Hey! Look!

Happy Dogs on Thursday, little friday, Thankful Thursday and day #4 of Knit & Crochet Blog Week.  WHEW!

Gretchen very sweetly did a dog post for me on their blog this morning.    She did indeed cover what I had in mind, based on photos I took earlier this week.   Sis has had a great time shouting at all the wildlife moving through the woods and yard recently.  It seems EVERYTHING has spring fever!  (And why yes, that is a metal dog bowl at Sis’s feet.  She likes to carry a bowl around, for some strange reason.)

I’m using the wild card topic today, as day #4’s topic would lead me to tell you YET AGAIN that I can’t do stranded knitting to my own satisfaction…

All Tooled Up

Do you have a particular knitting/crochet tool or piece of equipment that you love to use? Maybe it is an old bent pair of needles that used to belong to someone special, or a gorgeous rosewood hand-turned crochet hook that you just love the feel of? Write about what you love it.

Whoa, Nellie!  That’s a loaded question.  I most certainly don’t have tools that belonged to anyone special, although I suspect that some of the crochet hooks Anita has shared with me may have some history to them.  I do have a whole host of gadgets I almost always have on hand.

Stitch markers by Ann

I am blessed to have a host of talented friends who keep me well-stocked in pretty stitch markers.  Even if I’m doing lace, where I prefer THESE markers, I often have one pretty marker at the start of a row, and always use one to mark the beginning of a round on a sock or other knitted in the round project. 

I also have a tape measure in almost every bag.  I like noveltly

Thankful Thursday?  Spinning.  I’m really glad I fell down the spinning rabbit hole.  Last night, I was too worn out to knit.   Luckily, it doesn’t take a tremendous amount of focus to plop down in front of  my wheel and let the fiber flow while my feet do the little bit of work.  It’s very relaxing…

Now shopping for a new wheel… That’s hard work!

15 comments on “Hey! Look!

  1. gmarie says:

    I had no idea you had inspired Anita to spin. I thought it was the other way round.

    I have some of my Grandma’s very fine steel crochet hooks for making fine lace. They are very treasured indeed. As well as the funny cigar tin they came in. g

  2. Mary says:

    I have one of those novelty tape measures…though Scout doesn’t appear to have the one I use. Mine has a car driving down a winding road on one side, while the other side has a stop light with the green light operating as the button that pulls in the tape. A little car is the holder for pulling out the tape. Bought it because DH is a major car enthusiast.

  3. AlisonH says:

    I want to try out that wheel! I’ve only ever seen pictures of those.

  4. Nichole says:

    Stitch markers and tape measures galore here too… love the novely tape measures! It just adds a smile when you look in your knitting bag!

  5. StarSpry says:

    I love all the cool stitch markers that are out there! I tend to try matching my markers to my project 🙂 I also really like project/notions bags!

  6. Marjie says:

    Glad the girls are telling those critters whose territory this is. You wouldn’t want any confusion out there in the Woods. And Thor wants you to get the girls an applesauce cake to celebrate his birthday in style. He’d send one, but it would get smushed or stale.

  7. Sue says:

    Keep up the good work Sissy. You’re the chief barker, now and those big animals will listen to you.

    I have my Mom’s needles, but even better I have her patterns which go back to the forties. I love looking thru them and reading the notes she made on the pages.

    I have a set of Denice interchangeable needles. My Mom always wanted a set and used to show me the adds for them when I was little. She never got them, but I now have a set and I love them. I guess I’m just lazy, but I appreciate not having to get up and go downstairs to get a pair of needles when I need to change sizes.

  8. Janet says:

    I love pretty stitch markers too. I’ve started making my own lately. And I love the tape measures. I’m pretty sure the little dog will be finding it’s way to my house soon. 🙂

  9. Blond Duck says:

    You know such creative people!

  10. I don’t have anything that was handed down, but I love the various stitch markers that have been gifted to me, and I use them often.

  11. Carol says:

    You make so many wonderful things! I love how your little pooch carries the dog bowl around. That is just precious ♥

  12. Kathy says:

    Oops! Don’t fall down that rabbit hole…next think you know, you’ll be the proud owner of an angora rabbit. Trust me, not quite what it’s cracked up to be. Although I’m sure the girls would find it quite entertaining ;).

  13. Anita says:

    Sissy & her bowl…LOL!

    I wish I knew the history on those hooks, that would be a story I’m sure. 🙂 Some of them were quite old.

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    lol Are you starving the girl again? Maybe she’s trying to give you a hint. She may even be hitting up the local wildlife for scraps. SNOL

  15. Barbara says:

    RE Sissy and the bowl.
    The kids had a science teacher once who had a canoe on top of her car, year round, rain, snow or shine. One of the kids asked her why and she said: you never know when you’re going to need a canoe.
    I assume Sissy never knows when food might appear in her bowl. 🙂

Leave a Reply

