Spin Love

They say your wheel(s) choose you, or that you just KNOW when you find the right one.  Be still my heart; I’m a gonner.

Cathy inadvertently introduced me to the brand new Kromski Fantasia this morning, and I’m smitten.  It’s the wood hues, the shape… it’s pure lust, based only on appearances.   I have no idea how I’d like changing ratios by changing bobbins.   Talk to me, spinners!!  (Non-spinners, feel free to tell me how pretty she is…)

So, I think we all know what my weekend will look like.   I need to check in with my local Kromski dealer and see if she happens to have one on the way (the website says they begin shipping on the 12th.  From where?).  She also taught me to spin and has patiently watched me try 318 wheels (okay, so maybe not QUITE that many), so she’ll have a good idea of what changing the bobbin to change the ratio (how slow/fast you spin, which impacts the thickness of the yarn, to grossly over-simplify it) will do to my frustration level.

But tonight, I’m knitting another pair of baby booties, right after I do the Wii Fit Plus thing.  Yes, I really do enjoy it!  Sunday, I’m going to make a necklace with some League friends…  I’ve never tried to do more than make stitch markers, and I didn’t enjoy that one bit, so…  I hear our hostess and jewelry maker has a beautiful home, and I know I’ll have good company…

What will your weekend hold?

23 comments on “Spin Love

  1. LOL….um, yes dear, your wheel is a beauty.. right? I’ll tell you more about my weekend after…:-)

  2. gaylen says:

    that is very pretty indeed! Not telling you what my weekend holds because undoubtedly my husband will have other plans!! g

  3. Barbara says:

    Haven’t a clue about spinners, of course, but can comment on houses. I love going for classes and meetings…you see so many fun houses!

  4. Grace says:

    i remember you knitting some fabulous necklaces, so I think you should have a grand time. Like gaylen DH controls the weekend, if I look at him pathetically enough he leaves me alone to knit and he does his thing, but its been so long since I have been really out I may try a trip to the upscale strip mall that holds Panera, Starbucks and Pier One!

  5. AlisonH says:

    That’s a beautiful wheel! Very cool–good luck!

  6. Barbara S. says:

    My weekend got off to a great start this morning with Hubband’s announcement that his overseas meeting has been canceled! Needless to say, we are both overjoyed with this.
    The rest of the weekend will involve the normal stuff and if the weather cooperates some yard work will happen.

  7. Barbara S. says:

    Oh, And I totally hope you enter the raffle and win the rigged heddle loom, since you are totally going to buy a new wheel whenever the right one is found anyway.

  8. Marjie says:

    The wheel has great structural lines, even if I don’t know a damn thing about spinning! I love houses, too (mine makes that obvious). Our weekend promises to be cold and rainy. So, does a weekendlong bath sound out of line?

  9. Mary says:

    Non-spinner remark on wheel: Pretty! I know absolutely nothing about spinning of any kind whether it involve wool or exercise equipment.

    As for the weekend, I must finish up the guest room re-do for the guest arriving Sunday PM: MIL – for ten days. Which means everything leading up to Sunday PM involves a combination of cleaning and grocery shopping. I simply loathe both tasks.

  10. Kathy says:

    Beautiful wheel *drool*. Sounds like this wheel has found a new home :).

    Weekend plans include a trip to the market (unless I decide it’s just too much trouble and send the husband with a list)
    Knitting, spinning on the spindle and apparently (after checking the weather)watching raindrops.

  11. Nichole says:

    Can’t wait to see what you make!!! Have fun!

  12. StarSpry says:

    It’s a very lovely wheel! I hope you’ll be able to try it out soon!!

    My weekend will be busy doing things around the house, but I hope to get some knitting time in there, too 🙂 Have a good weekend!

  13. Cathy says:

    Yes, the enabler checks in too: stop wanting to win it … IT’S MINE! I tell you, mine, my pre-ciousssss… oooh, ok, yes, that did get a little scary, didn’t it?

    I think they ship from Poland …

    Yes, I was smitten too … I can’t remember if I signed up to work before or after they’d procured this lovely work of art… either way, it’ll be fun. You have to be present to win, you know.

  14. km says:

    I’m not sure what to do this weekend. I can hardly think or type with the fancy drugs I’m taking….let alone plan for a weekend. I guess we’ll just clean the house and work on the getting the garden going.

  15. Walden says:

    Lovely wheel . . . someday I will get a wheel of my own. I agree on the Wii Fit Plus, it is fun and it can kick your butt at times.

  16. Louise says:

    Well, I’ve seen some wheels in my time and yes, I’ve been known to do a bit of spinning myself. Oh no, don’t get too excited, Channon. I have absolutely no idea what your kind of spinning wheel is, however, if it makes you happy, that’s all that matters!!!

    Have a lovely weekend. I’m on a crusade to buy a new pair of sneakers. That, my friend, could eat up my entire weekend, spinning!

  17. Amy says:

    I saw that online a few weeks ago, I think, and was immedietly struck by its beauty. She is a looker!

    I’ll be spinning tomorrow, at a re-enactment!

  18. Sandy says:

    So did you try it out yet? 😉 I’m looking at the same wheel….among several others, of course. I want to know what you think of it.

  19. Krystle says:

    I thought you already had a wheel? Not that you can’t have another, you can do whatever you’d like, and that this is gorgeous! I think even if you had no desire to ever knit or spin or touch yarn in your life it would make a nice accent piece to any room. What a great conversation piece too. I can’t wait to see how you like it 🙂

    Have fun with your necklace making. I have a friend from my knitting group who just knit a bracelet by stringing random beads in a similar color onto jewelry wire, and knitting it up… I think she actually had a pattern for it too, but it turned out very nicely!

  20. Anita says:

    I LOURVES that wheel! Well, it sure is pretty, I imagine it spins nice just like all other Kromski’s. Me personally, I wouldn’t mind changing the bobbins for the ratio. I’m not one to change my ratios often. I seem to be perfectly happy to spin on my middle ratio no matter what I’m spinning. I think I’ve even mastered a thicker yarn with the middle ratio. I hope Barbara gets one in soon so you can try it out. Have you talked to her yet?

  21. Bubblesknits says:

    What a gorgeous wheel! Not that I need another one, but….

  22. Dianne says:

    Now THAT is a beautiful wheel. My, oh, my, but it is lovely!

Leave a Reply

