Can You Woo Woo Woo?

Happy Dogs on Thursday!  Even though it is threatening to rain, it’s still a great little friday here.   It’s been a REALLY long week for me, but it’s all been good stuff. 

Today’s series of photos was taken on Sunday.  Sis was all jacked up!  She loved having all the extra people around for the sharn – thanks, Robin!  It’s too big to be a shed, but isn’t quite a barn – and she was just leaping around, “Mooing” as we call it.

You see, dearly as I love her, beautiful as she is, Sis has no basset dulcet tones.  Her voice is strident and raspy, and while she loves to shout when she’s happy, it’s a far cry from Fred’s stellar basset “ahwoo”.

Hey guys! Come play with ME!

This is also my Thankful Thursday post.  I don’t have photos from Tuesday night’s annual meeting at the firehouse, but I really am thankful for those folks.   They are more like family than friends.  They pet and house sit for us, they’ve helped bury our dogs, they’re building our sharn…  I can only hope that each of you knows such a strong sense of community in your lives. 

What defines your sense of community?

16 comments on “Can You Woo Woo Woo?

  1. Sue says:

    She’s got all the right moves. Maybe she’s waiting for her voice to change.

    We had a sense of community in Maryland, but here we have never fit in.

  2. Mary says:

    I just love photos of Sissy (Gretch, too). As for the Bassett dulcet tones, I think my Doberman stole them from Sissy. She HOWLS like a Bassett when my husband goes outside without her.

    Clearly, their voices got mixed up somewhere along the way.

  3. Dawn says:

    Love those pucker lips! So sweet! We don’t have a community here….all the neighbors keep to themselves…very sad!

  4. Bubblesknits says:

    lol No matter what she sounds like, she’s still my favorite hound in the land. 🙂

  5. Dianne says:

    She might not sound like a traditional basset, but she sure looks good doing it! My Tara sounds nothing like a brittany, but she can do a fantastic beagle impersonation! (Aoww, aoww, aoww)

  6. Kristin says:

    What a cutie patootie! My friends and fam are my community!

  7. No real sense of nieghborhood community here…for the most part, my church is my family. Sissy looks like she’s saying “woo woo woo and arooo”, isn’t that enough? Love the “sharn”!

  8. Marjie says:

    Thor doesn’t talk much, but everyone knows what he’s saying when he does! Great pictures; glad she was inviting sharn-raisers to play.

  9. Nichole says:

    Love the mooing pics!!!!!! 🙂

    Sadly, I have no sense of community right now….. :/

  10. Janet says:

    Great pictures of such a lovely girl!

  11. Amy says:

    I love seeing photos of your dogs. They are fantastic and it really brightens my day. While I love my cats, I’ve always wanted a dog. I’ll live vicariously through your blog!

  12. Bridget says:

    Oh I LOVE these pictures of your girl! What a character she seems to be.

    I think a true sense of community can be really hard to find. It’s as much defined by feelings and personality as by location.

    I think commonality – whether it be flower box planting in the spring, knitting circles, or knowing who everyone is, whether or not you KNOW them, makes it seem like you are part of a community.

  13. Anita says:

    Love the photos of my Sissymonster! 🙂 Community? Not so much with my neighbors, my community is online & at work. We have never “called” on anyone that I work with, but I know if I needed them they would be there. I would include several of my regular customers in that group too. 🙂

  14. km says:

    Ok…I want a video of the dogs now. I have to hear. I’m sure that would make a great DoT post.

    I still live close to where I grew up…and I went to a small private school. There are people I go to church with that I’ve known since I was in Kindergarten. That really helps with the “community” feeling in So. Cal. My friends from church have brought us dinner when I had babies. Helped out when we burried my father. Baby sat. Cat sat…and for all that I feel really blessed.

  15. Darcy says:

    You sing it girl love Sissy such a cutie:)
    We live on a military base people come and go so everyone really keeps to themselves it really makes me miss home but I chose to marry into the military life which means moving every 3 to 4 years so dont be surprised if we get orders this year to Alaska.Hugs Darcy

Leave a Reply

