Time to Mourn

If I had techno-skills, I’d fix it so The Byrd’s song was playing in the background while you read.  

Fred's yellow roses

There’s a lot of sad stuff going on in my corner of the world.  Sunday was Fred’s birthday, but because the world does keep turning and there is a purpose, both rose bushes in the Boys’ Garden popped into full bloom on Sunday.

Mugsy's red roses

I can’t tell you how much it moved me to see those roses pop open on such a significant day.  It’s as though my fur-boys gave me flowers to cheer me up!

For months, I’ve gone back and forth on whether to mention Morgan Harrington‘s death here.   I try to keep it light and upbeat, and there’s just no positive spin on the tragic disappearance and death of a college student.   However, my heart is aching for UVA’s lacrosse programs today, and for everyone who knew the victim and/or the accused.

Yellow roses for those grieving

I loved playing lacrosse, but alas, I grew up too soon in a community without a youth lacrosse program.  UVA’s lacrosse program has long been dear to me because two of my cousins played, and played remarkably well.  I still have this dream of dual women’s and men’s NCAA national championships in the same year, but I fear the tragedies of yesterday will be too much for these teams and coaches to overcome.  (But please.  Prove me wrong.  Play through your anger and grief.  All of Charlottesville, heck… everyone, everywhere, will think you’re champions just for taking the field again without your teammates.)

20 comments on “Time to Mourn

  1. gmarie says:

    Ack! Death is never easy and the death of a young girl by something other than natural causes is horrible. The death of anyone for that matter. I do hope the team can carry on and make her proud. g

  2. Grace says:

    Lovely roses and a lovely tribute to such an ugly uncalled for death. May she rest in peace.

  3. Barbara says:

    Your roses are amazing and I’m so glad they bloomed and gave you some pleasure.
    Both the Harrington and Love deaths are so horribly sad. My heart goes out to their families. So much can go wrong in this world; we need to make the most of our time here and take pleasure when we can.

  4. Sue says:

    The roses are lovely and their timing couldn’t be better. There is so much sadness all around. My happy dogs keep me from dwelling on it and looking ahead to the next game of fetch or the next party (Thor’s birthday).

  5. Nichole says:

    Aww… hugs all around. The roses your boys “gave” to you are beauteous……….

  6. Toni Gomez says:

    Awh… what a nice post. You always know just what to write and say. 🙂

  7. Marjie says:

    Beautiful roses. Nice tribute to your furry friends who have left us. Thor sends big doggie kisses, in case you don’t have enough there.

  8. Blond Duck says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

  9. AlisonH says:

    The roses are beautiful and so timely. And oh, Channon–I haven’t called them to ask, because my idle curiosity is just the last thing they need right now, but I grew up with two girls who I’m sure are the boy’s aunts….

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    I just read about that this morning. So very sad.

    And I’m sure that Mugsy and Fred did arrange that flowery surprise for you. 🙂 They loved their mama and I fully believe that no one is ever *truly* gone.

  11. Walden says:

    Just more proof that those who love us, never really leave us 🙂

  12. jen says:

    WOW! friday while walking to get soup and rice at my favorite chinese place in nat’s neighborhood i turned the corner right outside his apt to find a woman walking a basset. I asked her his name and she said FRED! he made me think of your fred! I’d never seen her in the neighborhood before and she said she lied just down the street! She also said he came fromt he same rescue as lucy dog and i told her about the waddle. But anyways i thought of fred that day and how funny it was so close to his b-day! fancy that!

    their flowers are so pretty and it probably was no coincidence they bloomed for you that day.

    my mom is taking video tapes my neighbor gave her and transferring them to DVD for her. I watched 2 of them today and they were of Kelso, the great dane i watched for 3 years. He passed away last spring and the more i watched the more i wanted to cry cause i miss him so.

    you aren’t the only one who mourns this week.

    (((hugs)))

    i fondly look at my cards with mugsy and sissy on them! (and sissy and gretchen)

    xoxoxox
    jen

  13. One more thing you and Hubby Dearest have in common…LaCrosse. Glad the boy’s flowers bloomed at just the right moment to help bring some color into an otherwise (all too often) gray world.

  14. Mr Puffy says:

    How poignant. It reminds me of the story, Where the Red Fern Grows. A favorite of mine as a child.

    I’ve not followed this story at all…I’m sorry that it’s impacting your community. That’s the tragedy in these needless deaths. So many innocent suffer.

  15. Dianne says:

    How sad – I’m glad the family has closure, though.

    Those roses are lovely. I’m sure it’s your boys saying “I love you mommy!”

  16. Mary says:

    Thinking of you. Happy that Fred and Mugsy “sent” you their rose bouquets to remind you of their love.

    As for the tragic loss of the two young women in your community, it is impossible and incomprehensible to understand. It leaves everyone confused, shocked and frightened to know that life can be taken so abruptly and in such horrible circumstances. My thoughts are with you.

  17. Anita says:

    How sweet that the boy’s roses opened on Sunday… surely it was their doing. 🙂

  18. Cat says:

    I am right there with you with regard to C’ville and UVa – being a ‘hoo myself and also a former c’villian by marriage (previous as it is), my heart aches for the girls, their families, friends, communities….

    I love your roses – what a special treat for you. Fondly, c

  19. Kathy says:

    I was saddened to hear of this young girl’s life ending so violently premature. Thoughts and prayers are sent to all.

    Those flowers are beautiful tribute to the boys. Take time to smell the roses :).

Leave a Reply

