many days left to be able to ship gifts? And yes, being a book addict, I always gift books, too.

  5. Barbara says:

    Books are the best presents. Really, they are better than yarn. Yarn is fun, but it doesn’t take me to nearly as many foreign places as books do. I learn stuff fun yarn, but not nearly as much as I do from books. I guess I really am preaching to the choir though….

  6. Darcy Watts says:

    “Sissy’s over at Uncle’s desk, getting started on payroll for me”
    Made me laugh so hard such a cute picture;)I was so excitted when I received for my birthday last month a $40 gift card from in-laws for Barnes & Noble I bought”it itches” By Franklin Habit
    also Luxury Yarns One-Skein Wonders,and Interweave Knits Hoiday Gifts Magazine it was such a treat:)I also received 6 other books as birthday gifts.lol can you tell that I like books;)Hugs Darcy

  7. p3knitter says:

    Man – I wish I could take Mavy to work and tell her to do rounds for me! LOL

    Seeing the comment above here – Luxury One Skein Wonders is a great book – I just picked up a copy for myself!

  8. MrPuffy says:

    As children we always received books at Christmas. Primarily series like Little House on the Prairie which my Dad would then read allow to us a night.

  9. grace says:

    I just went to the Literary Guild On line and ordered books for my daughters husband and daughters BF, I used to get them for the grands but they told me they have enough. I have a list of Christmas and Knitting Books a mile long I want but I knit rather then read all of the time!!

  10. Anita says:

    Sissy on the desk, why am I not surprised? SNOL

    I always buy a few people books for presents. I get very few if any for presents unfortunately.

    I hope you have a good weekend!! Me? Got to get an oil change & my truck inspected tomorrow… and somehow motivate myself to clean some on the house, don’t know how successful that will be! 🙂

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    Tell Sissy to give you a raise while she’s over there. 😉

    I’m a rabid reader, too. I’ve tried the books on tape, but most of the time, I get distracted by a man trying to read a woman’s voice. Like in Harry Potter when the guy does Hermione’s voice…drives me batty! lol I guess I only like the voices in *my* head.

  12. monnibo says:

    Awesome! I think tons of people have been doing the campaign unknowingly… I certainly have been. That’s why I think it’s such a great idea… we’re already doing it!

  13. monnibo says:

    Awesome! I think tons of people have been doing the campaign unknowingly… I certainly have been. That’s why I think it’s such a great idea… we’re already doing it!

  14. CathyT says:

    So, did Gretchen give Sissy a lesson in leaping straight up in the air and onto Uncle’s desk?
    My weekend? Knitting Guild on Sat. a.m. (see you there) and to Dinwiddie in the late afternoon for dinner with C. and his folks. Sunday – nothing much, I hope!!

  15. MaarthaCelia says:

    Love your site, love pumpkin and love to read books!!!

  16. Kathy says:

    Mr. Bettis wants to know how Sissy got up there. The oaf can’t figure out how to get on the table, thank goodess.

    Books: Didn’t we have this conversation earlier today? LOL

  17. Alison says:

    I love getting books any time. I also think it’s th best gift to give. They are long lasting and can be used more than once, they take time to enjoy and they expand your mind. I could be the spokeperson with that lot.

  18. nichole says:

    How was your guild?

    Books do make great gifts… especially for the little ones! I always seem to get some books and/or Barnes & Noble gift cards. Love them!

  19. anniebananie says:

    Can Sissy come and balance my checkbook?

    I was sick most of the weekend. Not one of those “flat on your back” sick, but the sniffling, sore throat, wanting to crawl under a rock sick where you still manage to do laundry, chase after children, and do the shopping. Uugh.

    Books. Me like books. In our family, you can never have too many books.

Leave a Reply

