Stashing the Stash

My fellow Rav-stalkers out there have already figured out that I’m organizing my stash on Ravelry as part of my Ravelympics competitions.  I apologize for flooding your “friends activity” tab with my stash photos, but another run of them is coming today, I hope.

As you can see, the fur-girls are very helpful while I snap photos of my yarn.  You can also see that my yarn lives in clear, plastic bins.  Some of it does live in a basket here or there, but the vast bulk of it lives in the bins.   Currently, most of my fiber/roving stash lives in a series of plastic bags, sitting on a very pretty bench in the guest room.  The plan is for the fiber to move into the cedar chest in the same room…

Where does your stash live?  Do you have any sort of inventory?   Is it sorted or stored in categories of any sort?  For instance, my “dish cloth cotton” lives in one not-clear bin, and my “utility” wool, another.  (Those yarns won’t be entered into Ravelry’s stash inventory.) 

And can I tell you how much I love those freckled feet?!

This might possibly be the longest week of my life.  I can’t believe it’s only Wednesday.  Staying up way past my bedtime to watch the Olympics doesn’t help, but I can’t seem to stop myself.    I keep telling myself that I can sleep next week…

Having over 500 stitches (540, to be exact) on the needles for Citron‘s ruffle doesn’t help.   The end is in sight, but it’s like the interstate in Indiana…  You can see into Illinois, but it’s still several hours away.  (And immediately, I’m 22, road tripping with my BFF, on the way to or from the first wedding of college friends, screaming along to “Life is a Highway“…the original version.)

And we have another “dusting” of snow coming.

How goes your week?

24 comments on “Stashing the Stash

  1. Grace says:

    my week goes hard, we have 17 inches predicted for tomorrow so I went out this morning I mean yesterday was the first time out today the second but it wears me out to go out. I figure I will be in until at least Saturday so get it out of my system

    Now to get some desire to actually clean things –not just pick up like has been being done for the last three weeks

    My yarn lives in various places Cotton in a huge canvas bag in my closet
    Scraps in a huge plaid laundry sack in my closet (well thats where it should be) A hope chest Longaberger basket full of bags of yarn 10 skeins per bag, unopened on top of the yarnoire, a 3 tier basket with odds and ends of various yarns, and 3 of the zippered comforter type bags with all kids of yarn, 3 boxes of yarn people have mailed me recently cleaning out there own stashes and 3 bags (a tote, a small tote and the big Namaste) filled with yarns by my chair and the yarnoire itself, I also have 2 comforter bags filled with finished shawls and one pile on the rocker of shawls to be blocked at least 6 of them in that pile and 2 scarves. Oh and I am expecting some Noro I ordered, and some Elann baby cashmere I won and when is the first shipment of The Loopy sock club and the last of the Embrace the lace, oh why Am I blogging I need to knit

    Have a wonderful day my friend!!!!

  2. gaylen says:

    How fun was that post?

    Okay – my stash – separated by sock yarn and not sock yarn. Sock yarn lives in clear bins and a pretty wire basket on the shelf in the studio. It’s all inventoried (why does that look like it’s spelled wrong?) on Rav and I love it!

    I have a bin of kitchen cotton in a clear bin next to the love seat and various and assorted baskets around the house with bits.

    There is a very pretty bowl of left over sock yarn on an end table in the sitting room mocking me – really what do you do with the left over bits? g

  3. Kathy says:

    Well when you’re finished with your stash, you wanna come organize mine? LOL

    Seriously I have quite a few containers and shelves filled with yarn in a private stash room. Most of it is seperated by content. There a few closets filled as well and it spills over into baskets ;P.

    We’re expecting more than a dusting and severe winds. You know? the kind that knocks out internet……..

  4. Amy says:

    Wow – good for you, organzing the stash.

    I’m at a stand still … my stash is nothing like it used to be. It’s so much smaller now that I can’t buy yarn every time I turn around. 🙂

  5. AlisonH says:

    College road trips! Memories! Being in a carpool going northwest to my sister’s near Seattle, and this one doofus who was sure she could get a better price on gas than THAT in the middle of the Idaho desert! Just keep on going!

    Dude… There was a problem with that picture…

  6. AlisonH says:

    (p.s. We didn’t actually run out. We parked outside a gas station at something-obscene a.m. and waited for them to open for the day.)

  7. Kathy says:

    My dishcloth cotton lives in a basket in the bedroom. That’s the only scenic part of my storage system. The rest is in a couple bins in a guest room closet or in the dresser drawers in that same guest room. Nothing is catalogued or inventoried. So it’s always surprising when I go looking for something and find things I didn’t remember having. I do know that I never need to buy yarn again!

  8. Barbara S. says:

    I so don’t think I am going to get mine done by Saturday. The yarn organizing that is, the shawl might just get finished today! (I have my priorities, and hanging out in a semi-dark unfinished basement just isn’t one of them right now. To think, I had such plans and aspirations!)

  9. Marjie says:

    I have no yarn, so I don’t organize – why are you not surprised? But I do like your yarn guards! I’m sure they’re quite competent; Thor told me so.

  10. Sue says:

    I keep mine by weight. Those plastic thingies that comforters come in hold some of it. I bought a clear container with deep drawers for novelty yarn. I use a lot of that for my doggy sweaters and toys.

    Some that was bought for a particular project is in clear bags by itself waiting for the project to get going.

    I have discovered that I have a hobby called knitting, but I also have a hobby called collecting pretty yarn. I like to buy it without any particular project in mind.

  11. anniebananie says:

    Where do I keep my stash? Anywhere I can find the space. The craft room in the basement has my cedar chest (okay, it’s my sister’s but I kind of commandeered it) full of yarn. There is also a three drawer plastic rolling bin thingy with yarn in it. Then, I have a basket under the table in the living room; upstairs in the spare room, the ever growing corner of that room has yarn in it. Oh, and I forgot the bag of several skeins (including my CD Holi for my FLS) on the dining room table.

    I also keep a little stash in my office, just as a pick me up.

    I too have been staying up past my bedtime for the Olympics. But it only happens once every 4 years, so I guess that’s okay.

  12. I really don’t want to talk about my stash in public, you know? Ahem. Love the last pic of Sissy…sooo much personality there! (sigh, I really, really whould spend part of today and tomorrow looking into that stash before STitches…)

  13. kathy b says:

    My week is surreal. Dare I tell you that I am on a beach with sunscreen slathered on? I am. BUT I MISS Cricket terribly. I hear he is having a blast at camp

  14. StarSpry says:

    My stash is too small to organize, but I really need to get everything sorted out and arranged nicely 🙂 I love how the fur-girls have to check everything out!

  15. Anita says:

    I LOVE that last photo of Sissy! Beautiful!!

    My stash lives anywhere I can find to stuff it at the moment. Working on that, going to move it into the laundry/craft room once it’s painted & shelving put in. 🙂

    I’ve been watching your stash appear on Ravely & drooling. LOL

  16. Surviving says:

    My hand-dyed, indie, and sock yarn is in the cedar chest in my dining room-turned into tv-sitting room/office. Most of the yarn in there is stored in plastic bags. I also have a cheap dresser I got off of craigslist filled with cotton, misc. yarn, and various craft supplies.

    I really want to work on getting my stash on Ravelry as well. I need to find a time during the day when kids aren’t home to work on it, might have to wait until my spring break.

  17. km says:

    My cotton is in a box in the closet. My wool is all in the freezer. I just can’t take it out after the moth sighting.

  18. Louise says:

    I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed reading this post, Chan and all of the wonderful comments. It seems, yarn stashing is not much different than organizing cookbooks. I have shelves organized by reference books, regional, food type and so forth. I sometimes think I get a bit carried away but after reading this post and all it has to offer, I realize I’m pretty darn “normal.”

    Thanks for sharing, Channon

  19. Bubblesknits says:

    Well, you know how my week is going. LOL It was so nice (and freeing/relaxing/therapeutic) to talk to you on the phone today and get all that off my chest.

    My yarn stash…I have two plastic utility shelves (4 shelves each) that house baskets of yarn. All the yarn gets put into plastic bags first, usually by type (worsted, cotton, dk, or brand) and then they’re stuffed in the baskets. The spinning fiber lives in one of those big space saver bags. I just don’t suck the air out of ’em. 🙂 Oh, and I guess I should mention that the sock yarn has it’s own bookcase all to itself. ::sigh::

  20. Walden says:

    Are you liking the Citron? It’s one that I would love to knit.

    My yarn is in a closet, in clear plastic bins. They are divided up into acrylics, cottons, and wools. I do have a few out on some wire shelving that are intended for more immediate use.

  21. monnibo says:

    I organize via Ravelry. If my stash page says I have it, then it is there somewhere… just gotta locate it. LOL. I don’t really stash my toy-acrylic yarns.

    P.S. Love that photo of Sissy on her snow mountain!

  22. Blond Duck says:

    More snow? Bleah!! We’re actually getting in the 60s with sun, so I’ve been delighted. It snowed Tuesday–snow in San Antonio! Nothing stuck, but it was still amazing.

  23. Dianne says:

    Gotta love those freckled feet!

    My stash, 99.9999% of which is sock yarn, lives in a wall mounted organizer my dad made for me a few years ago. It’s on the wall in my “knitting nook”, and makes some lovely wall art!

  24. Nichole says:

    Happy stashing… I just can’t imagine tackling it all… I’d have to ROUND IT ALL UP first… lol… plastic pins, ziplocks, baskets, bags… its all over!

    Love the pics… and that Sereknity looks familiar 😉

Leave a Reply

