Clean Slate

For a change, I’m enjoying the rain today.  It seems to have washed my cares away.  Thank you for your kind words and support yesterday.

My little valley yesterday seems to have put a lot of things into perspective for me.   For instance, I’m driving the Knight’s personal vehicle today – a full-sized pickup – and I’m wiping all the full-sized vehicles off of my shopping list.  (Yeah, I’m still kinda’ looking, but in a very relaxed fashion.)  Here’s why:

  • Gretchen can’t load herself into a full-sized vehicle.  Not a huge, hairy deal, but she is a terrier and likes to leap and be independent, so…

A self-loading kinda' dog

  • I was immediately behind a Mini-Cooper this morning, and I swear the thing would fit in the bed of the truck.  Since I used to work wrecks as a firefighter/medic, this does indeed give me pause.
  • Parking spaces are getting smaller – aren’t they? 
  • Gas prices and just the whole green thing.  Why drive a gas hog if it isn’t absolutely necessary?
  • Gretchen aside, even with running boards, I still feel I’m throwing myself into the cab.  I’m not getting any younger either, so do I REALLY want to do that every single day?
  • There is practically a fleet of trucks at my disposal.  I can (obviously) drive ours whenever I want, and if ever I don’t have a truck to drive, I have a nephew and friends with trucks who will willingly enough help a girl out.

Whew!  A whole range of vehicles, including what I thought was my front-runner, off the list.

Changing the subject…

The laptop, pre-milk bath

I need a new laptop.  It seems that while my poor old thang lived through the milk bath, the long-ish term effects are playing out now.  It overheats almost daily.  It isn’t shutting itself down in a hot panic anymore only because I’m aware of the problem, and when I smell that hot plastic smell, I give myself and the laptop a time-out.

I am no techie.   It’s a Toshiba, we (meaning Tech-guy and the Knight) added more memory, but that’s all I know.   The Knight is encouraging me to pick what I want, but see…  I don’t know what I want. 

Can you help a girl out?  It does need to be fairly light, so that when/if I fly again, I can take it along without stressing my back.  However, I don’t think I want tiny either, because I do type a whole lot, and while I have little fingers, I like a full-sized keyboard.

Clearly, I need storage.  I do use Flickr AND a thumb drive for permanent photo storage, but still, I clog up a lot of space with photos.  Beyond that, I have no idea at all what I want or need.

The only other detail I can share is that my current laptop screen is roughly 14″ on the diagonal for the actual viewing area.

(And since I know you’ll ask, the collage was made at Mosaic Maker.)

Thanks in advance, and use small, non-technical terms as much as possible.  If I figure out what I want, I’ll then email you to ask for techie specs so I don’t sound like the very ignorant non-techie that I really am.

19 comments on “Clean Slate

  1. Sue says:

    Since I got my Mac three years ago, I can’t imagine ever buying anything else. I do have an ancient PC that I need for a couple programs that aren’t Mac compatible and when I use it I can’t believe how difficult everything is. The Mac is so intuitive.

    As for the technical stuff, I just call my Mac Genius at the shop and he explains in easy to understand terms.

    Glad you’re feeling sunnier today.

  2. km says:

    A Mac! I only ever had a Mac until we were married. Then M’s company got rid of the old desktops by asking their employees to take them home when the new systems came in. There was no way to get a new Mac when a FREE computer came home every 2-3 years. I’ve had my laptop fro a year now and I LOVE it. I have the 13″ MacBook Pro. I didn’t want bigger, because we have a desktop and I really wanted this to fit in my knitting bag. It does. I’ve taken it lots of places.

    http://www.apple.com/mac/whichmacbook/compare.html

  3. Walden says:

    I love a good rain. Being originally from Washington State, nothing beats a good rain.

    Sorry, no help on the laptop. I have to get a new computer soon as mine is getting old and the boy will be the one who chooses. He knows what I need to accomplish and he knows how to speak electronic.

  4. Barbara S. says:

    Well, I could ask the computer expert at my house. He tends toward Dell, but did encourage DTY to get a Mac. (Of course that is what her school supports and now she loves it. They tend to be loved by math geeks.)
    I’ll tell you again, now that you aren’t looking at something huge, look at a Forester or some other Subaru.

  5. gaylen says:

    Glad you have a sunnier disposition today. Me too – wonder if it’s the raining because it’s coming down in buckets around here.

    Love the photos of the girls – some great new card options there.

    As for the computer – no help from this end. I just use it. I think we are looking at apple next – JB is fixated on the new iPad (but KAM thinks it sounds like a fem. product). g

  6. Marjie says:

    Frankly, I’ve shipped 7 kids off to college, each with a new laptop as a high school grad present. And my choice each and every time has been “What’s on sale at Best Buy/Circuit City/Staples?” As long as it has a wireless card and USB ports – and they now all do – it will work out fine. Of course, Apple devotees are almost lunatic in their devotion, no insult intended, but they cost more, too, and I wonder if they last long enough not to infuriate me over the price differential.

    As for the car, you need a big sedan with big doors so you can get in easily, and it’s low enough for your pups to just hop right in. Front wheel drive is good when you get snow, but you do have 4WD transportation (and presumably chauffering volunteers if desired) available, too. I don’t fret over the cost of gas, because I have to keep myself feeling humanoid after getting in and out of the car. We have the same back issues, after all! I feel your pain, to borrow an overused line. Yes, parking spaces are smaller. I don’t hesitate to take up 2 if that’s what I need. When we had the “Jolly Wagon” (a 15 passenger Ford Van, whose door post bore the warning, “Not equipped with the Ford ambulance package”), I sometimes took up 4 spaces. But then again, I was hauling around 11 people, which would require 4 regular cars, right?

    And you sound more cheerful today. Maybe driving that big ol’ truck is cheering you up!

  7. StarSpry says:

    I’m glad things are better today! I always love it when it rains…of course, I’d rather be at home knitting than at work when it does rain 🙂

    Sounds like driving the big truck for a day has been very helpful in your new vehicle decision-making! Good luck narrowing it down.

    As for the computer, I also vote for a Mac! We have a Mac at home and I use a PC at work and I love the Mac so much more!! It is more expensive, so I know that’s always a deciding factor as well. I hope you get some useful tips to help you out 🙂

  8. Sandy says:

    I’m a Mac girl! I do have a Sony laptop, but I’d only recommend it to my worst enemy. Scratch that – not even them. DH has a MacBook and its amazing! And light weight, built in camera, all sorts of extras. He bought Parallels and so can run Windows only programmes if he wants (for worl, mostly). I have a brand new 27″ iMac, but its a desktop version, so not for you. But its great for doing my embroidery digitizing in huge scale!

  9. AlisonH says:

    Top-of-the-line MacBook Air. What I got. You just can’t do better than that.

  10. My comuter God, Brad, says he will build you one and drop ship it to you! And, I quote….
    “2 year warranty and 1 year accidental coverage usually does the trick
    plus we can do remote assistance on it.”

  11. Nichole says:

    I love my Dell! I got the Inspiron 15.6″ at Staples for a steal… it has a nice wide screen so if you choose to watch movies from it, that’s kinda cool. Came with 4GB installed memory and 500GB harddrive. Someone got me a small portable USB drive that I keep in the case with it that will serve as extra storage for photos. I don’t NEED it yet by any means, but it’ll be nice to have!

  12. Barbara says:

    Re cars: I drive a Jeep right now. Really, really need an SUV. Will be getting a new car in November and will be getting a Ford SUV (because I’m mad the others took a bailout). Haven’t looked yet… my son told me the Escape was nice. Also saw a nice Lincoln SUV that is good on gas, but I think it will be too much $$$.

    Re: computers; I have a Dell desk top and a Dell laptop (for emergencies and when my granddaughter visits…although she mostly uses her iPhone now). Both are really old and my computer guru is advising me to get another PC. The last time I talked to her, she told me to get a Dell 8100 xps I5 or I7 intel. (I have an xps 410 right now) I deal directly with Dell to build what I want. They are unbelieveably easy on the phone. Lately, I usually ask my guru EXACTLY what to ask for and then I can build it right online. It’s a snap as long as you know what you need.

    I also want a really small lightweight laptop to have when I travel to replace my old, heavier one. She has ideas about that as well.

    My daughter, who I think I told you has her own business in NYC, loves her Mac and most people who have them do.
    But I love Dell….never have had trouble with their products. Ever.

  13. Blond Duck says:

    Mac Book. You’ll love it.

  14. Julie says:

    My favorite part about your post was your sentence “when/if I fly again…” I personally do not have a laptop, but have never owned a computer other than a Mac. Very pleased, but there are many options out there.

  15. Mary says:

    Yes, parking spaces are getting smaller.

    Yes, getting in and out of our F250 crew cab at my age is roughly as difficult as climbing Mt Everest in flip flops (my knees are on the same level as the running board; if someone filmed me getting in, it would rise to the top of YouTubes Funniest and/or Most Disgusting video). And, finally…

    Yes, narrowing down a choice in laptops is enough to cause a brain attack.

    I have a Toshiba Portege (TP) with a 12″ screen, fairly lightweight. I have had it at least 4-5 years and it gets significant use (my work laptop). I fly about 25k a year for work and TP goes every time in my trusty backpack. It was pricey then (over $2k) and I think TP still starts around $1,200 and up, but it is a workhorse with capability/space for anything. Keyboard is not annoyingly small, but I also have a regular keyboard I attach to it via a USB connection when I work at home. So that is my two cents on the subject of laptops.

    And, yes, I am very glad you are feeling a bit better today. Love seeing the fur girls, too.

  16. Anita says:

    Love the collage, sweet!

    I love my Dell! I’ve had it over a year now & have had absolutely no issues with it. I’ve had a Dell desktop at work for 3 years now with no issues. And you can purchase the warranty that you want with it. I got the 3 year & I’m pretty sure I’ll extend that when it expires just because.

    I’ve used Mac’s most of my adult life in my work. While they are awesome computers & have very little virus issues… the downfall is that they just aren’t compatable with a lot of PC based products. And much of the internet is PC based. I had this issue over & over when I worked on a daily basis with Macs. Just my opinion.

  17. Dianne says:

    I’m glad you are feeling better today!

    When I got my first laptop last year (yes, I was late to the laptop party!), a friend’s husband who is an IT guy for a big company highly recommended Dell. I’ve used Dell desktops at work for years, and have never had any problems. Same thing with the laptop…no problems! Sorry, but I have no idea about its innards. It was a good price at Walmart, and I just grabbed it. I have tons of pictures on it, and some games, and it’s still going strong (and fast)! Good luck in your search!

  18. Bubblesknits says:

    I think you know I’m a Mac girl. 😉 Seriously, I love most all of Apple’s products. We have our iPhone’s and Macbooks. I’ve always been impressed with the service and support. Mine has lasted for several years and only had one minor issue, which was fixed within a 24 hour period. I still keep my old windows lap top for the rare occasion that I need it, but it’s a seldom occurrence. More and more programs are Mac compatible because it’s such a popular platform now. 🙂

  19. Monica says:

    I am a Mac girl… but they can be nearly twice the price and quite the learning curve if you’ve only ever used a PC.

    Dell has shitty customer service, but HP is pretty good. I use an HP desktop running Windows7 at work and haven’t had any problems with it.

    Not sure about weight, but you probably want to stick with 13″ – 15″ laptops to keep a manageable weight.

Leave a Reply

