Mudders and Locations

Happy Friday!   I’m in a fabulous mood…  Tomorrow is 136th Run for the Roses, aka: the Kentucky Derby.   Never in its history has it been called on account of rain, so let the drops fall!  (Easy for me to say; I won’t be there to get soaked in my glad hat and fancy frock.)

And remember that you heard it here…  Paddy O’Prado to win, place or show (the only way I place a wager).  There’s an old saying in horse racing about betting on the grey on a cloudy day, and this handsome Irishman is a mudder, which is to say that like a good scrappy lad, he doesn’t mind digging deep and slinging some mud. 

He just takes my breath away.    I want to go scratch his nose and feed him carrots.   My sister had a horse that would steal a can of Slice soda; wonder if this Irish boy wants a Guinness?

While we’re not going to a Derby bash per se, we are going to the Grymes Memorial School‘s annual auction.  That’s the big deal for the weekend here.  I’m really looking forward to spending the evening with Ann and her friends and family!

So, Day #5 of Knitcroblo

Location, Location, Location

Where do you like to indulge in your craft? Is your favourite arm chair your little knitting cubby area, or do you prefer to ‘knit in public’? Do you liek to crochet in the great outdoors, perhaps, or knit in the bath, or at the pub?

Sissy's knitting corner... mine is at the far end... 12/08

Like most of these questions, there’s not a simple, single answer to this one.  Mostly, I knit from my corner of the sofa I share with the fur-girls.  However, I also knit at the firehouse, in whatever vehicle we’re in, out on the deck… anywhere.  I tend to crochet at home, because of late, my crochet projects are big and bulky.

Another favorite spot - anywhere at OBX!

I know it doesn’t ask about spinning, but I spin from the Knight’s recliner most of the time.  I also love to spin on the back deck and find the wrought iron chairs just about perfect.

So, where will you be watching the Derby?  (And please feel free to knock me off my high horse and remind me that not everyone waits all year for the Run for the Roses.) 

True to my culturally diverse lifestyle, we’ll head home to catch the end of the almost in our backyard Richmond NASCAR race.  Sunday will truly be a day of rest, and I sincerely hope it doesn’t rain on those of you going to Maryland Sheep & Wool on Sunday.  However, knowing this region as I do, I think that with highs near 90, you’d better anticipate a thunderstorm or three…

9 comments on “Mudders and Locations

  1. gmarie says:

    Okay – that horse is georgeous!! Is he the favorite? will I jinx him if I bet on him? You know my track record . . .

    I knit everywhere – on the bus, at my desk (when I’m at lunch), on the sofa, deck, in all the cars, but not in the bathtub – I’m positive I’d be able to felt it during the knitting process!! g

  2. Marjie says:

    We love the Derby, too. No Derby bash here, although my law school daughter is attending one in Laramie, Wyoming. I had to send her a hat to wear! I love NASCAR, too, but hubby doesn’t, so I skip it.

  3. AlisonH says:

    That reminds me, I need some yarn the color of that horse… (Nah, it’s only the weavers who are warped…)

  4. Nichole says:

    My, he is handsome!! 🙂

    Probably no Derby watching here … Bruins play at 12:30 and then Richmond race at night.

  5. Sue says:

    I wouldn’t miss the Derby either, though this year I haven’t picked a favorite.

    I knit mostly in my corner of the sofa with Morgan and Samba curled up next to me. I also like to knit on the porch and I used to tuck my knitting bag under my arm and knit on breaks at work.

  6. Blond Duck says:

    I KNOW you’ve got hats for the girls….

  7. Kathy says:

    I am hoping to get a chance to buy a hat before tomorrow afternoon. I looked up how to make mint juleps so I need to buy mint and bourbon. I haven’t checked out the horses yet, but if there’s a girl competing, I’m cheering for her! (We girl runners must stick together.)

  8. True confessions…I didn’t even know it was Derby weekend! I’ll be off to a bridal shower tomorrow, and Sunday, hopefully, a day of rest!

  9. Bubblesknits says:

    What a gorgeous horse. 🙂 I love his eyes and that black patch of hair. ::sigh::

Leave a Reply

