Blue…

Gretchen stood in on Saturday, as Sissy was sleeping off the nitrous...

… Ridge.  … Lagoon.  I’m so blue that I’m done…

Because of all the blue, I called the project Blue Ridge Lagoon Scarf

Pattern:  Silk Shimmer Scarf, by Leanna Witt, who also happens to be part of Blue Ridge Yarns and Misty Mountain Farm.   The pattern is free with the purchase of Silk Shimmer.  I really, REALLY enjoyed this pattern.  It caused some pooling, but it’s reversible and has just enough texture to make it interesting.

Yarn:  Blue Ridge Yarns Silk Shimmer.   Swoon.   I’m glad I have more of this in my stash, because it’s just incredible.   It’s soft, but it’s not so slippery it’s obnoxious to knit.  I chose this particular colorway because I knew I’d knit most or all of it up at the beach, and the colors sang ocean melodies to me.

Needles:  I used my trusty Crystal Palace bamboo straights in a US #6.  They held onto the silk perfectly.

Hook:  I had to cross my fingers, but the WalMart at the beach did indeed have a Boye size I hook for the border, which I began on the way home, but had to abandon when it became clear that Gretchen just wasn’t going to settle down.

Verdict:  Swoon.  I’d knit this again, but I do also want to see what other patterns have been done with this incredible yarn.  Since this was done as a shop sample for the not-yet-open Dog House Yarns and More, I might get this scarf back one of these days, but I’m not holding my breath.  It’s an incredible yarn, and a sweet little pattern in a great colorway (don’t mind me while I break my arm patting myself on the back), and I don’t suspect it is going to wear itself out as a sample.

Now, I’ve had the delight of watching Dog House Yarns and More (that’s the blog link) grow from a wild-haired idea to a reality, and I’m eager to see it open and share it with each of you.   While we’re awaiting the grand opening, do visit the blog and take a tour of the classroom

I love the Sheep Incognito art on the walls…

What do you think?  She’ll be open very soon, so when shall I meet you there?

21 comments on “Blue…

  1. Marjie says:

    It’s a really pretty color; I can see why it reminded you of the beach. And how nice of you to knit it up for use in the Dog House Yarn shop; I hope they do well.

  2. AlisonH says:

    Oh, I wish! I’m well overdue for some East Coast visiting anyway.

  3. gaylen says:

    Hmmm – lovely scarf. I do love a good reversible scarf pattern. 🙂 g

  4. I wish I could meet you there! Lovely scarf lovely yarn. Bravo.

  5. anniebananie says:

    First, I love the scarf. I love the patterns, the color, everything. It’s simply perfect. Second, I had no idea that she was so close to opening the shop – yippee!!!! Is she going to have an opening day party? Can I come???

  6. Amy says:

    Love the colors in that scarf! So pretty!

  7. Sue says:

    Funny, I was thinking the other day about asking you if the shop ever got going. Now I know.

    Will she have internet sales?

  8. Dawn says:

    Love that art!

    What a great scarf! Fabulous model!!!

  9. Walden says:

    The scarf is beautiful!! I would love an LYS like that one.

  10. Louise says:

    You “shimmer” so lovely, Chan. I LOVE that scarf!!!

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I think you should use it in your beach shadowbox…

  12. Mr Puffy says:

    What a great project idea! It will be much admired and give inspiration to many in its new home. So exciting to hear that the new shop is just about open ~ I know it will be a huge success!

  13. kathy b says:

    Love your scarf. Heading right over to the new site

  14. Anita says:

    Pretty scarf, love the yarn!! I soooooo wish I could go with you to the grand opening for the shop! I’ll have to get you to pick something up for me since I can’t be there. 🙂

  15. Mary says:

    Lovely scarf…charming model, as always.

  16. Barbara says:

    Love the scarf, Chan! And when I went to the Dog House Yarns site, the colors and yarns nearly made me want to take up knitting….haven’t done anything since a pathetic pair of argyle socks when I was in boarding school. (Everyone knitted argyle socks back then.) As I’ve mentioned, I went in another direction and took up needlepoint and cross stitch.
    But I can watch and admire anyway!

  17. AllyB says:

    I love your scarf, the movement of the stitches and the color are superb.

  18. nichole says:

    Beautiful!

    Tell me more about this new online shop!

  19. Dianne says:

    Love the scarf, and the name of the new shop! I wish I were closer to Virginia…

  20. That’s beautiful. I actually like how evenly it pooled! And they’re subtle colours too.

  21. Kathy says:

    Love the model 🙂

    When shall we meet there? Soon…..very very soon….

Leave a Reply

