The Lady Bows

I know.  Girls should curtsy, but I’ve wanted to captured Gretchen’s beautiful downward facing dog pose for well over a year now, and I was tickled PANK when I realized that when the fur-girls crashed my sock-shoot on Sunday that I’d finally gotten the pose “on film.”

Just look past the Diva in the front...

Happy Dogs on Thursday!  There’s a fun contest going on over there, so be sure to check it out.  My girls don’t do mud, so I doubt we’ll be entering, but it’s a great idea!

It’s also little friday, which is always cause for celebration .   This has been one heck of a week, so I’m looking forward to the weekend.   Somehow, this week of only a couple of appointments has managed to be draining.  I think it’s more because we figured out we couldn’t get to the beach after all, can’t get together with friends because it is shed-building weekend, etc.

It is Thankful Thursday though, so I’m thankful that the beach is waiting for me.

OBX Fall 2009 - Sissy on the back deck

A rare, non-beach photo from OBX.  Sissy loves the thicket at the rear of the house.  The one plus of NOT getting down there in the dead of beach winter is that with every week we’re delayed, more flora and fauna will be stirring for my big girl to sniff and watch.

Just to tie up loose ends…  The Knight made the call on the baby blanket yarn.  For starters, Mommy doesn’t like pink, and almost all of my Tofutsies has pink or PANK in there.  They LOVE the “pound of acrylic” yellow blanket I made for first baby, so I’ll be making an off-white (I’d call it oatmeal) Serenity.  (Ravelry link)

Do I like knitting with acrylic?  No.  Is it more than a bit ironic that a chief’s wife and former firefighter/instructor herself is knitting an officer’s baby a flammable blankie?  Yep.  But it’s the best fit for this family, and that’s what matters most.  I try really, really hard to match my total project to its recipient, from the fiber selection to the color to the care that item will require, so I’m glad the Knight weighed in on the side of practicality.

Have a beautiful day!

13 comments on “The Lady Bows

  1. Nichole says:

    Great shots of the girls… love that you caught the diva! 🙂

    Hey, whatever works for the recipient, right? 🙂

  2. laceylee says:

    I think I might be trying that downward dog pose myself. I feel like my body is screaming for yoga right now. I hate using acrylic too! I knit a Harry Potter scarf at christmas and after ironing the patch on and melting part of it decided to iron the rest and melt the rest. It actually looked and felt way better melted. I know knitting in acrylic is grody, but sometimes it has to be done. Good call on the Knights end.

  3. Tobi says:

    Good luck with the blanket – with that much thought put into it, it has to turn out fabulous.

    Love Gretchen’s yoga pose. Such beautiful form!

  4. That pose you caught Gretchen in is seen here daily: it’s Sasha’s “I’m stretching before you take me for a walk” pose! So,….what ARE you gonna knit with all that pink yarn?

  5. Sue says:

    Is Gretchen trying to stretch herself to look more like Sissy?

    All this talk of knitting actually got me moving. I’ve selected the yarn for the next project and hope to cast on tonight.

  6. Mary says:

    Keep thinking beach thoughts to help you survive the here and now.

  7. Alicia says:

    Love the pic! My mare does that pose (quite a feat in her stall, she’s not small) almost every morning and I’ve been dying to catch her on film.

    I’m still thinking about our pink photo shoot…

  8. Dianne says:

    Awwww, Gretchen is a yoga master!

  9. Marjie says:

    Glad the girls had sunshine, and I think it’s funny that they don’t like mud either. Thor won’t be playing along with the DoT mud pictures. He cries if it’s muddy or raining in his potty!

    Glad you’ve worked out your blanket issues. I truly believe acrylic baby blankets are the way to go, but I don’t know anything about working with the stuff!

  10. Dawn says:

    Downward facing dog….wow I laughed so hard!:) needed that!!

  11. Anita says:

    That’s an adorable photo of Gretchie. 🙂 Jazzy stretches like that….

    Good choice on the yarn, they will appreciate it. Those men are useful sometimes. LOL

  12. Bubblesknits says:

    LOL I love the little nub of a tail sticking straight up.

  13. Kathy says:

    LOL…..Hope Sissy doesn’t think her little sister is bowing to her. Although Mr. B thinks all little sisters should bow 😉

Leave a Reply

