Blue Moon…

… I mean, Citron.

I’ve put this finished object report off for almost a week, and I just need to get it done.  I wanted to wait to get an on a human body shot, I wanted to wait… well, I just have a laundry list of reasons to put off the report, but I’m drawing a line in the sand and sharing my thoughts now.

Project:  Blue Citron

Pattern:  Knitty’s Citron (link above).   I loved the first couple of repeats of this pattern, but it got REALLY tedious as the number of stitches on the needles grew and grew.  I also couldn’t get the sucker to block into the perfect crescent shape I wanted, as you can see from the photo above.  I wanted crisp edges, and I just don’t think they are possible with stockinette all the way around.

Yarn:  NH Knitting Mama‘s custom dyed alpaca laceweight.  This yarn has been in my stash for a couple of years.  I had her dye it for a specific project for a specific person, but honestly, at the time, I wasn’t ready for lace done in laceweight.  Then, Sissy taught Gretchen to play in yarn with THIS VERY YARN (no photos… I was too devastated, I think?), but the Knight was able to save all but a few feet of it. 

Anyway, I love the vivid blue, love alpaca always,  and I’m glad I finally found the right project for this yarn.

Needles:  My KA #6, 24-inch bamboo circs.  Just perfect for a project with slippery laceweight, and they more than handled the 540 stitches on the needles at the bitter, ruffled end.

Verdict:  I can only hope the woman I knitted this for will love it.  I do find myself fluffing the ruffles as I walk past the shawl as it sits, waiting for its presentation to its owner.  I think the timing is great; it will be a wonderful light layer of warmth for spring, or even throughout the summer as AC vents attack vulnerable shoulders or neck…

It’s finally Friday, although that’s not said with my usual glee.  It’s dreary, wet, rainy and gloomy.  I did get perky-happy while emailing two of my best girls, and the rain did hold off yesterday evening while Ann and I test-drove a new spa in the area.  (Ann wrote all about it , and all I have to say right now is that if you are local or coming to visit and you don’t want to go to the spa with me, you’d better speak up, because I’m looking for excuses to go back early and often.)

The other reason I did this FO report today is because I hope to have TWO more for you after this weekend!   What do you have planned for the weekend?  Does anyone have sunshine?

23 comments on “Blue Moon…

  1. gaylen says:

    Catching up on blogs. That’s my plan for the weekend. I love that and I know the receipient will as well. Is it in the hands of USPS service yet? g

  2. Marjie says:

    It’s so pretty! I’m glad you finally have something to report. After all, it always feels better to finish something, doesn’t it?

    Sunshine? No. Not even in the forecast until at least Tuesday. Visiting college students? Yes, 3 of whom I’ve never seen before. But Thor will be pleased to have new friends, right?

  3. Mary says:

    Love the color and alpaca, too. Great job…I know it was driving you nuts to get it done.

    No sunshine here, just flooding rains and heavy winds coming our way. I don’t think it will be very sunny when I arrive on the other side of the Pond on Sunday, either! Have a good weekend, Chan.

  4. AlisonH says:

    It’s beautiful, in color and pattern; it will be well loved, just as the recipient was by your making it.

  5. Sue says:

    Nope, it’s dark and rainy here. Even the dogs don’t want to be outside for long.

    The shawl is lovely, especially the color. What a nice clear blue. I like making ruffles, but the large number of stitches do get tiresome.

    This weekend hasn’t been planed yet. Sunday will probably be an early birthday celebration for Samba so that Rob can help direct traffic. These things are hard to carry off with only one human to keep things under control.

  6. Dianne says:

    Lovely shawl! The color is super, too. This weekend? Working tomorrow (ugh) so that means all my weekend chores (shopping, laundry, making dog food, etc.) are crammed into Sunday.

  7. Ruth says:

    LOL…just has to laugh at the thought of you “perky happy” from emailing! Todays plans are all shot to heck. I had a terrible night, and its raining, and….whine, whine, whine! I’m supposed to go to a special Season Ticket holder event for Kings tomorrow night. Perhaps a real picture with Omri is in my future?

  8. Amy says:

    VERY pretty! Love the color. Isn’t Amanda’s yarn just fantastic!?!

  9. Walden says:

    It looks lovely! Not sure I want to endure it for myself though. We had nice weather, but it’s suppose to rain all weekend.

  10. Mr Puffy says:

    It’s really lovely, Chan! Worth all those little stitches 🙂 I bet it’s heavenly soft in the alpaca and the vivid blue is gorgeous ~ it is a wonderful gift!!!

  11. Wow! You are about to do an FO marathon 🙂 Two more! Yay!

    I luv that yarn it looks so soft and such a vivid color. Did you use blocking wires for it? Hope the receiver loves it too!

    Have a wonderful weekend!!

  12. kathy b says:

    How much laceweight yarn does it take to make that beauty?

    I LOVE it.

    You know me, I’ll work the weekend, minus one hour!

  13. Louise says:

    Hi Channon, I was here a few minutes ago and I just have to tell you, Marion said your shawl is just gorgeous!!! I must agree. Yes, at 89 years young, she is a knitter from way back and your blog is the second blog, after mine of course:) that I showed her. We went back a few posts and she thinks your knitting creations are just beautiful. She also loves Sissy & Gretchen’s antics:) I may just have to get her an identity of her very own, LOL. Thank you so very much for sharing, and hurray to the Knight for coming to the rescue, like all good knights should:) Have a beautiful Spring Ahead weekend!

  14. Terrie says:

    The shawl looks beautiful, Chan! Great color and I’m sure the recipient will love it! With all the other comments, I feel kind of bad saying yes, we have lots of sunshine today 🙂 In between chores/errands I hope to get some knitting and blocking done. Hope you have a great weekend!!

  15. Barbara says:

    The yarn color is exquisite…a very vivid and deep true blue. I adore it. The shawl as well; your hard work shows up clearly and I know your friend will love it. How could she not? Tedious or not, you did a magnificent job on it. You are a perfectionist! How can you bear to give it up? (Yea for the Knight…rescuing your yarn from those naughty girls.)

    A deluge here yesterday but a lovely day today. 70 and sunny. And where am I? In the kitchen baking a Guinness cake to post tomorrow for St. Patrick’s Day!

  16. Bubblesknits says:

    Our weekend has gotten off to a crazy start. Got an hours notice that a buyer wanted to look at our house, cleaned like crazy, and got out. They’re coming back tomorrow, though, so….?

  17. Bubblesknits says:

    Oh, btw, I love the blue citron! Absolutely beautiful! 🙂

  18. km says:

    What a beautiful FO! And 2 more. Whoo-hoo! I need to get some FO shots taken of things around here. I can only imagine the number of stitches on the needle as you finished up the ruffle. It is beautiful though…so worth it.

  19. Anita says:

    I think I have sunshine, honestly I haven’t looked at what the weather is supposed to do tomorrow. It was sunny today for the most part. We got our rain before you. I’m looking forward to having the next 2 days off! I lost my helper, I guess it was too stressful for her. Pout…

    Love the shawl!!! It’s gorgeous. That # of stitches might scare me off even though it sure is pretty when it’s done. 🙂

    Hope you had a good Saturday!!! My timing is off cause of this schedule change, I don’t know if I’m coming or going. LOL

  20. Kathy says:

    Purdy! Love how lacy it looks. So glad you enjoyed the spa trip. You deserve a break.

    Weekend? We’re getting the rowboat prepared…..lol

  21. Nichole says:

    Ain’t no sunshine here…… just a very muddy yarn and a very wet basement.

    Love the citron – beautiful color!

  22. anniebananie says:

    That is really lovely! I love the color!!! When was it sunny on Friday? Not at my house. We pulled out the plans for the Ark, but it looks like the rain is finally stopping…

  23. Natalie says:

    So pretty!! 🙂 I love this color and pattern.

Leave a Reply

