Opinions wanted

Really.  I need input here.

Puppies?  Fine.   I’m very comfortable with puppies, colts, kittens and chickies.  But babies of my same species?  Help!! 

I have two baby blankies to knit in the next few weeks.     The first is for the expected sister (I STILL insist it’s a red-haired boy in there, but see above – what do I know?!) to the owner of the blanket shown above.  Her father still thanks me almost weekly for that blankie (Ravelry link), so they’re definitely knit-worthy. 

I’m thinking Tofutsies, which for those of you unfamiliar with the yarn, is a fiber made in part from chitin.  Now, this is where the advice comes in.  I love this yarn because it’s light, drapes well and is machine wash/dry, which is a must for the 2nd baby on the way household.   It’ll make a fantastic summer blanket, however the whole chitin – from shrimp and crab – gives me pause.  I mean…  I have a dog who is allergic to just about everything except potatoes and rabbit, so am I being too sensitive?  There are no seafood allergies on either side of the baby on the way’s family, and I know her great grands AND more of her second cousins than she’ll be able to identify for several years.

There’s even a baby blankie pattern written for this yarn, so clearly, I’m not alone in thinking it has great potential, but for those of you with more experience… weigh in please!?

24 comments on “Opinions wanted

  1. Bubblesknits says:

    Personally, I think it should be fine. I can touch shrimp all I want (last I checked, anyway), I just can’t eat it or breathe in the fumes when it’s cooking. 🙂

  2. Sue says:

    The chances are so small, they’re practically non existent, but I’d still play it safe.

    I knit a lot of baby stuff for charity and I almost always stick to synthetic fibers. I do it for allergy reasons and also for ease of care.

    Babies are really messy creatures and anything near them needs almost constant cleaning. Synthetics hold up well to continuous washings.

  3. anniebananie says:

    You are being over sensitive. I love the colors, the weight is perfect, and it’s machine washable.

  4. Mandy says:

    I’m pretty allergic to shellfish, and have worked with Tofutsies with no problems. I really like knitting with it (it just feels good), and it does drape and wash well. Since you know most (if not all) of the extended family isn’t allergic, I’d say go for it, and just let the parents know. My allergy can be traced up my family tree, but I know that allergies can just ‘pop up’ on occasion.

  5. Grace says:

    Don’t worry about it, I think it will be just fine!! If that is the color you are using wow,its gorgeous!

  6. km says:

    I knew I was allergic to shellfish, but the fact that Beta’s had shrimp in their fish flakes never registered with me. When one of the kids spilled the fish food, and I swept it up, I got it on my bare feet. That was the first reaction that I had where I needed a shot to recover, and then I was given an epipen. I’m not sure about babies…but I know that with each exposure the reaction gets worse. My 4 is allergic to latex. Apparently she knew from the moment she came out of the womb. She would never take a darker colored nipple in a paci or a bottle. Only the silicone ones. It didn’t even hit me until she had a handprint on her thigh from the well meaning latex glove of a Dr. That said, I don’t know much about the yarn either because I’ve just always avoided it. I’d steer away from it for my own…but some families live on shellfish and avoid peanuts. It’s hard to know.

  7. laceylee says:

    That’s a tough one. I couldn’t even help there. I have a skein of that in my stash and have been waiting for the right pattern to come along. Good Luck

  8. Kathy says:

    mmmm….I don’t have advice for this one but if you’re questioning then perhaps a very nice washable cotton/acrylic mix would be better. Let us know what you decide.

    Very nice lace blanket 🙂

  9. Marjie says:

    I got a number of baby blankets as gifts, and all were made from acrylic yarn. Some were heavy weight – remember, it was New England we lived in – and some were light weight. I don’t know about allergic reactions to that yarn, but I do know that acrylic is safe and lasts well. I still have every one we were given, and they were used for years.

  10. Em says:

    I would never have thought of it, even as a mom, but if you’re wanting to be really careful then you can always keep the yarn for yourself! It would most likely be fine, but it’s your call.

    I’d say that cotton (Blue Sky makes some really fluffy ones!) or any superwash wool would be best for baby projects. Lots of yarn is washable, and synthetics = bad to me. Since the item will be hand-knit, just include a little “wash me gently” card with it. I think too many people are worried about new parents having everything be foolproof, but even in the new-baby fog I still remembered to hang-dry my knit socks 🙂

  11. YOu know, of course, that there are plusses and minuses to every fiber you can imagine. Yes, acrylic washes well, and is unlikely to be an allergy problem. However, I know a number of folks who won’t use it anywhere near babies, because it is so horribly flammable! Personally, I see no reason not to use the Tofutsies, seeing as how well you know this family, in particular.

  12. anonymous says:

    Have you considered contacting the manufacturer and asking them about it? It’s possible that the manufacturing process has removed whatever the allergen in shellfish is and if that’s the case, you have nothing to worry about. Also, check around Ravelry and see if anyone there has experienced an allergic reaction to this wool.

  13. Amy says:

    My personal opinion on baby knitting?

    I NEVER use synthetic fibers anymore, since I learned that they are not fire-safe. I always go for cotton or machine washable wool.

    But many people use acrylic/synthetic and their kids are just fine. It’s easy to wash and wear.

    But that’s my two cents. I just hate acrylic. 🙂

  14. Walden says:

    I think you are probably overly concerned. The chances are very slim. A child could be allergic to many, many different things. It would be impossible to avoid all of them. Some people are probably even allergic to acrylic or some of the chemicals in acrylic yarn . . . same goes with wool.

  15. Toni Gomez says:

    I’d play it safe. Well… since you asked that is what I think I’d do. I might not even of paid mind to it if it was me and that is probably because I came from the generation that drank water from the hose, and we gave our babies eggs and peanut butter in the first year……. .. ha.. I am not so savvy with all this allergy stuff.

  16. Anh says:

    Oh, I think it looks really good!

  17. Kristyn says:

    I think you’ll be fine. The content is so small I can’t imgaine it causing a problem.

  18. Mr Puffy says:

    I have absolutely no experience at all. However, never one not to have an opinion, I wouldn’t hesitate to use it. I think the more a child is exposed to the less likely they will develop allergies… but I have NO medical research to back up that claim 🙂

  19. Anita says:

    You got me on that one…. but I’d use it anyway. You can’t ever tell what any one person is gonna be allergic to. I think your chances would be better to be allergic to wool…

    • chanknits says:

      Mark made the call – one pound acrylic in an off-white. It’ll go with anything, and if I turn out to be right and the sonograms were misleading, the little boy will still be able to love his blankie without lasting emotional trauma.

      xoxoxox

  20. AlisonH says:

    They’ve linked the extreme peanut allergies that have become so not-rare-anymore to the peanut oil in baby creams that hopefully are made differently now. I personally just wouldn’t risk it.

  21. Blond Duck says:

    I have no idea, but I wouldn’t think it’d be a problem…

  22. Dianne says:

    I’m not much help, as I probably know less about “babies of my same species” than you do, but the last several projects I have made for little ones I used Knit Picks “Shine Sport”. It comes in lots of colors and is a cotton/nylon (or acrylic???) blend, I think. It’s definitely machine wash & dry, and I’ve used it for sweaters, blankets and toys. Hope this helps.

  23. Nichole says:

    I thikn you’ll be fine… esp if they’ve written a baby blanket pattern for the yarn!

Leave a Reply

