The Nots Socks

Lookie here!  I finished a pair of socks. 

The Not-Florida Footies

Pattern:  Fast Florida Footies in size 8, free on Ravelry.  Well, before I say much about my difficulties, let me point out that while I am thrifty (sometimes), I do not wear a size 8.  So, I most likely could have avoided having two very different-looking toes on the socks if I’d coughed up the meager $6 for the pattern that would have included the instructions for my size.

Sock #1, seen on the left, was too long when I finished it, so I had to frog back, and decided that since it was for me, I’d just graft the toe closed where I stopped frogging.  It’s just fine comfort-wise, but it looks rather square, so I started the toe decreases a good half inch or more earlier on sock #2, and isn’t it purdy?

Yarn:  Cascade Fixation.  I used slightly less than one ball for this pair, but I do have a small foot and like socks with a bit of negative ease.  Isn’t this a happy colorway?  Thanks, Wendy!! 

Do note the purl-side out sole.  It makes walking in these socks a little dream.  I’m using these as house socks, so I can’t comment on how the textured Fixation feels in shoes.

Needles:  Knitpicks metal dpns, US size #3.  I really don’t enjoy DPNs so much, but clearly, I wasn’t bothered enough by them to switch to a circular.

Verdict:  They’re very comfy, warm socks.  Interestingly enough, the square toe sock doesn’t seem to turn on my foot as much as the purdier rounder toe.  You see, when I wear house socks, they often twist around my foot, as I shove them under me and sit on them, or cross my legs or…

They weren’t fast.  That was my fault…  I’ve lost my sock mojo and I’m beginning to accept that it just might not ever return.  I can still knit socks, but they don’t fly off my needles anymore.  Obviously, they weren’t Florida either.  I’m about as Virginian as you get.  They are however, footies, and oh how I love footies.

So, how was your weekend?  Ours was gloriously slow.  There was some tree removal, which resulted in a soupy, nasty, muddy mess, but it’s all good.  That’s really about all there is to report, other than that laptops don’t care to share a glass of milk.  Hem…

19 comments on “The Nots Socks

  1. Blond Duck says:

    The socks are very cute!

  2. Sue says:

    Pretty colors. I used to knit socks, but then I lost the mojo for socks and it never returned. That’s ok, there are lots of other things to knit. I think of it as a step in my knitting growth.

  3. AlisonH says:

    Ouch on the laptop. Beautiful! on the socks.

  4. Marjie says:

    Knit whatever makes you happy. Maybe instead of the Floridian socks, these are the Virginian Socks?

  5. nichole says:

    Cute.. .and very interesting that the square toe doesn’t twist and turn so much (I have the same issue with my “house socks”)… and there’s nothing wrong with being thrifty!

  6. Barbara says:

    Ahem! I wear size 8 next time you make a mistake in size!
    Love them and it’s been so darn cold down here this year that I need socks on all the time around the house. Usually I am barefoot!

  7. Anita says:

    Love the socks! Even if they do have 2 different toes. 🙂

  8. Barbara S. says:

    Very cool on the socks!
    Just out of curiosity, what would have possessed you to think the laptop would want to share a glass of milk? Or did one of the girls think they should be helpful?
    For what it is worth, Hubbnad has learned that keyboards don’t like sharing a cup of coffee either, chicken soup, or salt cellars. I say food and computers aren’t a very good mix, or at least not around him.

  9. Walden says:

    Congrats on finishing the sock! They are lovely and bright. Maybe your laptop is/was lactose intolerant. 🙂

  10. Love your title. As to sock mojo….meh. One goes through seasons, with knitting as with other things. I love socks, but haven’t knit many lately. Not a loss of mojo, just on other rabbit trails right now. 🙂

  11. Kathy says:

    Cute sox. So I gather you’re the one who had the little milk computer accident??

    Glad you had a much deserved s-l-o-w weekend. We spent Sat looking for the DH another part-time job. No luck but a good outing anyway. It was good to get out in spite of the job hunt.

  12. Grace says:

    Tom goes nuts when I drink near a key board, of course I don’t remember the last time I spilt something but if he didn’t remind me every chance he has I am sure I would

    The socks are really cute!!

  13. Mr Puffy says:

    That’s hysterical! How come you are using someone else’s pattern anyway? You have designed your own footies as I recall – LOL

    Curious why you don’t think the sock mojo will ever return. I felt like that for about 1 year and then back it came….

  14. Tobi says:

    Those are some truly awesome looking socks!

  15. anniebananie says:

    Laptops prefer wine or beer, just so you know. They don’t seem to need much calcium.

    I do like the socks, and they look very comfy. I’ll have to take a look at the pattern just so I can see the purl side out sole.

    This weekend was just as busy as all preceeding weekends – ice skating on Sat morning, bday party Saturday afternoon, Church and CCD Sunday morning and then school open house for potential families Sunday afternoon. Tony was gone until Sunday mid morning, and of course, Sunday evening I collapsed and took a 2 hour nap. Last night I took the boys (G and C) skiing. Tonight is auction work and laundry. Tomorrow is variety show practice pick up. Thursday night is more laundry, and Friday is gymnastics. Lacrosse starts in two weeks too. Notice that sleep is no where in the mix….

  16. Amy says:

    Love those footies!!! The colors are fantastic!

  17. Alicia says:

    Love the footies! So cute!

  18. gaylen says:

    I’m with the commenter who said knit what makes you happy. I saw it as I scrolled down. And frankly anyone who cares that you’re toes are different isn’t handknit worthy. Interesting that the square toe doesn’t slip around tho. g

  19. KnittySue says:

    Thanks for the inspriation I needed my sock mojo tickled. I’m digging out my Cascade and fla.sock pattern today. Love the colors.
    Take Care

Leave a Reply

