Tulip Faerie Fiber

I am beside myself with glee.  Anita and Kathy have chatted about batts in group emails before, and I thought they were neat, but…  I get it now.  I totally get it and want – no, NEED more batts.

This wonderful blend of soft, fluffy fiber comes from Beth of Blue Mountain Handcrafts.   She has a special Flower Fairy Spin a long on Ravelry, and is offering the “kits” in different flower/color options via her Etsy shop (linked above).   If you spin, think about joining us!

Don’t mind the super-sized tulip stitch marker.  I just love the detail Anita puts into her markers.   Since not the first one of my tulips got to bloom this year (thanks critters that eat my garden!), I now have a faerie tulip to ward off the naughty flower munchers…

The kit even includes wildflower seeds.  Isn’t that fun?  Isn’t the card lovely too?

And because you need a point of reference, Gretchen is glad to step in.  (Yes, that white smear in the bottom of the photo is Sissy being possessive and making sure she’s closer to me than Gretchen is!)

Somewhere, I read a legend about Jack Russells being used as steads for faerie princesses.  I sure wish I could find it again.

19 comments on “Tulip Faerie Fiber

  1. gmarie says:

    Okay – so how much yarn will that batt the size of Gretchen net? It’s absolutely fabulous – still don’t want to spin – but it’s lovely to admire 🙂

    By the way – I’m thinking Dante’s Purse from Through the Loops for George. Opinion? g

  2. Sue says:

    I thought the stitch marker was a hot pepper. Oh well, my tulips didn’t come up either. I think the bulbs are a favorite food for moles.

  3. gmarie says:

    Oh! and I was going to tell you – I think we had tulips this year but I didn’t really pay attention – but we have irises – big beautiful blue and yellow irises. ::swoon::

  4. Marjie says:

    I think the deer ate our tulips, but Jeff bought me a lily for Mother’s Day. Now I have to figure out where to plant it, so maybe it won’t get eaten. Wish me luck.

    That’s a big batt of wool. Do you spin that so it becomes yarn? Today it’s so cold, I’d just like to stick my toes in it for warmth!

  5. AlisonH says:

    Wow, that’s a gorgeous colorway!!!

  6. StarSpry says:

    That is a fun package! The fiber is a gorgeous color. Thanks for the point of reference, too…I didn’t realize the batt was that big!

  7. LOL…Gretchen would make a wonderful fairy steed!

  8. laceylee says:

    Love that color.

  9. Walden says:

    The fiber looks delicious! The card is adorable, love all the hard work that went into it. I love the gift of seeds.

  10. Mr Puffy says:

    Love the whole magical fibers theme with this tulip faerie fiber! It’s really gorgeous stuff ~ even though I don’t spin I wish I had some ~ LOL

    Sorry to hear about the fate of the tulips. But on the bright side I’m sure your new tulip talisman will protect them from here on out!

    Have you read Tulip Fever? I enjoyed it.

  11. Nichole says:

    Holy BATT batman! That’s big… LOVE the kit! Beateous! LOVE. LOVE. LOVE Anita’s marker!

  12. km says:

    Maybe this summer I will attempt to spin something. I love the color of that batt. I bought a wee bit of fiber once. I’m sure a DIY drop spindle would be a good learning experience for the family.

  13. Anita says:

    That’s gorgeous! I wish I had enough to buy one of each of her flower batts. LOL
    I got my Narcissus batt yesterday! 🙂
    I wish I had Gretchie as a reference for mine, it’s HUGE too.
    And I’m so glad that you liked the package.

  14. Bubblesknits says:

    Oh. Oh my. /runs off to drool over her website/

  15. Amy Darsie says:

    I haven’t tried spinning from a bat yet. Have you? That fiber looks amazing!

  16. AllyB says:

    That batt is beautiful…and the model assistant isn’t bad either. Have a great weekend!

  17. Krystle says:

    I love your tulip Fairy! And the colors of your new fiber are right up my ally… in fact, I think I have a mix of those color in sock yarn, and in bulky yarn. I’m sure it will spin up beautifully as well!

    Happy planting, and crafting 🙂

  18. Kathy says:

    I need to get organized. I’m so far behind on reading blogs.
    Anyway had to check out the red batt you referred to.
    Gorgeous! Simply gorgeous!
    Anita is so-o-o talented :).

  19. Amanda says:

    Well, I’m not a spinner (yet), but that fiber is enough to make me want to start! And, Anita’s markers are the best for detail! I’ve been trying to figure out a way to display them when not in use, since I am lucky enough to have several sets of them now.

Leave a Reply

