Name that bird

Photo from Wikipedia

I swear I saw this bird on my way into work this morning.  Problem is, I couldn’t snap a photo because I do live in podunk so most of my commute is in a 55 mph zone…  The other problem is, Wiki says the red-breasted blackbird would have had to wander VERY far from home to be here. 

I can’t find anything that should be local that looks right.   His chest might have been a touch more orange than that, but not much at all.  It wasn’t a true orange, by any means.  Any other suggestions for something most likely to be in Central Virginia?

There’s also a great contest out there.  If you don’t already follow Eternal Arts & Crafts, you’re missing out.  She is quite crafty, shares great recipes, and I look forward to her reviews of  knitting periodicals and the patterns within.  I count on her to keep me from mindlessly adding stuff I’ll never really knit to my queue, just because the photo shoot looks neat.  Don’t forget to say I sent you!

14 comments on “Name that bird

  1. Julie says:

    I have no idea and do not live in the area, but just wanted to be first to comment and say I wish I had seen this beautiful bird! It is a bit dreary today in California. I suppose I will knit away after chores are done. Happy Tuesday!

  2. km says:

    I tried to look up the bird, and I’ve got nothing. But, I must say that I think those visits are heaven sent. Enjoy a blessed day.

  3. gmarie says:

    So you have a travelling red breasted black bird. Hope the sight made you smile all the way into the office.

    Gotta go check out another new to me blog. I should just figure out how to stalk your reader – you know all the cool kids :\ g

  4. Marjie says:

    Well, maybe he came just to visit you. Did you think about that?

    It’s hard to take a decent picture from a moving car even when you aren’t operating said car. Trust me. I took about 200 pictures and got maybe 30 decent ones. So we forgive you for not snapping a picture of a little bird while piloting a ton and a half of iron at 55MPH!

  5. AllyB says:

    Pretty bird and thanks for the tip on the contest at Eternal Arts…you should come play my contest too if you haven’t already. I’m giving away some pretty yarn…

  6. Bubblesknits says:

    Hrm. No clue about the bird. Pretty little thing, though. 🙂

    Thanks for the link to the contest! I went and left her some blogiversary wishes.

  7. Nichole says:

    I’ve seen some “not ordinary” birds around our neck of the woods as well this spring… one of these days I’ll have to get a book!

  8. AlisonH says:

    Not a red-winged blackbird, then? Maybe a spotted towhee? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spotted_Towhee I know the degree of red can vary in house finches http://coyotescall.wordpress.com/2009/05/04/the-birds-are-back/ depending on how many and what kind of berries they have in their diets.

  9. Hmm…I thought I had an idea, but I was apparently wrong! Good luck figuring this out.

  10. Walden says:

    I love to animal watch, but I am horrible at identifying things. My grandmother was really good, but she lived in the country her whole life. There always is a possibility you have a lost little bird.

    Thanks for letting people know about my contest. Already 7 comments, only 4 more to get another prize thrown in. 🙂

  11. Anita says:

    I have no idea, but he sure is pretty. And you never know, stranger things have happened, could have very well been that type of bird….

  12. Dianne says:

    Name that bird? Looks like a “Jim” to me. Maybe a “Bob”, but no…more like a “Jim”. LOL!

  13. Barbara says:

    Perhaps a red-breasted black bird got lost and found himself in Virginia? 🙂

Leave a Reply

