Ravelympics Week 1

My team "uniform" mostly designed by Jessi

I promised some knitting content today.  It’s a stretch, but I’ll manage to keep my word.   I am wrapping up Citron, which is NOT a Ravelympic entry, and next on the needles will be Multnomah.   (I’ve included the free pattern links here because I do have a lot of non-knitter, non-Ravelry readers.  Both are shawls, if you’re not really curious.)

Citron is being done in the most luscious alpaca lace, custom-dyed by NH Knitting Mama early in her dyeing career.   Ironically, this yarn is “old enough” that it was a competitor in the summer Ravelympics two years ago too!   I’ve struggled to find the right pattern for this yarn, but it found its soulmate in Citron, and I look forward to sharing an FO report soon.

Multnomah is a mouthful.  Barbara and I are having our own little KAL for two with Gypsyknits yarns on this shawlette.  As if knitting “with” a friend, using another friend’s yarn isn’t special enough, the colorway is called Victorian Tea.  Gmarie also owns a hank of it.   Because of all of the details, I call this project V is for… 

I also expect it to earn me my first Ravelympics medal.

Isn’t Bob (the Ravelry owners/founders’ Boston Terrier) dapper?  

I do have other projects in other events, but we’ll need something to talk about another day, right?

What’s up for your weekend?  We’re rather giddy about the sunshine and warm weather, even though melting snow and already saturated ground makes mud.

It’s also Vintage Vegas time!   I promise a photo of my attire.  I ended up purchasing a total of five dresses in the last week, although only two were with this gala in mind.   As a result, I have a lovely, lacy spare that I vow to get altered in the next few weeks so I have it when I need another party frock, but as of this morning, I’m going with the LBD (little black dress) I bought and a nearly pink wrap Ruth gave me when she and Jim were here, in memory of my friend. 

Have a great weekend, whatever you do!

19 comments on “Ravelympics Week 1

  1. Marjie says:

    5 dresses might be enough for you to have one you love. That’s a pretty nearly pink wrap. I’m hoping this means your scheduling problems were resolved, so you can enjoy a night of much needed levity without guilt!

  2. Barbara S. says:

    Beautiful wrap! I am looking forward to seeing pictures of you all decked out for your Gala!
    The new needle size is working out very nicely; I am liking how the fabric looks and feels, much better than before. Would you believe I haven’t measured anything yet?

  3. kathy b says:

    Oh oh victorian tea is so delicious Very fun to Knitalong with one other . NO WORK for me this weekend! Wahoo. Cricket is wonderful. Over his neutering post op pain, itching etc. He is learning to play frisbee! Im in love

  4. gaylen says:

    Wait – so Barb has exactly the same yarn and is knitting the same shawl? How could I have not known that? I knew you were both knitting the same shawl – but if she’s using the same yarn – how can I not join in?

    Love the “kinda” pink wrap it will be perfect with everything else!!

    Today I’m wearing a pink t-shirt and my “pandora” bracelet which has 2 pink beads!!

    Your “team uniform” is fabulous – but I notice you still haven’t gotten dressed. g

  5. LOL….”nearly” pink? And all this time I thought it was a shade of purple….Have fun!

  6. AlisonH says:

    Okay, let’s see, taht big flower motif, there’s a good version of it in Marianne Kinzel’s lacework book, and…

  7. Sue says:

    Lately I’m having a terrible time opening your photos. This time your nearly pink shawl didn’t open, so I’ll come back to it later and see if it’s more cooperative.

    Still no knitting going on here. I feel like I have to get some organization done before I can permit myself to knit, cross stitch, etc. I get this way at tax time each year.

  8. Nichole says:

    hmm… I have a lovely skein of Gypsyknits Fingering Merino that I was tagging for a Forest Canopy Shawl, however I might have to rethink this thought…

    LOVE that pink wrap – gorgeous!!!

  9. Bubblesknits says:

    That wrap will look gorgeous with a little black dress. 🙂

    Can’t wait to see your FO’s! I managed to snag some knitting/coffee time this morning before the belated Valentine’s party at Princess’s school.

  10. Barbara says:

    Chan: Have you seen this blog? Check out the bracelets. YOU could do this. I couldn’t.
    http://sweetpaul.typepad.com/my_weblog/

  11. Kathy says:

    I can’t wait to see the finished results. And the wrap is absolutely stunning. So very dainty.

    Do we get to see pics of the full attire?

  12. Mr Puffy says:

    Your social life would do me in – LOL Believe it or not, yesterday I filed my last brief and have NOTHING to do today but play (well, clean house too) and think I have a little breather coming. Woo Hoo!!!!!!!

    Love both choices of your shawls. I’ll be cheering for you to take a medal 😀

  13. Mary says:

    Must be me, but I couldn’t seem to get on track with the Citron. Started and frogged it so many times, it just about got hurled across the room the last try. Not much experience with laceweight wool…clearly operator error.

    Have a fabulous Vintage Vegas Night! I have to fly through Vegas on Thursday on my way out West…so I will think of you!

  14. Anita says:

    I can’t wait to see your Citron, I love that pattern! And I love that wrap, make sure you get some photos, we must see! 🙂

  15. Krystle says:

    Vintage Vegas sounds like so much fun! I love dresses, if it were practical to wear dresses and skirts year round in CT, I would do it. This weekend has actually been going well. I will shoot you an email and give you some details when I know more…(hopefully by Tuesday!)

    Great knitting projects too! Good luck in the Ravelympics 🙂

  16. Sandy says:

    Gaylen’s right – you still haven’t gotten “dressed” for the Ravelympics. C’mon, we’re waiting!!! I’m looking forward to seeing both of your shawls.

    That wrap will be lovely with a black dress. I haven’t had a new dress in a very long time. No place to wear it. Maybe when DH’s deployment is finished? A girl can dream!

    Hope you’ve had a terrific weekend.

  17. Dianne says:

    Love that wrap! Are you going to post pics of you wearing it with the LBD?

  18. laceylee says:

    That pashmina is beautiful. I love pashminas! Good luck on the Ravelymoics

  19. Amanda says:

    Trying to catch up on your blog! 🙂

    I love that Gypsyknits yarn… I must get a hank from her, but you know how I am about allowing myself to enhance my yarn basket! I have the smallest “stash” known to knitters!

Leave a Reply

