Toes in the water AND sand

Sorry for the silence around here.  We scooted down to the Outer Banks for a long weekend.

I was asked for a photo of sandals in the sand, but the weather was just about perfect on Sunday, for early spring.  The feet and legs belong to one really sweet young lady who was down there with my brother inlaw and his family.

Sadly, Sunday was the only day we set foot on the beach.  Saturday was perhaps the coldest, windiest day I’ve spent at OBX.  Monday, it rained harder than I’ve seen it rain before, so hard we couldn’t even see the ocean.  (No, I’m not kidding.)  Yesterday started out with rain, but the sun came out to dry everything out before we headed home.

Not all was lost though.  My spindle and I spent some time together (another post for another day), I knitted and knitted, I read, and we did have a fine meal with said brother inlaw and his gals. 

Saturday night, we went to Basnight’s Lone Cedar Cafe.   BIL and I shared a bottle of Biltmore Estate Century White Wine.   I would rate it sweeter than the link shows, but it was truly an outstanding bottle of wine.   I also had the local oysters lightly fried, the sweetest sweet potato ever (brown sugar maple butter did the trick), tasty beets and cornbread.  However, the key lime pie very well could have been the best I ever ate.

We also had a great dinner Sunday night at La Fogata, a local Mexican place.  It seems to get mixed reviews, but we enjoy authentic Mexican and are rather demanding when it comes to good service, and we thought the food was good and the service, outstanding.

I have more photos that I’ll share over the next few posts, but I really have to thank my brother inlaw and his gals for walking the fur-girls on Sunday so that I was free to take photos.  (Gretchen is in front the trio of humans in the distance… trust me.)

So, what have you been up to?

18 comments on “Toes in the water AND sand

  1. I long for toes in the sand! I’m glad you had great food, at least, this weekend. Glad you had willing dog handlers so we could get to see some pictures, too.

  2. Dawn says:

    What a great weekend….looking forward to putting my toes in the sand next week!:)

  3. Marjie says:

    I hope Gretchen really loves the beach, since her people do! I see Sissy there, trotting along fine as you please! It’s nice to have the dog walking help! Sorry you got pounded with the rain. Happily, that nasty rainstorm stayed east of us; we only got about an inch of rain yesterday. We also got some sleet and snow, but that melted today. Weird weather.

  4. Amy says:

    Oh,but it looks like you had so much fun, despite the chilly weather! Fantastic!

  5. laceylee says:

    Oh it does look lovely. Sorry about the rain. I would love to put my toes in the sand.

  6. Sue says:

    We had the same wind on Sunday and rain off and on all weekend. Gorgeous today. I actually had to turn on the air.

    The big question– how does Gretchen like the beach?

  7. Mr Puffy says:

    What a fun weekend! I don’t mind rainy weather at the beach ~ it’s nice in its own way because you often have the beach to yourself! The description of the dinner out sounds delicious and decadent 🙂

  8. Dianne says:

    Sounds like you had a good time, rain and all!

  9. kathy b says:

    worth the wait to see those great beach images

  10. StarSpry says:

    Sounds like a great weekend, even if the weather didn’t cooperate! I love the beach photos 🙂

  11. Anita says:

    At least you had one good day to get on the beach & in the sand. 🙂 Love the photos.

  12. AlisonH says:

    Sounds like you somehow swapped East Coast for a Northern California beach–brrr. But I’m glad you got to go!

  13. Walden says:

    I love how much water time you get. I miss the water. Toes in the sand, love it!

  14. gaylen says:

    That is a fun song – isn’t it? That was what the title referenced, right?

    Love the photos. I’m glad you had fun. g

  15. Susan says:

    Wish I had known you were there. I was too. Would have loved to meet the furgirls. I was down there 10 days and was in major need of puppy kisses, since my guys had to stay home!!

  16. Nichole says:

    I do love the Biltmore wines and if I’m not mistaken, that bottle is one that resides in our wine fridge from a trip a few years ago.

  17. km says:

    How fun that you got to be with family!

  18. Kathy says:

    For a moment there I could the ocean and squish my toes in the sand while savoring the taste of the sweet wine:).
    Then reality hit me:(. LOL

Leave a Reply

