KnitCroBlo #2

An Inspirational Pattern

Blog about a pattern or project which you aspire to. Whether it happens to be because the skills needed are ones which you have not yet acquired, or just because it seems like a huge undertaking of time and dedication, most people feel they still have something to aspire to in their craft. If you don’t feel like you have any left of the mountain of learning yet to climb, say so!

Just see my Ravelry queue and favorites.   No?

Seriously, the pattern I most want to make time for is Julia Mueller’s Cheesehands and/or Cheesehead.  Double knitting AND color work.  I’ve never tried double knitting, but color work is definitely something I need to practice  more.  (Couldn’t find a non-copyrighted photo to share, but here’s a Flickr link…)

photo from Lion Brand

I also want to crochet a pair of socks, just because.   I don’t know that I have the skills to do such, but that’s the whole point of this post, right?! 

Have any of you crocheted socks?  If so, what pattern did you use?  Would you recommend it to a very novice crocheter?  Are the comfortable?

There now.  All caught up for the time being.   I do have other things to share this week, so there will either be some double posting or some really crazy posts that jump all over the place. 

Before I forget again, I do want to invite all of the spinners or anyone interested in spinning to Stony Mountain Fibers’ spin-in on June 13th.

12 comments on “KnitCroBlo #2

  1. Marjie says:

    I can actually crochet, although I’ve not done so in decades (other than a baby blanket or 3). But I never tried socks.

  2. Sue says:

    I don’t crochet. I do knit and there are still things to learn, but there are also things I’ve done in knitting that I don’t plan to ever do again. It’s sort of ‘been there, done that’. For me, it’s my relaxation and should be fun. If it isn’t fun, why am I doing it?

  3. gmarie says:

    I so want to knit a traditional fair isle cardigan with steeks and everything. Scares the beezesus right out of me!! g

  4. gmarie says:

    ps – I can crochet – have never crocheted socks. But it can be done. g

  5. AlisonH says:

    Crocheted socks. Don’t ask me why that made me stop and blink a moment. Curious. Of course it can be done, I just never thought about it.

  6. Grace says:

    my desire is to design a pattern that makes every one take notice, Not sure what it is yet but It must be in me somewhere.

  7. kathy b says:

    SO FUN to peek at your list on Ravelry! YOu make those socks girl. You can do it!

  8. Nichole says:

    Cool socks… those would be a fun challenge! I need to get back to my double knitting project!

  9. Anita says:

    I don’t think crochet socks would be too difficult. With that said I don’t think I could wear them. Crochet is much more bumpy than knit & large stitches make the bottom of my feet sore.

    Sure wish I could make it to the Spin-In! pout

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    ::sniffle:: The spin in sounds like fun. Just another reason I wish I lived closer! 🙂

  11. Barbara says:

    There’s a foodie blog who gives herself a high five award when she accomplishes something she didn’t think she’d ever try. Think that’s what you are doing here in your first paragrahp.
    I don’t have any knitting projects but I do have a cookbook sitting on my counter that has been staring me in the face for weeks. Maybe months. I just don’t know if I am able to make the recipe I want to try, or if I even want to get into a day-long event doing it.
    It’s all relative, right Chan?
    Love those socks! So adorable.

  12. Kathy says:

    A spin in? Oh my gosh. Might have to check this one out.
    Crochet socks: I’ve thought about it but not sure I’d wear crochet socks. I agree with Anita on this one. But it would be interesting to at least try.

Leave a Reply

