Mess of Stuff

This is another of those “I’m tired of remembering all the posts I owe you” posts.  There will be a quick book review,  a weekend report, but I will save the FO report for another day.

Please see Sissy’s blog for the update on Sis’s toenail trauma drama and Gretchen’s not-as-wild ride.  If that’s news to you, then scroll back and read, or go straight to Sis’s blog, because that’s the bulk of my weekend. 

Oh, let’s just march through my weekend now.   Saturday started out marvelously, with a fun package (see the previous post), but before I could get photos, Sissy and I had to rush across town on a very crazy traffic day.  The rest of the day was spent tending to my groggy big gal.

Sunday, each dog got a couple of pills and we crossed our fingers.  We had an okay ride, but Gretchen has insisted upon riding on the center console, so there’s no knitting for me, because I usually have one end or the other of hers in my lap, and one hand holding her in place, just in case.

We had a lovely family dinner and a great afternoon looking out across the lush, green fields.  Since the trees weren’t “in leaves” yet, we had a clear view to the river.  No, my camera phone didn’t do justice, but I did try. 

The ride home was fine, mostly because Gretchen was nearly unconscious.  And THAT is how I spent my weekend.

I finished American Gods on my ride home from the beach.   I don’t know when I’ve been so captivated by a book, unless it was Anansi Boys by the same author earlier this year.   It makes me wonder all the more what kinds of books I really like, because this was gritty and dark, but it did have a happy ending of sorts, so I guess that much still holds true for me.  I’ve always loved anything related to mythology, so that’s what sucked me into American Gods so hard.  Almost every culture’s god(s) appeared in the book somewhere, and it was great fun to see how author Neil Gaiman took the histories of said gods and transposed them into US residents. 

Also left over from the beach trip are the goodies I wandered out of Knitting Addiction with on my sole quick trip in there.  They’ve moved, and the new shop is incredible!

Anyway, I couldn’t resist this Cherry Tree Hill sock yarn.  (No, I don’t know the colorway.)

Or these Soak labels.

Or this Spud and Chloe pattern, Tea Party Cardi.   No, I didn’t buy yarn to make it yet…

So, how was your weekend?

11 comments on “Mess of Stuff

  1. gaylen says:

    Very nice indeed. Well – except for the car drama. Are you ready to try a wee carrier yet? The Princess might be willing to mail you Sheila’s old one. g

  2. Amy says:

    Soak has labels now? I’ll have to remember that.

  3. Robin says:

    Love the bunny ears!

  4. Sue says:

    Is Sis leaving her bandage alone? Bentley used to, but Morgan and Samba can’t wit to start removing them. That’s why they get to wear their plastic bonnets so often.

    The yarn is a very pretty color, whatever it is.

    This weekend was stay at home and play with dogs time.

  5. Marjie says:

    The Easter Bunny sunglasses on Gretchen are just too much. Glad you had sunshine and great weather! You know how my weekend was – sunny and full of food. No sewing, but lots of kids!

  6. Susan says:

    I bought that same pattern while at Knitting Addiction!!! I got the Spud and Chloe yarn that it calls for in a Turquoise.

  7. Anita says:

    I’d rather read about your weekend… mine wasn’t fun at all.

    Love the yarn, pretty!

  8. Mary says:

    Cute pattern. Haven’t looked at their patterns yet–haven’t been near a yarn store in ages. Maybe I need to do that to get my knitting mojo back. Or maybe I should just pay my taxes and stay away from yarn stores…

  9. AllyB says:

    Hahaha! Those glasses are awesome. Love the color of the yarn, I wouldn’t have been able to resist it either.

  10. Nichole says:

    Correct me if I’m wrong, but that looks like the Cabin Fever colorway from CTH?

    Love the SOAK labels – clever and useful!

    Sorry to hear about drunk Gretchie… hope the soft sided crate does that trick for her.

  11. Louise says:

    Gretchen is a Bunny Star!!!

    You sure are getting your fill of the beach. That’s the only thing I’m missing in PA. This time of year you would surely find me out at Montauk Point or Fire Island. Oh well, the Pretzel stand opened for the season. It’s just down the block. Marion had her first Pennsylvania Pretzel and she loved it!!! You can read while driving in the car? Oh how I wish I could…

    Thanks for sharing, Chan:)

Leave a Reply

