Spin Me ‘Round-round

Alternate title – Look Kathy, No Wheel!

Fiber, unknown wool.  Purdy pink, long, strong fibers.   The crappy stuff at the bottom of the shaft was spun long, LONG ago, maybe two years or so ago.  The finer, tighter-spun stuff at the top was the recent effort.

Here’s the question…  What am I doing wrong when I wind on?  (For the non-spinners, that’s when I take the long length of yarn I just made and wrap it on the shaft.  It shouldn’t slide on down to the bottom as mine has.)

See the way the yarn just stays up near the disc portion on those?  THAT is what I can’t do.  I’ve tried applying more tension as I wind on, but that doesn’t seem to do the trick.  A Ravelry pal said to try the football shape (the orange yarn, above?), but I’m really at a loss…

Sissy didn’t have any ideas either.

While I can’t say I love spinning with a spindle, I have lost my hatred for it.  I really feel the need to master this little beast, so all input is appreciated.

And Jessi?  It only hit the floor once, and I had an assist there.  Gretchen didn’t think that spindle should be in my lap if she wasn’t…

So, any Easter plans?  I’m looking forward to the warm weather, finishing up a project I almost started and finished at the beach, and getting back to work on the blankie.  I also have to face our taxes, but let’s not talk about that, okay?  Tell me about chocolate bunnies and pretty eggs and new Easter dresses instead…

20 comments on “Spin Me ‘Round-round

  1. StarSpry says:

    What a beautiful pink! I’m sorry I don’t have any suggestions, but I haven’t tried spinning yet. I love how Sissy’s nose appears in that photo 🙂

    We’ll be spending Easter with family. Our 3 nephews & niece will have an Easter egg hunt and then we’ll all sit down for a late meal. I hope you have a great weekend and a Happy Easter!!

  2. Barbara says:

    Is that Sissy’s little snout on the edge of the photo? She must have known you were annoyed!
    Can’t help you as I’ve never spun….weaving I learned while in boarding school at the Cranbrook Institutions in Michigan. We had a brilliant teacher….long gone now.
    BTW: The flat belly diet is working.

    Happy Easter, my dear friend, to you, the Knight and the girls!

  3. laceylee says:

    Ive heard that is a good book. What kind of spindle is that?

  4. All spinning is a mystery to me….as you know. And of course, it is hard to argue with Gretchen’s logic…so I won’t do that either. WArm weather? Ours has taken a break…today it is raining, and colder. No new dress or bonnet either…Still, happy it is the weekend that it is!

  5. Marjie says:

    Here’s another “I got nuttin'” on spinning, but the girls are right to urge you to enjoy the sunshine! We’ll agree to talk about the tax extensions in a week or so, so lets enjoy the sunshine and chocolate!

  6. Sue says:

    I can relax, taxes are done and e-filed. We’ll be having our annual Easter Hunt, this year we’re hiding baby carrots. We’re also looking forward to a visit from the Easter Bunny bearing chocolate.

  7. AlisonH says:

    Where there’s a wheel there’s a way.

  8. Walden says:

    I guess it’s hard to explain without pictures, but it looks like you are winding on your singles close together and rather horizontal. I find it’s better to have more of a winding spiral down and then back up towards the top. When you do a spiral as you wind, the yarn stays in position better because it’s not all on the same field, things overlap at angles to hold everything snug, at least for me it does. Sorry, hope that helps. 🙂

  9. Amy says:

    Good luck with the spindle. I’ve tried and it is just not for me. Love the color of that fiber!

  10. Dawn says:

    Have you tried winding on shorter amounts at a time? Sometimes its the fiber too that causes it to go down the shaft like that…just get it going back up all the way again before it comes down….What good helpers you have there! My cats love to see me drop spindle! With my knees hurt I haven’t been able to spin on my wheel and hadn’t even thought (duh) to use the drop spindle!:) Its been a long time might have to dig it out!:) Have a wonderful weekend!

  11. Barbara S. says:

    No new Easter dresses here, or any other new Easter outfits actually. There is chocolate for Hubband’s basket, and the Daughter Units’ are in the mail. I think DTY will get hers today or tomorrow, DTE is at a national theater conference until late Saturday, but hers is waiting at the mail room for her, but she can’t get it until Monday. I figure late chocolate is better than no chocolate! I take Hubband to the airport Easter night for his next round of school and the three of us are going to brunch after church, since I didn’t want a bunch of leftovers for just me.

  12. AllyB says:

    Aw, I want to pet your doggie. Have a great weekend Chan.

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    COOL! Maybe that book will help me, too. My poor spindle is so beaten up and bruised from all it’s impacts with various hard surfaces, that I would probably need to get another one.

  14. Mary says:

    No spindle knowledge here. Family is having Easter dinner on Saturday at our house (big table), though son/DIL and daughter are doing all the cooking. Son leaves Monday for military duty. Finishing up guest room makeover (daughter is designer). Think I will have to move in to it after the first guest (MIL) leaves.

  15. kathy b says:

    Respect the Spindle is a hysterical title. I love it.

    Cricket must get that from Gretchen. He thinks he should be in my lap not my yarn too!

  16. Kathy says:

    I’m impressed :). You’ve finally made friends with your spindle and it’s a continuous “string.” YAY!!!

    Tip: Wind more yarn at the base vs trying to wind it on the entire shaft. Your base should be thicker (with yarn) than the tip. Sometimes the fiber you’re using is slippery and that will cause it to slide. Also winding a bit of cotton on first will sometimes stop the sliding.
    p.s. See if you can get Anita to spin cotton for you to use as your shaft lead……SNOL

  17. km says:

    We’re in Napa for the holiday. I’m so glad I made the trip even though I was almost to tears the last hour of the drive. The memories are worth it. It’s 45degrees here this morning. We’re not used to this weather. The kids needed gloves to ride bikes.

    I don’t want to talk about taxes either. We filed ours long enough ago…and the government is slow getting the money to us. We REALLY need that money.

  18. Grace says:

    what a wonderful amount of comments you have, mine seemed to have dwindled alot lately. We are having a quiet weekend, I thought maybe i would see some chocolate but no not a piece. He is blocking though so I won’t complain. The bunny is seamless, the ears need grafting no worse then a sock toe!!!! happy Easter Chan!

  19. Nichole says:

    I’m not even sure I know where my spindle is these days…… :/ Someday I might try again…. SOMEday.

    Love the pics!

  20. Anita says:

    Great new yarn on your spindle! Maybe the problem with the yarn is the old stuff still on there. What little I’ve used my spindles this never happend… Hmmm.

    I’ve worked all weekend. Poo.

Leave a Reply

