Star Ripple

Or, a few hours equals a lap blanket…

Project:  Lap Blanket 

This will head west tomorrow for Dawn’s charity lap blanket challenge.  There’s still time, so please consider cranking out a lap blanket for someone at Dawn’s grandmother’s nursing home.  If a lap blanket doesn’t fit into your yarn plans right now, I’m betting that the nursing home nearest you would gladly take donations most any time. 

Pattern:  Fox’s Beginner Round Ripple   I’ve wanted to make a ripple blanket for a while, basically since I got comfortable with crochet.  For whatever reason, I find crocheting in the round more fun than hooking flat, row after row.  This was a great little pattern, and really, if you can chain and double crochet, you can make one of your own.

If you don’t know how to do the magic adjustable ring, you are really missing out.   I’m lucky that I learned that little trick in my first crochet workshop, and maybe it’s why I love to crochet in the round.

Of course EVERYONE wants a shot of me with the blanket!

Yarn:  Let’s just say three different acrylics, okay?  I honestly don’t even know what the lilac is.  I’m going to guess Red Heart, but I don’t know.  It was part of a bag of yarn a former employee’s girlfriend (got that?) gave me.  I don’t love knitting with acrylics, but I can tell you that Caron’s One Pound (pink)  is less offensive than the Lion Brand Pound of Love (yellow) and the very coarse lilac.

Hook:  #I, Boye, of course.

Verdict:  Don’t be surprised to see this one again.  Once you get past the “starter doily” in the center,  it’s rapid-fire double crochet.   Being crochet, it’s a little heavy for a baby blanket (like I would know!), but I think it’ll make a sturdy, warm lap blanket.  I hope it makes some sweet lady very happy. 

That was what I did yesterday.  I also spun a bit, but it’s going to be a long time before I have a finished yarn to show you.  Today, I washed and blocked three older projects, but we’ll talk about them later in the week.  Now, I’m going to knit on the other blanket that I’ve ignored most of the week.  How did your weekend shape up?

21 comments on “Star Ripple

  1. Marjie says:

    Gretchen knows! Of course everyone wants to see her with the blanket! Someone will be very happy with your contribution!

  2. That’s such a beautiful star blanket!

  3. Dawn says:

    Oooooooh it is sooooo pretty! I’ll have to do that pattern sometime! Thank you so much for doing this!:)

  4. gaylen says:

    That is a lovely blanket. I thought it was for the new baby. Ooops!

    I’m finishing that afghan with Red Heart and it’s awful, isn’t it. GAH. Happy Sunday – sounds like your weekend was a good one. g

  5. laceylee says:

    THat is soo cute!

  6. Kathy says:

    I like it and apparently so does little Miss Gretchen :).

  7. Toni Gomez says:

    What a great blankie and Gretch is a peach too!

  8. Amy says:

    Fantastic! I really need to learn to crochet!

  9. Walden says:

    Love the colors! It looks wonderful.

  10. Kathy says:

    Seriously cute blanket! I love the design. I’m sure it will make the recipient smile.

  11. It looks cute, but honestly….doesn’t sound too comfy! LOL…please don’t be mad at me…I’ve knit, I mean crocheted, Ripple in the round, but back when dinasuars roamed I made my first baby a rectanglur ripple blankie…all with acrylic! Sadly, it was lost long, long ago.

  12. Sue says:

    Glad you reminded me. I have to get mine in the mail. I’m so bad about getting things out to their new homes even when they’ve been finished for weeks.

    It’s very cheery, just right for a nursing home.

  13. Grace says:

    like it a lot great way to use scraps, for a baby just go down an needle size or two and maybe make it a bit longer!

  14. Anita says:

    Love the blanket! Very cute. And so is Gretchie, how come she’s not “on” the blanket? LOL (that would be Sissy, not our well mannered Gretchie. he he)

  15. Terrie says:

    It looks great! I know any of the ladies will be very happy to have this as a lap blanket 🙂

  16. Bubblesknits says:

    Okay, I really think I need to do one of these when I can get to all my yarn again.

  17. kathy b says:

    Oh that Star Ripple is so lovely. Colors are great. Makes me want to crocher a bit! THAT is an accomplishment. I am rarely inspired to crochet. WOW I love it. And that it is a charity knit is so wonderful. Hi Gretch!

  18. Dianne says:

    Love it! Makes me wish I could crochet!

  19. Nichole says:

    So pretty! And yes, miss Gretchie, everyone does! That’s a lovely shot!

  20. Catching up on blog reads 🙂 So glad you had a chance to hook up that baby star ripple too!

  21. Wow, sorry I’m late to the party..lol You’ve really taken off with crochet and I love love love this blanket! Great job Chan!

Leave a Reply

