River Dance

How ironic is that title?  Well, if you live from my northern edge of the mid-Atlantic northeast, it’s not funny at all.  A local friend is waiting and hoping that the rising James doesn’t flood his garden plot, and Kathy has some scary, impressive, raging river shots on her blog…

However, timing aside, this post is about a long-forgotten finished object.  Way back in the spring of 2008, the River Citiy Knitters  guild had the very talented Renee Leverington design a stole for their KAL.  (Knit A Long, for those not in the know.) 

Project:  My First Mystery KAL Shawl    As the project’s name suggests, it was my first mystery KAL.  To date, it’s my only one too. 

Pattern:  River Dance.   It was offered only in charts, which was fine for me because I tend to use charts more than words, but don’t have a strong preference for one over the other, but a few members just didn’t like or couldn’t get the hang of reading charts.  What I didn’t like was the segmented design, which reminded me of a cross stitch sampler, and I never cared much for those either.

Yarn:  The intent was to have all the guild members who had participated in the KAL show up at the holiday party sporting their stoles, so I contacted Amanda and got this lovely wine-colored superwash.  Happily, I didn’t use up all I bought, so I have more for another project one of these days.

Needles:  My Ravelry notes say I cast on with a #8, then knitted with  #7 straights.  Well over a year, almost two later, we’ll have to trust those notes.

Verdict:  I’m not really mystery KAL material.  I don’t like surprises in my knitting, especially in my lace.   I am sorry it took me about 15 months to lightly block this bugger, but it finally told me with whom it should live, and that person happens to be capable of blocking it to her own heart’s desire.  Especially with superwash, I feared that if I blocked it HARD, as I like to do, she’d not have the option to leave it a little denser if she thought she’d like it that way.

Got your curiousity up?  Good. 

We still have two more items to review from yesterday’s marathon blocking session.  Both of them have been given FO report time here, so I’ll just flash blocked photos and ramble a bit.

… and that’s what I did this weekend.  Not very exciting, but productive just the same!  How was your weekend?

20 comments on “River Dance

  1. Kathy says:

    I love the color of the yarn.

    I don’t think I’m a myster KAL type of person either. I don’t have enough knitting time to invest in making something I might not like in the end.

  2. laceylee says:

    My goodness you are one fast and busy knitter. How do you finish so many projects so fast?

  3. Really pretty! I love the color and the design. That said, I don’t know if I would enjoy knitting said design, but I do like the finished look. 🙂 Ultimately, I’m impressed you remembered to blog about it after all this time! Happy Monday?

  4. km says:

    I’ve never tried a mystery knit, but with my crazy schedule, I’m sure I’d have a hard time keeping up. The finished shawl is lovely though. I was thinking you’ve had a whole bunch of FO’s all at once. I think I’m a little glad you didn’t just knit this one in your sleep. I’m sure wherever this is going it will be LOVED.

  5. gaylen says:

    I think it turned out lovely. I will tell you I popped right over to your Rav page, but it doesn’t say anything different. g

  6. Marjie says:

    Blocking weekend sounds like a good way to deal with grey skies. We didn’t get socked hard with the rain, although my broker in NJ is soaked to his socks! That’s a really pretty shawl, but I don’t like following “mystery” instructions for much of anything, either!

  7. anniebananie says:

    That color is lovely and that shawl looks huge! But it is very, very lovely.

    And you were much more productive (in knitting terms) than I was this weekend. I didn’t pick up the needles until yesterday afternoon.

  8. Sue says:

    I think it’s gorgeous! Of course I’m influenced by it being in one of my favorite colors, but the varied patterns interest me, too. I’m not a mystery knitter, I want to know what I’m doing ahead of time, but I also get bored easily with the same stitch pattern, so a ‘sampler’ appeals to me.

    I must confess I hate knitting from charts. I learned very young to use written instructions and I tend to lose my place on charts. Lately several things I’ve wanted to knit were only charted and I passed on them.

  9. AlisonH says:

    It’s very pretty, and I love the color of the yarn.

  10. Blond Duck says:

    It’s such a pretty color!

  11. Grace says:

    I did 5 or more of Renee’s mysteries but then started loosing my desire because I wasn’t always thrilled with the finished project, I tried someone elses where we cast on over 1000 stitches and knit upwards, well that design I did not like at all and changed everything about it as I went along. Then there were the Mystery Stoles, nope wasn’t happy with the end results there—so no more mysteries for me unless they are small and I save all the clues first to see if I will like it before I bother

    All that said your shawl is lovely–and we are doing the River Dance here, my daughter just called and she can not get home from work because all the entrances into town are flooded and cresting doesn’t happen until tomorrow, FUN TIMES

  12. Amy says:

    Wow – that is beautiful!!!!

    I’ve always been a lurker for Mystery KALs, but after seeing your project, I may have to join one!

  13. Yours looks great. Love the color. Mine is still waiting to have the last section finished.

  14. Terrie says:

    What a lovely color! I think the recipient will be very happy with this pretty stole 🙂 I haven’t tried a mystery knit either, but I’d like to try it, if somthing intersting came along. Sadly, no blocking for me this weekend, but there’s always next weekend! Have a great Tuesday!!

  15. Bubblesknits says:

    Very pretty. 🙂 I’m not big on mystery projects either it seems. I like to know what the FO will look like before I invest that much time in something.

    Our weekend was busy. Painting, cleaning, etc.. We had some people come by and look at the house. Haven’t heard anything back about it, though.

  16. Dianne says:

    Oooooo, that’s lovely!

  17. Krystle says:

    I love the color! I’m not so sure I could handle a mystery knit a long with lace either, I love lace now that I have gotten started with it, but I want to see what I’m working towards, and pre-read my pattern to make sure I like what I’m doing!

  18. Nichole says:

    You’re on a FO kick aren’t you? Wonderful!

  19. Kathy says:

    Wow! That is some serious knitting there. It is absolutely beautiful.

Leave a Reply

