Do You Hear What I Hear?

Scrap what I was going to post today, or pop over to see Sissy’s take on the same topic.   Gmarie posted something I find a lot more interesting than Sissy’s antics with ALL the dog bowls in the house.

G and I have very regular conversations about our conversations with our dogs.   All of my dogs have been and are master communicators.   All have had distinct voices.  Those of you who have followed this blog for a while, and certainly those who follow Don’t Mess with my Tutu probably have your own notions about how my fur-girls would sound, and I’d love to hear what you hear as you read their posts.

I can’t do this post without hoping in the wayback machine and talking about the boy dogs.   While I’m sure some of you think I’m daft, at least I know I’m not alone.  A local, blogless friend  announced one night that the boys had middle names in her world.  What’s interesting is the names she had come up with fit really well with the humanization I’d already conceived…

Fred Aloysius was the canine embodiment of an old Confederate officer, but ironically, I always heard him as James Earl Jones.   Usually calm and stoic, Fred was also capable of great rage (directed only at Mugsy and strangers perceived as uninvited guests) and had a deep “ah-wooh” that could literally rattle windows.  He was also an imposing physical presence, despite the short legs.

photo by Michelle

Mugsy Cornelius was also a southern gent, and I think he would have gladly claimed the famous Vanderbilt as his namesake.   He was a bit of a scoundrel and a scamp, an endearing bad boy to the end.   I heard something like Josh Lucas in Sweet Home Alabama when he talked to me.   He was truly a Jack of all trades; he was my sweet boy, his daddy’s fierce hunter, and never met a stranger.

Sissy Joy is a redneck DIVA.  Her theme songs are all by Gretchen Wilson, but Ms. Wilson isn’t sweet or DIVA enough to do Sissy’s voice.   I hear Heidi Newfield of Trick Pony when Sissy talks.  A little sass, incapable of completing a sentence without laughing, but sweet enough to want a love like Johnny & June

Gretchen Greer is our lady.  She’s refined and kind, but she still has that terrier spunk.   I hear Sasha Alexander as Caitlin Todd of NCIS fame when Gretchen speaks.  Kate was classy, but she also bested her male counterparts on the sparring mat.   Gretchie manages to be completely sure of herself without being arrogant or demanding, but she always get her way… always.

Do tell me who would do your pet’s voices, and if you hear something different when my girrls speak!

Happy Dogs on Thursday and little friday.  I’ll be doing a separate Thankful Thursday post in a bit.

14 comments on “Do You Hear What I Hear?

  1. gmarie says:

    Lovely post – I hadn’t thought of separating them into 2 different people – one for qualities and one for voice – great idea. Lucy acts like a cross between Lucille Ball and Carol Burnett – but would sound like Mae West, you’re right there!

    I told you yesterday Gretchen reminds me of Betty from the Archie comics – sweet and true, but able to stand up for herself when necessary.

    Told you that you gave me a great blog idea! g

  2. Kathy says:

    What a fabulous picture of Gretchen!

    You’re making me think. I haven’t imagined a voice for Lucy. She was named after Lucy Ricardo and she’s goofy like her, but I don’t think she has her voice.

  3. I’m sure my girls voices belong only to them! But Sasha, who we also call Sassy, is, as we always say, only her own dog! Does that give you any ideas for a “who”? Misty is a bit of a head case, with a shrill doggie voice, but totally adorable, especially when she plays at being “cute”. All help with that mix welcome!

  4. Dianne says:

    My babes have always had cartoon voices! Cooper’s voice is a lot like Goofy, Tara’s is Tweety Bird, and Emma’s is Lucy from Charlie Brown!

  5. Marjie says:

    Sissy wearing the bunny ears is funny, and that is a great picture of Gretchen. Thor doesn’t talk much, but you probably knew that.

  6. Sue says:

    This was a good subject. I don’t hear human voices with mine. They have their own canine voices that are each different.

  7. Nichole says:

    LOVE this post… all dogs definitely have their own voices and personalities… I’m going to have to think about “who” to put to the voices of my kids.. hmm.

  8. Kathy says:

    ROTFLOL…..I’m reading sweet things about your boys..scroll on and there it is……Sissy in the bunny ear hat….LOL…oh my gosh….too funny.

    p.s. I did finish enough to see the picture perfect Gretchen :).

  9. Anita says:

    Great post! I love all those photos, but that dang Sissy, LOL… she always takes the funniest photos. 😛

    When I hear Sissy, it’s more like Reece Whitherspoon in Legally Blond. SNOL
    And Gretchie is more like Abby on NCIS. 🙂

    Jasmine is a tough one, I think most times she sounds like Ellen DeGeneres, kind of a smart ass but funny about it. he he

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    Yeah, I’d have to say that all of mine are smart-asses, too. Well, except for Maggie. Mostly all I envision hearing her say is, “Huh?” “Wha?”. lol Poor Maggie.

  11. Walden says:

    I am hoping for some doggie advice from you. The boy and I would like to get a dog sometime this summer. We are wanting a dog around Gretchen’s size. I was wondering if you had some good breed advice. We live in an apartment and both work. Do you have an opinion on a small dog that does well at being left alone for 4-5 hours by itself.

  12. Toni Gomez says:

    That has to be my favorite Gretch photo…didn’t figure Sissy for a redneck girl..but you know her better. 😉

    Very nice post! 🙂

  13. Krystle says:

    I love your voice analysis, I don’t know that I’d had enough time with Charlie to properly develop a voice for him… I’ll have to think

  14. Krystle says:

    I love your voice analysis, I don’t know that I’d had enough time with Charlie to properly develope a voice for him… I’ll have to think

Leave a Reply

