Power & Illusion

I had a very relaxing weekend with almost nothing to show for it up until Sunday.  I did some things that needed to be done around the house, spent time chatting with friends, and amazed myself with how little I managed to accomplish.

Until yesterday afternoon.  The Junior League, or at least our local group, has a neat concept called “cottage meetings.”  Instead of having business meeting after business meeting, once or twice a year, we instead gather in very small groups for these little get-togethers.  The whole idea is to meet a different group of women than those you see regularly and perhaps pick up a new skill, hobby or interest.

I signed up for a jewelry making session.  Now, some of you know I tried to make stitch markers for a swap a few years ago and found the process frustrating and nothing close to fun.  I’m still not entirely sure why I signed up for this particular workshop, but I found myself looking forward to it.

Whitney, the East Coast sister of Whitley Designs, was our instructor.  I knew from speaking with friends who went to the same workshop last year that Whitney was patient and adept at sharing her talents.

Still, I was taken aback when she suggested that I make earrings AND a necklace.  I was supposed to bring a charm or little trinket to integrate into my jewelry, and I had somethings in mind, but being me, I went to look for them when I should have been walking out the door, and they weren’t in my jewelry spot.  Huh.  They weren’t the other place I thought they might be either, so I headed out empty-handed.

Whitney helped me select the earring shape first, and then, I setlled on the labradorite stone.  I must confess that I was in no small part inspired by Whitney’s delightful labs, the fact that the other woman in attendance also had a lab, and the memories of the labrador from my youth.  I took a moment to pat myself on the back this morning when I learned that 

…it is a power stone, allowing you to see through illusions and determine the actual form of your dreams and goals. It is excellent for strengthening intuitions.

Use labradorite to:

I love to read about the meanings of flowers, gemstones, etc., although I don’t actually use them in meditation or anything.

The girls thought they were kissing stones.   The center stone on the necklace is abalone, I think…  THIS site says abalone has some sort of helpful properties for spinal degenerative disease.  Nice thought!

How was your weekend?  No, I didn’t get to go see the wheel.  It seems they were shipped from the manufacturer last week, so there’s customs to deal with before it can start trying to find me.

24 comments on “Power & Illusion

  1. gaylen says:

    Love, love the jewelry and I’m so glad you had fun.

    I did not accomplish much this weekend either. JB is still waffling on floor coverings and how much he wants to cover. Although he did order the carpet I picked based on the original cork we had agreed upon.

    We went out to breaky at about 12:45 on Saturday, then spent hours looking at flooring. I working on socks and spent hours working on skirt – only to still have it not be finished; it’s too big and I have nothing to wear with it!!

    Can you tell I’m frustrated? Oh and Beau lost a battle with a snarly dog who was off leash at the City park. Beau was on a leash and for once he didn’t start it!! g

  2. Grace says:

    YOur jewelry is absolutely beautiful I love them equally although I am partial to earrings right now, I have to look into abalone since my back is always a mess, wow, now you can add jewelry maker to your long list of talents.

  3. I love that you had fun, even though you weren’t so sure you would! Nice work, too. But seriously, what is that sweater you’re wearing? Do tell! I’ll try to blog my weekend today…if work and laziness don’t get to me first.

  4. Kathy says:

    I would like to know, did you make your sweater? It’s really cute. Great necklace too and since you made it, it’s unique, a one-of-a-kind!

  5. Mr Puffy says:

    You have a *talent* for jewelry!!! Lovely pieces ~ may they bring you much pleasure and good health 🙂

    Love that picture. Your girls are giving up the love – big time!!!

  6. km says:

    Wow…the jewelry. That had to be a fun class. It’s so great to be truly inspired and then to have an instructor that can help you make your new vision a reality. So fun…and I’m glad you had a positive experience with a new craft to take away the memory of the stitch markers.

  7. Blond Duck says:

    It sounds like fun! I had jewelry making parties for b-days when I was young. I always loved knowing the meaning behind gemstones.

  8. Barbara says:

    What a fun class! I have no idea what goes on at our cottage meetings….our actives have them too; haven’t been to one in years.
    But our League used to have classes like Santa-making (they got a talented member to teach), fall wreath classes (they got a florist to lead), things like that. They don’t do it anymore. I have found craft type classes don’t draw a lot of women in Florida. Too many thing to do outside, I guess.
    I have a lot of black coral I have collected and an artist told me once if you soak it, it becomes pliable and you can make jewelry with it. She had several lovely pieces. Could never get anyone interested.

  9. AlisonH says:

    It’s a gateway gem…

  10. AllyB says:

    That’s beautiful jewelry Chan. When I saw the photo of the dogs kissing you on the mouth all I could think of was Lucy from Peanuts shouting “ick dog germs!” hahaha

  11. Dawn says:

    What fun! They turned out fabulous…before I read I thought you’d bought them somewhere! Love the kissy pic! Such sweet girls!

  12. Sue says:

    Look at all that tongue action! The girls are obviously showing their approval of your jewelry making skills.

  13. Marjie says:

    Sometimes we need lots of “down time” on the weekends, so we can go on with the real world. Glad you had fun in the jewelry making despite your reservations!

  14. anniebananie says:

    It’s stunning!!!!! Now I know what I want from you for Christmas! 🙂

  15. Dianne says:

    You are so talented! The jewelry is fabulous. Love that shot of you and the girls.

  16. StarSpry says:

    Beautiful jewelry! What a fun thing to do. I love the last picture of you and the girls 🙂

    I actually got a lot accomplished this weekend…which was great since I was too busy last weekend to get anything done 🙂

  17. Kathy says:

    Love the jewelry. Now you have one more habit…er….craft. 🙂

    You already know how I spent my weekend :(.

  18. kathy b says:

    Oh what a great image of you and the girls. I’ll have to see if Cricket likes to like stones. Did you make that sweater???? Gorgeous on you

  19. Anita says:

    Beautiful jewelry that you created!! I’m impressed. And great photo of you & the girls! BTW… your hair looks really good, haven’t seen it in a while. 🙂

  20. Walden says:

    Your jewelry time seems well spent as they are beautiful. I can’t wear earrings so I especially like the necklace. 🙂

  21. Mary says:

    Great job on the jewelry. Those earrings are just the right size. And look how nicely the girls rewarded you for your effort!

    Weekend was a blur–grocery/etc shopping;finished two more books; cleaning, cleaning and more cleaning and the place still looks as crummy as ever, though MIL was impressed with the newly refurbished guest room.

  22. Catgirl says:

    lovely job! I have a great book for looking up stones – let me know if you need it (or it’s name)…

  23. Nichole says:

    What a SWEET photo! 🙂

    I still adore the jewelry you made!

  24. Bubblesknits says:

    You did a fabulous job on the jewelry! 🙂 Love the kissy kissy pic. lol

Leave a Reply

