Hope Floats

The wrap/lap blanket I made for the family

It’s been a long while since I mentioned the brave little warrior princess in our lives.  She is holding her own, and the family really does appreciate all of the kindness and care packages you’ve sent.   I don’t know if any of you have gotten cards from them…  I did include some of your “original” packaging with some of the gifts, in an effort to allow them to connect with you if they could. 

In talking with a wise friend whose own life has thrown her a health challenge or ten, I’ve come to understand that simply writing a note to a kind stranger might be more than my young friends can do right now.  All of their time, thoughts and energies are being use to help Hope win this battle with cancer.  So in the event that no notes have headed out, please know that they and all of us who know and love Hope do appreciate your generous gifts, whether a formal expression of thanks floats your way or not.

Can you see the patches of forest floor in there?  (Try harder… it’s there.)  I don’t ever recall having snow on the ground for so very long.  That photo was taken Sunday, and there is a lot more brown out there now, although more snow comes any moment now.  I hear it’s just a dusting, but still…  I’m ready for flowers and flirty skirts and bare toes…

Let’s have a moment of silence for Flipper, aka:  Flip, the last of our male pets.   He’d been very sluggish for over a week and while I can’t remember when we bought him, I was pretty sure he was a full-grown adult when we brought him home, so I didn’t expect we’d  have more than 3-5 years with him.   His timing was horrible; I’ll have to give him his proper fish burial when I get home this afternoon.

We won’t be getting another fish.  That Flip survived my trip to Chicago when the Knight forgot to feed him for two days was amazing, and there were other little moments, like our last trip to the beach when I realized 36 hours later that I’d forgotten to drop the 5-Day feeder tablet in his bowl…  So yeah.  Fair winds and following seas, Flip.

16 comments on “Hope Floats

  1. Sue says:

    Swim in peace, Flip. I’ve never been good with fish. I need pets who can remind me when I forget something, like food.

  2. km says:

    I have seriously too many Caring Bridge people I’m praying for each day. I don’t know how those families do it. I do know how much each encouraging thing means to me…and I’m not even fighting for my life. I can’t help but imagine how blessed they feel by those who want to help them float.

  3. AlisonH says:

    What a gorgeous fish he was. That whole picture needs to be a colorway dyed and knitted in memorium.

    Wishing hope to Hope.

  4. Marjie says:

    Fish don’t last long, nor do birds. Let’s stick with four LEGGED friends, OK? RIP, Flip. Hope you get less snow this time. My dearly beloved says spring follows the calendar in your corner of the world, so you have to start finding those flowers soon!

  5. Blond Duck says:

    I hope your friend gets better soon. Cancer is a bitch of a disease.

    Poor little fishie! I used to have a beta fish named Sappfire growing up.

  6. Dianne says:

    Poor Flip. I have sent many fish to that great fish-bowl-in-the-sky, so Flip has lots of company.

  7. anniebananie says:

    I assume that Flip was “fins up” this morning? My condolences. It’s been flurrying at the office off and on since about 11am. Nothing sticking, but just a gray, stay at home kind of day (which I want to be doing, but am not doing).

  8. gaylen says:

    Swim in peace Flip.

    Channon – no feeling bad – fish are not like humans or dogs – they do not need to eat every day. You gave Mr. Flip a good life 🙂 g

  9. alison says:

    Best wishes and prayers for those you hold dear. The snow made me feel quite cold. Stay warm.

  10. Darcy says:

    I just knit a wee tiny sock yesterday my interpretation on a clown fish and I dont need to feed it;)
    Sorry about your friend prayers going out for the both of you.Hugs Darcy

  11. laceylee says:

    Love that blanket. It looks cozy!

  12. Anita says:

    Awwww… I hate to hear about Flip. I’m glad I got to meet him, he was so regal. He might have been a fish, but he was part of your family…. I’m sorry he’s gone. 😦

    Many prayers for Hope…

  13. Blond Duck says:

    I’m so sorry about Hope…I’ll keep her in my prayers.

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    Poor Flip. It doesn’t help matters any that my sick sense of humor is taking your post title and his name and….well…you know me. lol

    Glad to hear that Hope is still fighting her battle. My prayers are still with her.

  15. Kathy says:

    Prayers still being lifted for Hope and her family.

    As for Flip…..Sorry to hear but we know he’s swimming with the fishes in a big ocean. I had to fight the monitor screen from the cats who were most interested in dear Flip 🙂

  16. Nichole says:

    I haven’t had a Beta since the last one we had froze to death when we were without power for 3 days (thankfully we didn’t have another one to loose another to Dec ’08 9 days without power)… :/

Leave a Reply

