Flower Power!

Hang onto your hat.  Happy Dogs on Thursday, little friday, Thankful Thursday and Earth Day!  Sis and Gretchen have already stuck up a post on their blog, although Sis was a little confused about the name of Earth Day…

Everything happens for a reason.  I guess I couldn’t get these photos off of my photo card last week because I was supposed to save them for today, Earth Day.  I mean, what better reason to dress my dogs up as flowers, right?! 

A special thanks to Barbara and her pack for encouraging   indulging  me in the silliness that we can now all enjoy.

You can really see the glitter on this photo.  And just so you know, I do have a basket filled with all of the girls’ costumes and headwear.  These two dogs are so much fun!

For the thankful part of the post, here’s one of the many blooming dogwoods on our property.   If you’re local, the Dogwood Parade is this Saturday.  I rarely get to any of the festivities, but the Dogwood Festival is near and dear to my heart, just because a childhood friend has been the driving force behind it since she was the Dogwood Festival Queen a few years ago.

I love the simple elegance of the dogwood – of most white flowers, actually.  It does happen to be the state flower and tree, and it is North Carolina’s state flower as well. 

Happy little friday!  Anything fun going on around you?

22 comments on “Flower Power!

  1. Krystle says:

    We have a dogwood Festival here too! G (the little’s Mom) coordinates the kids booths and activities, I used to help her out a lot with it. It’s coming up Mother’s day weekend, and I don’t miss the helping and coordinating portion, but I will try to attend the fun still! 🙂

    Love the girls flower power too! So adorable!!

  2. Dianne says:

    Your girls are too freakin’ cute in the flower headbands!!! The dogwood is one of my favorite trees, too. I like them best when they are growing wild in the woods – kind of sparse and scattered, reaching for the sun through the bigger trees. Know what I mean? They just seem like survivors. I should try to be more like a dogwood…

  3. gaylen says:

    I love that your girls will wear clothes and hats. And that you have a basket you keep them all in! Fabulous.

    To answer your question on Rav – no still no meds.

    To answer the rest of the questions – I love dogwoods. but I’m allergic, so as pretty as they are – I wouldn’t be getting very close.

    No plans upcoming – althought I did get something for your for Earth Day – now where did I put it? g

  4. Dawn says:

    LOL, they look so adorable! Love the pics of the flower girls!:)

  5. StarSpry says:

    The girls look so adorable as flowers 🙂 The dogwoods are beautiful!

  6. km says:

    I wish I could think of something special to do today. 4 is starting her 4yo shots. 8 has his last day of STAR testing (state testing). 7 and I have a hour or so home alone together…I should pull out some paint or something.

    I love your flowers. I love that you have a dress up bin for the girls. And I love Dogwood. I’m going to have to match my dream visits to states with what’s in bloom.

  7. Marjie says:

    Who needs an excuse to dress up those dogs, since they’re so cooperative? Come on, really!

    I love your dogwoods. Mine won’t bloom for at least a month. At least I get flowering trees for a long time that way.

    I’m going to work on my green lace “test dress” this weekend. I might go to the fabric store. I might just sit around and be lazy. And, oh, yes, book sale.

  8. Sue says:

    The girls look wonderful, a very cheery bouquet.

    I’ve always loved Dogwoods, too. They’re so delicate looking.

    I need to figure out somewhere to keep my dog’s sweaters, coats, hats, specialty collars, etc. I think they almost need their own closet.

  9. AlisonH says:

    Happy Earth Day! And Dog-woods. How much more perfect could it be.

  10. Nichole says:

    What adorable photos of the girls….. and yes, everything happens for a reason! Those are GREAT Earth Day pics!

    Pretty dogwoods too!

  11. Pretty flowers,or is that flower ggirls? and I like dogwoods, too! This weekend is jam packed. Saturday I will attend the Scottish Games here in town, and Sunday sees me off to Mare Island with Donna for a charity tea and art event. Happily this weekend is also supposed to offer a break from the rain and cool temps, too. 🙂

  12. Grace says:

    The dogwoods here have come and gone already our super warm temperatures 2 weeks ago killed all the flowering trees to quickly.

    Nothing exciting going on around here, a wake tomorrow night, lunch out with the inlaws on saturday and I hope thats it for this weekend!!! Its all cutting into my knitting time

  13. Alicia says:

    Love it! OMG adorable! Happy Earth Day ladies!

  14. Barbara S. says:

    I have started my wedding cooking, does that count?

  15. Lacey says:

    your girls are so cute!

  16. Walden says:

    Love the flower headbands!!

  17. Bubblesknits says:

    Love the girl’s costumes for Earth Day! 🙂 The kitties are still recovering from vet visits and the relocation…I’m afraid if I dressed them up they might run away. LOL

  18. Kathy says:

    Sarah and I are ROTFLOL……..this is too funny. Those girls in costume crack me up……..:)

  19. Mary says:

    Flower Power to the Fur Girls! Captivating, as always. Too bad I don’t look so good when I wear a flowered headband (not).

    My puppies are headed to their “camp” (don’t tell them it is a kennel) today for the weekend. We are headed up to PA to camp, too, but not a kennel. And, of course, since we are camping, it is destined to rain–all weekend. Anybody needing drought relief, just give us a call. I guarantee we can make it rain if camping is involved. Hope you have a good weekend!

  20. Katherine says:

    Oh the girls are so precious dressed up as flowers!

  21. I love those dogs in their flower gear! And, I love those dogwoods more than you can imagine…

  22. Anita says:

    What beautiful flowers you have there! SNOL
    Sissy & Gretchie look so dang cute with those on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

