Dog Savers

That’s what you are.  You’re not just blog readers, but you’re dog savers.

You see, when I saw that last night, dangling from Gretchen’s mouth, with the scarf on the other end (remarkably unharmed, I might add), once I snatched it away and restrained myself from beating her with the rosewood stick, I realized that y’all would commiserate.  Some of you (Anita?) will think it’s funny that my dogs are so brazenly destructive, but most of you (Kathy?) have been there and seen worse, and you’ll know that you love the little beasties even as they eat your favorite needles.

Lest you think Gretchen acted alone, this is the other needle.  Sissy so innocently strolled up to me with it dangling from her lips like a candy cigarette.  At least that one is still very functional, and upon further examination this morning, I think the Knight and some super-fine sandpaper can fix the other one.  The needle will be shorter than its mate, but ten years from now when my girls are slowing down and haven’t harmed anything but their own toys in YEARS, it will make me smile, right?
Oh!  And Happy Thanksgiving.  We’re watching the Macy’s Parade, when Gretchen isn’t exploiting her new skill – asking out.  She spins like a top at the front door, with Sissy racing to her side and making noise to assure that I realize Gretchen wants out.  That’s cute, but both dogs have figured out that I’ll drop EVERYTHING when Gretch asks out, so we go out every few minutes, just because “we” can.
And happy Dogs on Thursday.  My girls believe every Thursday should be celebrated with their humans at home, catering to their every whim.  If you’re just stopping in for the DoT post, scroll down for another doggy post just below, and this one might make more sense.
Visions of chewy knitting needles danced in their heads...

Visions of chewy knitting needles danced in their heads...

They are good when they’re asleep, although I’ve come to suspect they merely rest to dream up the next adventure.
In the itchy, scratchy, rashy Gretchen saga, I did find both Zyrtec and Claratin in a children’s liquid, which means I can manage the tiny dose for a wee puppy.  I bought the Zyrtec, because like a good commercial-watcher, I recalled that it works on indoor AND outdoor allergies.  Since we don’t know what sets Gretchen off, that’s a good plan, right?  However, Zyrtec makes me feel so funky I’d rather suffer, so I’m hoping that it won’t have a similar impact on Gretchen.  How on earth would she tell me that the medicine makes her feel weird? 
Tomorrow, I’ll share a decluttering report.  I had a great evening last night, and will likely continue today. 
I hope your Thanksgiving is just the sort of day you enjoy most.  For me, just chilling at home and skipping turkey, having an extra day with my sweet, bad girls, and having the Knight to myself for 24 hours is a great way to celebrate!
19 comments on “Dog Savers

  1. Dawn says:

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Love the sleepy angel pic!:) They just thought it was a stick from outside right?:)

    hugs

  2. Mary says:

    LOL Can definitely relate, glad I use metal hooks..lol Lady is back at the yarns again..don’t know whats with her lately..
    I love the pic, so cute and innocent and I bet your right with them planning the next yarn destash..lol

    Happy Thanksgivings to the Moore family and give them “bad girls” a big ol pet and kiss from all of us!

  3. Sue says:

    I remember when Boo was a baby and learned the power he held over me by running to the door and ringing the bell every 90 seconds or so. It worked, I dropped everything and got him out. It didn’t last too long and was well worth the effort.

    Monty chewed up several knitting needles before I finally learned to put them out of his reach. Who’s training who?

    Happy Thanksgiving.

  4. AlisonH says:

    So cute. So innocent looking. Just make sure the Thanksgiving dinner isn’t in reach, right? Have a happy one!

  5. gaylen says:

    I agree with Sue – who’s training who. You need to put your needles up, or have zippered tops on all your project bags. Thankfully Lucy only eats zippers – that haven’t been used yet!

    Enjoy your day with your Knight and your girls all to yourself. Do you have to work tomorrow? g

  6. StarSpry says:

    I love the picture of Sissy & Gretchen sleeping. They look SO innocent 🙂 I’m glad the Knight will be able to fix your needle! I hope the Zyrtec helps Gretchen without making her feel weird.

    Happy Thanksgiving! Enjoy your day with the Knight and your girls 😀

  7. Awww. What cute little sleeping pups. I’m sure they never mean to do anything to drive you crazy, That’s just an unfortunate side effect! Happy Turkeyless Day!

  8. Nichole says:

    aww.. now that’s a Christmas card photo if I ever did see one! 🙂

    Sorry about the needles.. but like you said, it will be a very sweet memory 10 years later… We’ve all been there!

    Happy Turkey (or non in your case) day!

  9. Dianne says:

    What an adorable picture. Those two angels couldn’t possibly have been the ones to chew the knitting needles. Have you checked the Knight’s teeth? There may be splinters in there. I’m just sayin’…

  10. sonya says:

    We must have a matching set of needles. I have a pair with one needle shorter than the other too.
    I love the picture of the two of them together

  11. monnibo says:

    AWWWW that photo RIGHT THERE is for framing! Get a lovely ROSEWOOD coloured frame 😉

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    That’s seriously one of the sweetest pictures. I love seeing them all cuddled up next to each other. 🙂

  13. I definitely understand your “doggie woes” I’ve got plenty of half eaten items in my house. No knitting needles yet…but then again I use a knitting board, but then again, the wood could taste yummy, yikes I better not be giving any hints out! 🙂

  14. Nancy says:

    Wow…your dogs sure have good taste in needles! That sleepy picture is precious. I think you are right…they are plotting as the sleep!

  15. Anita says:

    Okay, sorry I laughed at the needle incident. 😉
    I’ll try to be more sympathetic from now on…. LOL

    That is an ADORABLE shot of the girls there!!!

  16. kim says:

    you can almost see the knitting needles dancing over their little heads can’t you??? or maybe puppy biscuits 🙂

  17. Kathy says:

    SNOL…….sorry to laugh but oh my gosh, so glad I’m not alone in the dog-eat-yarn-needles-pillows etc world.
    Mr. Bettis is tilting his head as I’m sitting here chuckling. I think he’s wondering what the big deal is in chewing needles. After all, it’s fair game to the dogs……..LOL

    Those innocent puppies sure don’t look like the convicts you portray………lol

  18. Robin in VA says:

    For all the bad things they can get into…that has to be the sweetest picture!!

  19. […] was the Kollage Forest Palm Square Needles.   Are you surprised to know they’re also what Gretchen raced to when I set the bag down?  Luckily these days, “Leave it” works like a charm, […]

Leave a Reply

