Making Time

Isn’t it interesting how we carve out time for the things that matter most to us?   When I first began hanging out with the rude jerk inside my Wii Fit, I hated the knitting time I was losing.  Last night, I was two minutes late for the NCIS season finale because I was boxing. 

Of course, you won’t be surprised to hear that I’ve found a few minutes to spin every day since Saturday either.   Two ounces of Corridale, most likely to be plied with some crochet cotton with beads strung on it…

I’m an addict.  I’ve known this about myself for years.  I think reading was my first addiction; I devoured books and was reading long before I ever went to school.  I don’t know what came next, but I’ve been obsessed with horses, running, the oboe, tennis, roosters, Winnie the Pooh, weight lifting, baking, dark chocolate, craisins, candy coated sunflower seeds, loose tea, key limes, alfredo, pesto, cookbooks, knitting, spinning, scrapbooking, stamping, photography, dogs, fire trucks, fancy dresses, pearls, charm bracelets, teddy bears, wine with bubbles, shoes, Vera Bradley, history, The Civil War, fine china, antique flatware…

You get the point.  I tend to go overboard when I get into something.  Sometimes, I outgrow the phase – teddy bears are a great example.  Once I packed up my college dorm room, I think the urge to collect novel bears faded pretty quickly.  However, most of the time, I remain at least kinda’ interested in the former rabid fascinations.  But there are only so many hours in a day, so when something new tickles my fancy, something has to give.

I don't mean to be greedy, but I hope I have more than the one bloom this year!

As I look forward to having the current study move into another room and become a hobby room, I’m going to have to make some hard choices.  (Personally, I think a huge addition with a room for each of my obsessions would be the ideal solution, but then the Knight would want space for his hobbies too, so…)  I know some of you are naturally minimalists, and I envy you.  I know some of you have downsized, and still others have had to make room for new additions to your household.

What do you do with old collections that house gifts from special people?  What do you do with all the supplies from one crafting category when another catches your eye?   

Oh – and if you see my knitting mojo, tell it to enjoy the vacation, but at some point, I will want to actually DO something with all this yarn I’m spinning… 

… like knit socks from the new book by the woman who finally wrote instructions I could follow to do two socks at the same time.  Nichole is giving a copy of said book away, so be sure to say I sent you!

22 comments on “Making Time

  1. gmarie says:

    love the obsessions. I have collected tins and crafting supplies. As I outgrow a collection I tend to just get rid of it. Goodwill here I come.

    Myrna had a very interesting observation the other day about collections being for her and when others start “donating to the cause” they loose their appeal. Very Interesting.

    As for stuff – I can get rid of it, or regift depending on condition. Eventually all our stuff will be donated or gifted anyway, right? I figure I’m just saving the girls some trouble. 😀 g

  2. Sue says:

    I’m an addictive personality, too. Big surprise, huh!! I tend to go back to my interests after a short or sometimes lengthy rest. What I really try to avoid is picking up an entirely new interest and becoming absorbed.

    Have you seen The Knitter’s Book Of Wool by Clara Parkes?
    I got it from the library over the weekend and immediately thought of you. It talks about the different fibers, where they come from, their qualities and what to do with them. I think it would be great for a spinner.

  3. Nichole says:

    As someone who is still trying to get a grasp on SO. MUCH. STUFF. in her house, I’ll have to be making some of the same decisions soon… and will just have to purge a lot. I also need to learn what I really “need” and “want” as opposed to what can be purged…… sigh.

    Beautiful blue yarn!

  4. Blond Duck says:

    If I like something, I become obsessed with it. I am very addictible.

  5. km says:

    Ok…first…that spinning is SO even! Looks fantastic! Love the thought about the beads. 2nd…we have a teddy mag in my mom’s front yard…but after my mom was in VA last summer she says CA doesn’t do these trees justice. They trim them so that they have more of that topiary look (my bro calls those ivy balls on a stick). In VA you let the trees touch the ground and be full all around. I would love to see that sometime. Those trees do have a special memory for me though…we used the seed pods as grenades when we played. 3rd…I collected dolls as a kid. I still have them all. I think I’d like to collect buttons now. They’re small. I don’t have good answers about storing collections…some of my dolls are at my moms house and some at my Gramps house…even 5’s top closet shelf is full (and when she’s older she’ll kick my stuff out of her closet).

  6. I will not comment on how to handle one’s stuff, other than to say that participating in the
    De-Clutter Challenge the other year barely scratched the surface here….and all that room was re-lost long ago! Hope you get more blooms, and soon, too!

  7. AlisonH says:

    My mother described me, as a child, as “one grand passion after another.” That still fits.

  8. grace says:

    I too am an addict, Tom says when he buries me (like I am going first) he will need a second coffin for my collectibles. And we did downsize from a 8 room house to a 3 room apartment. I kept those that were gifts (like my Dept 56 christmas houses) and sold the ones I purchased, some I packed away and in the 7 full years we have been here haven’t missed at all and some I have out here. I have 2 curious filled, assorted shelves. I can’t tell you how many hundreds of books I have sold on 1/2.com or donated to the library and most of my Longaberger has sold, with the exception of my 22 award baskets but they aren’t a passion any longer either.

    I started out with crewel and needlepoint then I went to latch hooking, then counted cross stitch totally captivated me, next was hand quilting—I even taught that for quite a while and now its knitting. I have always sewn until my machine was stolen last year, and always read. I have collections of Barbies, Lenox Princesses, Lenox Mother and Child, Boyd Bears, Shoe Houses, Bathtub kid figurines, all different sister items, swarovski cyrstal mice and bunnies and many many other bunnies, and some teeny tiny clay mice I can’t remember the name of, I have hummels and hummel angels, I have Jim Shore for every season plus, My santa collection tops over 300 and we didn’t even put them out this past christmas, the snowmen are around 70 I have 6 or more different types of dishes for dinner, some only 2 of but still way too many. Yes I am an addict but my parents were alcoholics, I come by it naturally!

  9. Barbara says:

    It’s all in storage, Chan! And how annoying is that when I want to put my hands on something? But when I redid everything 4 years ago…my collections/stuff had to go. I gave my cranberry glass collection to my sister because she has a country house and they looked great there. But I kept most everything else.

    But like you, I collected and had passions for all sort of things. Trust me when I say you DO get over it. But not until you no longer have room or The Knight says: NO MORE.

  10. Kathy says:

    I find it very hard to be a minimalist, but at least I can console myself because I am nothing like the people on Hoarders! I have become a lot less sentimental. If I no longer have a need for an object, it doesn’t matter who have it to me. It’s going in the goodwill box. I regularly go through my books and if I don’t remember the story I put it in the box for Half-Price Books. I’ve never really been a “collector” of anything, but I sure do have more stuff than I should.

  11. Marjie says:

    I can’t say I collect much of anything, although I do love clocks. I have items I love all over the place, and sometimes I just buy something because it’s right for that place, like the Victorian style lamp I bought with a little Victorian table to put between hubby’s granny’s 2 little chairs. Then he asked me when I’d moved the corner of his long dead granny’s living room to our house. I stack my fabric to the ceiling and wherever I can stuff it. And if someone gives me something, i keep it, because I feel like they put effort into selecting something for me. If it’s hand made, it can never ever leave me (so I am thankful that your shawl was not neon orange, because I’d have to spend the rest of my life cringing every time I wore it). Of course, my house is big, and I have an enormous attic. So things can move up there, if need be. The kids know they’re in for trouble when they carry me out of here in a mahogany box.

  12. StarSpry says:

    What beautiful yarn; love that blue! Can’t wait to see it with beads 🙂

    I also get addicted to a lot of different things. I’m happy to give things to Goodwill if I’ve moved on to something new and don’t plan on using certain items anymore.

  13. kathy b says:

    I am always surprised at what interests I fall in love with at different times. I never would have thought dogs would be so important to me. Same with knitting. I too used to devour books.
    As we have a small cozy home, I can’t collect much. I also don’t like to dust! So the fewer things out to dust the better.

    It is really hard for me to throw things out, but I do. I close my eyes and toss!

  14. Anita says:

    Love the yarn! I can’t wait to see it finished. 🙂

    As for the “stuff”…. get rid of it! It might be painful at the time, but trust me, you feel so much better after it’s gone. I’ve done many different crafts & held on to stuff for years because “I might need that later”… I never did, & I don’t miss the clutter at all. I donate what I can, sell what I can, & trash what I can’t donate or sell. I found that while some items are sentimental, I needed to figure out which ones were really important. I didn’t need to keep my grandmother’s candle holders, but I did keep the afghan she made me & her sewing machine. It’s all about compromise & letting go. 🙂

  15. Bubblesknits says:

    Look at how pretty and even all that blue is! I never manage to get mine that even. ::pout:: I’m glad you’re enjoying it, though. 🙂

    And to quote Dr. Tooth, “You NEVER throw anything away. You never know when you might need it!”. ::eyeroll:: lol

  16. Julie says:

    Well, I never hold too tightly to many things. Though I enjoy what I have been given and I am sentimental over some of it~my still in use blanket from when I was four (and I am fifty now), bobble head Marcie Peanuts character-I know that all of it is just stuff. In the end, it’s all going to burn anyhow.

  17. Walden says:

    The spinning looks wonderful! Lovely shade of blue.

    I am not really any help with your storage problem. 🙂

  18. Krystle says:

    I have a lot of things that catch my attention and I get carried away with too. I try to keep everything together, I love decorative boxes and baskets, that I can store things in and still keep them out where they are visible. I also like putting my yarn in glass to make a colorful display. Right now, my entertainment center is one big square with a space in the middle for my tv, and then more 12″x12″ squares surrounding it. I have baskets and fabric boxes filled with books, interior design supplies, yarn, etc filling the spaces. Then on top of it there is a ice bucket (the decorative kind) filled with wip’s, then I have a big glass punch bowl, that I toss remnant yarn into when I’m done with a project. Someone came over once, and said, “Wow, you really do knit, you weren’t kidding.” Unfortunately I think it may have scared the poor guy away, but if you can’t be cool with my hobbies, then it’s better that you run now! Hat boxes are good too… they come in different sizes, and look cute when stacked in the corner.

    Good luck getting everything squared away 🙂

  19. Knitting It Out says:

    Um, yeah, me too! Glad to have kindred spirits on the web 🙂

  20. Kathy says:

    Well I’m not a good one to give advice. I have closets filled with yarn/fiber containers that have spilled out into a room. A sewing corner that has consumed the corner and a shelf unit. Scrapbooking…..let’s not even go there.

    But if you get some good advice, could you share? 😛

  21. Kathy says:

    Forgot to mention. Gorgeous spinning. I love the blue.

  22. Amy Darsie says:

    Your spinning looks so wonderful!!! It is so clean and even and that color is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

