Mother West Wind

And the wind blows…

Somehow, the cold, bitter wind seems appropriate right now.  I’m hoping something warm and sunny will be on its heels.  My dear aunt had to send her lovely old man across the Rainbow Bridge this morning, and when she sent the email confirming that it was done, the second paragraph noted that her cousin, a favorite of mine, has had a massive stroke.  Coupled with his dementia…

Anyway, I never got around to my Thankful Thursday post yesterday.  I received the cutest handmade thank you from the friend’s daughter who sold us our Girl Scout Cookies.   It really is the little things that make me smile, but this also gives me hope…  It’s wonderful that there are parents who not only nudge their children to say thank you but teach “an attitude of gratitude” and encourage crafting, all at the same time!

Don’t mind the dog hair.  They’re thankful too.  They like having new things to sniff come into the house.

I had more I was going to babble about, but it’s already after lunch and there’s an end of the month deposit to do.  There is an update on Sis’s health on her blog.  We’re looking forward to a very quiet, relaxing weekend.  How ’bout you?

14 comments on “Mother West Wind

  1. Walden says:

    Sorry to hear about your aunt’s cousin.

    Hope you have your quiet and relaxing weekend.

    I am hoping for a weekend with a better immune system than mine. 🙂

  2. gaylen says:

    Such sad news – I’m glad you could find something positive and sunny. I need to get my very belated Thankful post up! g

  3. Marjie says:

    No choice for anything BUT a quiet weekend here. We’ve gotten at least 18″, so there’s now 2 feet standing on the ground. Classic nor’easter! The boys have had fun, but I don’t know that Thor likes this much snow, other than as a snack.

  4. km says:

    M was supposed to go to Mexico to hand out food at a clinic our church built and supports, but rain has canceled the trip because some of the roads will be unpassable. My MIL has a retirement party on Sunday…until then I’ll be knitting away on the afghan. And I’m seeing the PT today. Finally got the paperwork arranged on that. The cheese biscuits you made for Sissy…do they taste good for humans? They looked good.

  5. Mr Puffy says:

    I hope that wind brings fair skys and sunny days for you! Sorry about the loss in your family….

    Don’t eat too many of those girl scout cookies in one sitting – LOL

  6. Sue says:

    I’m hoping for a quiet weekend. We finally got the cones off both dogs. That was a trip, two of them in cones at the same time.

    I’m going to try to start a knitting project this weekend.

  7. Kathy says:

    Sorry to hear such sad news. Thoughts and prayers continue.
    It’s good hear there’s still a few moms out there encouraging manners and crafting.
    The wind is howling here too. Very cold. I plan some serious knitting and spinning for the weekend.

  8. Anita says:

    I was just talking with someone on Rav about how nice it is that some parents encourage their kids to send thank you notes in the mail. 🙂

    Hoping for a nice weekend after work tomorrow….. our Marine is home for the weekend with his roommate. LOL

  9. kathy b says:

    For me, anyone who can be happy over a girl scout cookies, has life’s wisdom!

    Work tonight and tomorrow. Hate to leave Cricket now that we just got home from vacation.

  10. Dianne says:

    Oh, your poor Aunt. Such sad news…

  11. AlisonH says:

    Oh goodness. I’m sorry!

  12. Mary says:

    So sorry to hear that there is more sad news. Very hard.

    Hope you are having a sunnier weather with more spring-like temps than we are here in Tucson (rained all night & all day today), but we’re having a nice visit.

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    Very long weekend here. Packing, packing, packing. I haven’t picked up the needles once since early Saturday. About to rectify that, though. lol

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend’s loss and hard times. 😦

  14. nichole says:

    So sorry to hear… rough day. 😦

    My coworkers daughter sent handwritten notes with her GS cookies too… such a lovely surprise!

Leave a Reply

