Cheesy Questions

We interupt the parade of finished objects to discuss something near and dear to my heart – macaroni and cheese AND Thomas Jefferson and Monticello.

I love Good Eats and Alton Brown, but when he gave TJ credit for inventing macaroni and cheese or at least for bringing it to the USA, I was almost motivated to put down my knitting and prove him wrong, then and there.  Instead, I will direct you to a page of Monticello’s own site, which notes that the esteemed Mr. Jefferson did no such thing, but he did design his own pasta  maker.  Note, I said PASTA maker.  Ol’ Tom used the word macaroni to mean pasta,  period.

Here’s his recipe, right from the website:

Jefferson did not introduce macaroni and cheese to America, nor did he invent the recipe. There is, however, a recipe for macaroni in Jefferson’s own hand:

6 eggs. yolks & whites.
2 wine glasses of milk
2 tb of flour
a [?] salt
work them together without water, and very well.
roll it then with a roller to a paper thickness
cut it into small peices which roll again with the hand into long slips, & then cut them to a proper length.
put them into warm water a quarter of an hour.
drain them.
dress them as maccaroni.
but if they are intended for soups they are to be put in the soup & not into warm water

So, there’s your history lesson for the day, and if you now crave mac ‘n cheese, well… misery loves company.

Now that we have THAT out of the way, Jessi played 20 questions on her blog, and since I thoroughly enjoyed reading her answers, I’m considering myself tagged.

1. Explain what ended your last relationship?

Um… friends.  Three very good mutual friends finally came forward to let me know… stuff.

2. When was the last time you shaved?

Honestly, isn’t that insanely personal?!  Luckily, I can say yesterday…

3. What were you doing this morning at 8 a.m.

Smooching Sissy on the nose and letting Gretchen lick me in the face.  

Why yes, I am supposed to be at work at 8 am, but ever since these two beautiful dogs arrived in my life, I’ve been getting later and later.  

4. What were you doing 15 minutes ago?

Good question.  Emailing?

5. Some things you are excited about?

OBX, baby!  Can’t wait.  Wrapped up in there is time with our brother inlaw and his family, dinner at The Black Pelican, the new Knitting Addiction location, and SO much more.

See the Sissy purple on the right?! Crocuses!!!

Spring flowers.  My crocus are going to be waving at me when I get home and I’ll get a better photo then.  (Note to Jessi:  See?!  I can remember that my phone has a camera!)

Toes showing!  As much as I love my handknit socks, I love warm weather and bare toes.

6. What is your favorite flavor of JELL-O?

None.  Can’t stand jello or its American pudding cousin.

7. Your prom night, what do you remember about it?

I fell asleep on the way home from my junior prom.  Need I say more?  I was so impressed it was my ONLY prom.

8. Do you have any famous ancestors?

Nope.  There was a rumor that I was related to Robert E. Lee, but my research doesn’t support it.

9. Last thing received in the mail?

Stamps?

10. How many different beverages have you had today?

Coffee, tea, water…

11. Do you ever leave messages on people’s answering machine?

Voicemail?  Do people still have answering machines?  And yes.  Generally if it was important enough for me to dial, I’ll leave a message.

12. Do you draw your name in the sand when you go to the beach?

Pick up the crab shell and turn your head counter-clockwise Gretch...

With what?  The camera, or Gretchen’s leash?

13. Any plans for Friday night?

Not yet. 

14. Do you like what the ocean does to your hair?

I sure do.  That’s what hats, silk scarves and hair clips are for.  (Okay, no.  I hate the way it frizzes, waves and otherwise finds interesting ways to stick out, but that’s what the beach is all about!)

15. Have you ever received one of those big tins of 3 different popcorns?

Sure.  Fred figured out how to knock it over and have a popcorn buffet, so we had to ask people not to give them to us.  I’m positive Sissy would be into it in record time.

16. Do you re-use towels after you shower?

Sure.  To quote the Knight, “You’re clean now, aren’t you?!”

17. Describe your keychain(s)?

Which one?  I have my car key on the basset hound charm-thingee Nichole gave me after Fred died.  Some other keys are on the Lupine ring with Mugsy & Fred’s memorial dog tags…  I could keep going, but you get the point.

18. Where do you keep your change?

In my coin purse?

19. When was the last time you spoke in front of a large group of people?

How big is a group?  Public speaking doesn’t phase me, so it happens often. 

20. What kind of winter coat do you own?

Yet again, which one?  The Knight gave me a nifty hooded park for Christmas.  I wear a barn coat a lot.  I have countless fleece jackets.  I have a two long coats…

If you chuckled, you’re tagged.

13 comments on “Cheesy Questions

  1. Bubblesknits says:

    lol At least your shaving answer was better than mine. 😉 I suppose I need to rectify that today.

    Hoping this latest cup of coffee gives me the energy I need to get my butt in gear. le sigh

  2. gaylen says:

    No fair!! I chuckled – dang it 🙂 Okay Friday.

    good answers all of them. I would go to the market next door and get Mac & Cheese for lunch now, but I was less than impressed the last time I did that. Bummer – it looks good. g

  3. Grace says:

    something is definitely wrong with that recipe all those eggs etc and 2 Tb of flour, Tom makes macaroni from scratch all the time it must be 2 lb of flour. Don’t try TomJ’s recipe or you will have a huge puddle.

    We had mac and cheese last night, I made it and it was darn good.

    I chuckled too so one of these days I will play 20 questions too!!!! when are you headed to OBX??

  4. AlisonH says:

    Where do you keep your change–the question had me laughing, having just had a long political discussion online between friends with us having very very different viewpoints… But the answer is: with my vote!

  5. anniebananie says:

    Now you’ve got me thinking about Panera’s mac n cheese. You are an evil, evil woman, you know that? 🙂

    So, when do you go to OBX again?

  6. Mr Puffy says:

    Love The Knight’s line “you’re clean now, right” – LOL I’m a big believer in reusing towels!

    Love my Mom’s recipe for mac & cheese. I ought to post that someday….

  7. Sue says:

    I had to laugh at #15. I have very short finger nails and can’t manage to get one of those big popcorn cans open, but Samba can do it in seconds. We buy them to share with the dogs and have to keep them on top of the refrigerator or Samba throws popcorn parties for the whole group.

  8. Krystle says:

    I guess I’m tagged then! The history on Macaroni was quite interesting, I love Mac and Cheese, not from the box, but from this croc pot recipe I have… yum! I’m going to need to dig that out soon!!

  9. I know I chuckled…but do I really want to share with the world when I last shaved? Thanks for keeping the internet honest about TJ and the Mac and Cheese!

  10. Walden says:

    Huge Alton Brown fan too, it makes me miss cable so much.

  11. Anita says:

    He he… I chuckled for sure. Tagged? We’ll see. 😛

  12. Blond Duck says:

    I need some mac and cheese now.

  13. Nichole says:

    Love that pic of the girls together… wish I had a knack for gardening so I could be excited for spring flowers too…

Leave a Reply

