Ghost of FO Past

Day #6

Revisit a past F/O

Bring the fortune and life of a past finished project up to the present. Document the current state and use of an object you have knitted or crocheted, whether it is the hat your sister wears to school almost every day, or a pair of socks you wore until they were full of hole. Or maybe that jumper that your did just didn’t like that much…

Remember the crate pad I made Gretchen for her birthday?

I had taken a photo, but for whatever reason, it got lost.  (I think that was the last “I didn’t put the memory card back in the camera” event?)  At any rate, these otherwise darling fur-girls destroyed it this winter, and you’ll just have to take my word for it.  There were broken bits of yarn everywhere.  It surprised me a good bit, because Mugsy loved his snuggle and seemed to know not to scratch and dig in it.  In fact, he was buried with it.

The good boy and his snuggle

I’m rather sure Gretchen’s tiny paws and claws didn’t ruin the snuggle, but I also know that both girls root and dig in their blankies, so for now, we’re sticking with store-bought hand-me downs that the humans have worn out already.  (Or soon, cotton blankies from the human bed that have also been destroyed by the same crazy routine.)  I was disappointed, but dogs will be dogs.  No more crocheted crate pads for these two for a long while!

In other news, Sissy and I are headed out to visit Wondervet again.   I’ll update the girls’ blog (link will appear once I post), but it’s more of the same with Sis’s on-going food allergies and the Dadaw who says “a little bite won’t hurt.”

If bobby pins would work in  her fur, I’d have Sis wear this to the vet’s today!

11 comments on “Ghost of FO Past

  1. Dianne says:

    What to they use to glue bows on babies’ heads? Maybe that would hold Sissy’s cap? LOL Love the photo of Sweet Mugsy and his blankie. He was such a handsome little gentleman.

  2. Marjie says:

    Mugsie’s picture is adorable. They use velcro on the back of bows to hold them in the fuzz of baby girls with no hair, to answer Dianne’s question. Might work for Nurse Sis.

  3. AlisonH says:

    A well-loved blanket it was.

  4. Um, yeah….we buy ubaby quilts from the thrifts stores and Salvation Army shops, etc. for our little darlin’s beds, because at least Sasha is always digging a hole in them….lol $.50 seems like a fair price for someting I know she is going to ruin! Loving Nurse Sissy…I’d to go see that lady…

  5. Sue says:

    My dogs love to nest in their blankets and holes sometimes result. I have to remind myself they are dogs and those are their blankets. We also go to the thrift stores and buy old blankets for them to use in their crates.

    I bet WonderVet would get a big laugh from seeing Sissy dressed as Nurse Lickit.

  6. laceylee says:

    How funny. Angus love fleece blankets. Our old dog (Trooper) used to shred any kind of blanket/pad/cushion we put in his kennel. Angus is to cold nature with not enough fur to rip anything apart. He loves to burry himself and cuddle under covers. Good luck if you make another.

  7. Mary says:

    Love the photo of Mugsy and the blankie. As for Nurse Sis, a little elastic band attached to the hat and worn under the chin ought to do it. The vet’s office would be in tears of laughter to see her wearing that. Hope she gets some relief from the Wondervet.

  8. Bubblesknits says:

    Poor Sissy. That just can’t be fun. 😦 Hope the poor girl stays “cleaned out” for a while this time.

  9. Nichole says:

    What a darling photo of Sis… and of Gretch and Mugs too! 🙂

  10. gMarie says:

    I’m sorry she ruined her snuggy. silly girl – didn’t she know it was made with momma love? g

  11. kathy b says:

    Adorable with the hat on! Oh, blankie distruction ……I know they are SOO SOOO sorry!

Leave a Reply

