Kitchen Bookshelf

Okay, so I have SHELVES.  I have the baker’s rack with the books I reach for regularly, that cabinet over the ‘fridge with some I rarey use but don’t want to part with, and then a basket full of the pretties that inspire me…

Barbara at Moveable Feasts is having a giveaway you shouldn’t miss.  Whether you cook or just admire a lovely book of any sort, you really do need your own copy of Savor the Moment, the award-winning Junior League cookbook from Barbara’s own JL of Boca Raton, Florida.

Photo from Moveable Feasts

When we were pursuing a cookbook in our League, Savor… is one of the ones we carried around to use as an example of what we hoped to produce. 

I love Junior League cookbooks.  I like to read cookbooks, and every League cookbook I’ve had in my paws – and I think I’ve at least seen more than half ever in print – is chocked full of tidbits of trivia that made for fun reading, be it about the area, tips for entertaining, or helpful hints in the kitchen.

So, my list is going to be a tribute to the Junior League cookbooks I can’t live without…

  1. Start Your Ovens!  This is the one I give over and over.  It’s the official cookbook of the Bristol Motor Speedway.  I can’t do without those cheese straws.
  2. What Can I Bring?  Full disclosure, my sister was a member of the Junior League of Northern VA, but I’d love this book anyway. 
  3. Notably Nashville is another cookbook I can’t help giving as a gift.   The black-eyed pea dip is a standby of mine.
  4. A Thyme to Entertain is the cookbook most like what we had envisioned.  If you’ve ever been to Annapolis, you’ll love the ties to local events, and if you haven’t you’ll be planning a trip before you finish flipping through the book!
  5. Savor the Moment.  See above.  It’s a stellar cookbook.
  6. Very Virginia is but one of Hampton Road’s cookbooks, but I love that the recipes feature Virginia’s own crops!
  7. Oh My Stars! is another local-ish book, from the Roanoke League.  If you can’t get to the Greenbrier or the Homestead, you can at least try out their recipes at home, right?

Those are the ones I keep on hand, and I have another dozen or so.   Please note that the links take you the actual League’s store.  Yeah, you might save a dollar or two on Amazon, but that means the League is losing several dollars in profits.  I can assure you that every Junior League uses the funds raised through cookbook sales to better their communities, and every single dollar can – and does – make a difference.

A non-League favorite

What are your favorite cookbooks?  If you have Junior League cookbooks, did I miss your favorites? 

Weekend plans?  Well, mine are mostly League-related, actually.  Our particular group operates on what I call a school year calendar, so while I’ve already transitioned into my postion for the upcoming year, there’s still much to do.  Luckily, it’s going to rain all weekend, so I may as well sit at the computer and email the members I need information from…

I do hope your plans are more exciting and your weather will be better.

15 comments on “Kitchen Bookshelf

  1. Sue says:

    I have a bookcase in my kitchen, too. Shouldn’t the cookbooks be kept where you use them?

    I have cookbooks from the places we’ve visited, Russia, Mexico and Trinidad among others. One book that is near to my heart is the one put out a couple years ago by the Portuguese Water Dog Club called ‘Don’t Turn Your Back, Cooking With Your Portuguese Water Dog’.

  2. gmarie says:

    Hmmm – I think I have a JL cookbook or two. I think I may have even sent you a Seattle one, didn’t I?

    I tend to reach for my WW cook books over and over – love them.

    My weekend includes sewing, shoping (for yet more clothes), laundry, and maybe grocery shopping. Big fun, no? g

  3. Marjie says:

    I keep cookbooks on half of one of my kitchen counters. They’re now overflowing. Sad. I have a cookbook called “The Flavor of (my little town)” which I have laid out on a side table in my dining room because it’s pretty. It also has some history tidbits in it. I try to buy only generalized cookbooks because I know I won’t do the “Let’s cook Asian this week!” thing. I need to get rid of some that I just don’t like, but it’s easier to just ignore the problem.

    And I’m hoping for some sunshine at least tomorrow. Sad that we’ve settled into a pattern of rain only on the weekends.

  4. Nichole says:

    Aren’t cookbooks such fun??!!

  5. AlisonH says:

    Anything by Crescent Dragonwagon. (She says she changed her name in the 60’s as an idealistic 16-year-old, and never got around to changing it back.)

  6. AlisonH says:

    p.s. And name aside, everything I’ve ever made from her cookbooks has been really, and I mean really, good!

  7. Barbara says:

    You’re a doll to plug the giveaway! Thanks!
    I have so many JL cookbooks. I think a couple of my faves are the Palo Alto JL ones, called Private Collection and Soupcon from Chicago JL. Both have two cookbooks..how prolific can you get?
    Of course, the NYC one is fabulous, called New York Entertains. My copies are falling apart. Who knows if they all have new ones by now?

  8. km says:

    Great Cookbook Links. I’ve been meaning to answer your question about the PW cookbook. I think it’s worth buying. Even if for the maple frosting that goes on the scones. I do eat that with a spoon. ;0) I LOVE her recipe for pizza dough. It’s so much easier than I would have thought. In a mixer with a dough hook…and it can be frozen. We liked the calzones, but they were too spicy for the kids…I’ll try them w/o the rotel next time. Her recipe for Migas (breakfast egg dish) was fantastic. We ate this for dinner one night. M loved the peppers and onions. I can’t think of what else I’ve made already…but that’s a lot for me from one cookbook. I think I’d really like the celebrate virginia book. I’d like one from each state like that.

  9. Grace says:

    One cookbook I rely on is a Betty Crocker cookbook I got at my shower 37 years ago, another is Mothers in The Kitchen, a compiled cookbook from La Leche League mothers in the late 70’s. Tom is a huge fan Steve Rachlin;s Barbacue cookbooks, I have Lady & Sons–Paula Deen I do flip through on occasion and The American Country Inn and Bed and Breakfast Cookbook for party ideas. With Magazines and Food Network sometimes its just easier to google, I have an entire folder in my Bookmarks for recipes from blogs, websites, etc.

    Tom is an experiment cook, I prefer tried and true. But He has a knack I will give him his due!! happy weekend HUGS

  10. Cookbooks collect me…:-) I have most in the kitchen, but that is going to change soon, as the spot they’re in is causing them to get dirty and yucky!

  11. Blond Duck says:

    JL cookbooks, the louisana one my MIL gave me and BHG!

  12. kathy b says:

    I Have to get Start your OVens now. Hysterically funny.

  13. Sandy says:

    I collect cookbooks, but haven’t ever encountered a Junior League one. Maybe its the Canadian thing again? I have cookbooks littered all over the house.

    Did you ever get to try the Kromski spinning wheel? I want to hear what you think of it….

  14. Louise says:

    WOW this sounds like a wonderful give-away, Channon. Thank you so much for sharing it with us. I don’t have to tell you how much I LOVE cookbooks. However, there is a special place on my bookshelf just for Junior League Cookbooks. I couldn’t even begin to choose a favorite.

    I would like to someday have a cookbook from every state. I only have 8 states to go!

    Weekend plans? I’m in Idaho!!!

Leave a Reply

