Whiskers on Doggies

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things
 

 

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad

What do you do when you’re melancholy?  I’m a little sad for a lot of reasons.  A friend’s mom died and I can’t get there to pay my respects… Okay, let’s be honest.  The guilt from not making time to go just say hello to a delightful woman I knew couldn’t live forever is eating at me.  There are a few other things going on too, but those aren’t my stories to tell… 
I’d been saving this for another day, but I think I need it today.  I love my silly Sissygirl.  That’s the kind of medicine I need right now, but I can’t have another dose “live” until after wrok.

MUST.KISS.MOMMY!!!

You don’t get to see enough photos of Gretchen in her usual state, which is ridiculously happy and affectionate.   THAT makes everything better.  (I sacrifice my dignity and pride so you can see the REAL Gretchen Greer…)

I wish each of you such dependable sources of joy in your daily life, and I thank my lucky stars that we live in an age where I can just pull up photos of my sweet girls to make me smile when we can’t be in the same place at the same time.

I’m thinking I could do a line of note cards with these girls.  I am going to do some for personal use with the pawprint in the sand, but it just struck me that Nurse Lickit would make a darling get well card too, and my current Facebook profile photo would be a fun card too…

Thoughts?  I do have formal note cards for proper correspondence, and I know not everyone appreciates my dogs as much as I do…

Anyway, this is just a friendly reminder that none of us are promised tomorrow.  I know I say “Love you!” so often the Knight rolls his eyes (really!), but I also have friends I don’t see often enough, and those note cards?  I need to pull them out and just let the friends’ moms through the ages know that they made a difference in my life before it is too late.

20 comments on “Whiskers on Doggies

  1. Walden says:

    Understandable. I think the note cards are a lovely idea. A picture of the girls would certainly cheer anyone up. I am sorry you are feeling down.

  2. Barbara says:

    Nurse Lickit would make an adorable get well card, Chan!
    My daughter tells me when she feels low, her cat can cheer her considerably right away. I think dogs do a better job because when you walk in the house, there they are, licking and wagging tails! But she just does not have the time to care for a dog so the cat will do. (As I’ve said, that cat is nasty, too…but not to her.)

    I’m getting to the age where lots of my older friends have health problems. And I lost my best friend 8 years ago. Not a day goes by that I don’t think of her. Saying I love you is exactly right.

  3. km says:

    My princess gives me a hug EVERY time she sees me wince in pain these days. I have 3 totally dependable sources of joy in my life…ok 5 when you add the hubby and the cat (he’s been sleeping with me). But somedays hubbys can be irritating in ways that kiddos aren’t. I will forever treasure the photo of my mom with my 7 (then 4) sitting on her lap accepting my father’s flag at the service. Sometimes holding a wiggling cuddly thing erases all the pain and doubt and replaces it with joy. I’m so glad you have 2!

  4. Barbara S. says:

    I think it is a great idea! People that know you know how much your girls mean to you, you would be sharing your favorite “things” with someone you care about! Seeing their pictures on my fridge makes me smile every time I see it, ad it makes me think of you! So, GO FOR IT!!!!
    (Hubband rolls his eyes at me too, for the same reason!)

  5. Nurse Lickit made me smile and feel better. I think a card with her on it would be delightful. It could say simply “Heal!”

  6. gaylen says:

    I love your dogs and their photos. I think a line of cards is a great idea. I’d be happy to share some crappy jowly photos with you – I swear you’ll love the rock star!

    I’m sorry you are feeling meloncolly (sp?) today. That’s never fun. However – guilt gets you nowhere. So shake it off and find time to do what’s important to you. Not everyone else. That’s what matters in the end. g

  7. Cards would be good. Not everyone loves your dogs as you do, but lots and lots of folks love animal pics. The good new is, altho it is only the start of the day here, you are 3 hours closer to going to home there!

  8. AlisonH says:

    I think that first picture would make marvelous get-well cards. Wishing I could give you a hug…

  9. Susan says:

    I think both cards would be great!!! Why can’t they be formal. Folks that don’t appreciate dogs, just don’t appreciate real joy!! When I am down, no one cheers me up like the “puppers”!!!

  10. Grace says:

    i love the idea of note cards and you have some charming shots for them

    Your song has been going through my head for days, I have found myself singing or humming it at the strangest times, I am beginning to wish I had a Sissy or Gretchen for that constant source of joy, its something sadly missing in my life. But in the apartment that is impossible.

  11. Marjie says:

    Your cards would be fun, and your Nurse Lickit card would be adorable for get-well! Keep a screen saver of the girls running on your computer to make you happy, and, jeez, even play with the cranky dog who often occupies the office.

    But, as G said, count what’s good in your life, and don’t feel melancholy because you can’t get somewhere, even if you’d like to. You don’t owe the world to everyone, just to your beloved Knight and the pretty fur-girls!

  12. StarSpry says:

    I’m very sorry about your friend’s mother.

    I think note cards are a wonderful idea! I love the photos in today’s and they would look great on note cards.

    Enjoy your evening with the Knight and your fur-girls! I hope tomorrow is a better day 🙂

  13. Bridget says:

    Sometimes there are just times when a favorite thing is the ONLY thing that helps.

    Nurse Lickit is highly amusing, and certainly much better than Nurse Ratchet!

    Take care. I for one am glad you are here.

  14. Catgirl says:

    I think the cards is a wonderful idea – I’d buy ’em and I bet some of your doggie friends would have some images they’d share for you to use as well… do I smell a new cottage industry?

    And me too – I’m glad you’re here!

    Love, Cat (doggie mamma)

    (oh, and don’t ask who Max is or why he needs to live with us, ok?)

  15. Nichole says:

    So sorry for your loss… hugs!

    You are right … the girls would make great greeting cards! It is wonderful to be able to pull up photos when we need a smile or nudge…

  16. Anita says:

    Nurse Sissy would make the PERFECT get well card! You have so many great photos of the girls that would make wonderful cards. Must include a tutu photo. SNOL

    I always appreciate photos of Sissy & Gretchie, they always make me smile too. 🙂

  17. Bubblesknits says:

    I’m so sorry you’re feeling down. ((hugs)) Tell the girls to give you extra kisses for me.

    Sorry to hear about your friend’s mom. And I definitely think Nurse Licky would make a great get well card. 🙂

  18. Sandy says:

    I’m sorry to hear that you’re having a “blue” day. Sometimes they are a necessary bit of life, to remind us to cherish all that we have. Sending lots of hugs your way!

  19. Kathy says:

    Mr. Bettis sends lots of BIG kisses.
    Nurse Sissy would make an adorable note card.

  20. Amanda says:

    Oh, my dear friend – I’m sorry that you’re having some glum moments. When it happens to me, I have learned over the last few years that you just have to let yourself feel the sadness, but also be okay with putting that sadness aside and enjoy the many good things that are going on in life, too. There are always both going on.

    If those fur girls were on cards, I would LOVE them! How can you not smile when you see those girls!?

Leave a Reply

