Support

This week, Thankful Thursday needs its own post, not just a paragraph in my regular Thursday stuff. 

In a nutshell, I’m thankful for all the supportive friendships I have in my life.  More than one has played out in a grand fashion this week, and I am well aware that I am blessed.

Y’all saw the lovely blankie Gmarie sent to save me from myself.   It allowed me to give a promised gift to a family, without hand pain or the guilt that I think a lot of us have when we realize a craft project isn’t working out. 

Many of you know that I’m on an uphill climb to regain the fitness I took for granted earlier in my life.   It’s hard to go from power lifting firefighter to an out of shape bookkeeper.  Again, I’m blessed with supportive, kind friends.  A local, blogless friend also struggles with proper nutrition, also needs a higher protein diet, not that you’d know it to look at her. 

Both of us have tried – and tried – to catch the Greek yogurt wave, but we were stopped by the strong, chalky taste.   I didn’t doubt her but headed to the grocery store when she told me she’d FINALLY found a creamy, tasty Greek yogurt.  Dannon does Greek yogurt a little differently.  My friend swears by the honey and vanilla, while I was forced to try the strawberry and blueberry, because that’s all that I saw on the shelf.   If you see me in the store this weekend, don’t get between me and the Dannon Greek; I’ll be stocking up and making it my go-to breakfast with some granola sprinkled on top.

Of course, what would Thankful Thursday be without mentioning my new wheel?!  It’s a Majacraft tradition to sign the base of each wheel and number it.  Owen is the husband half of the owner team, and that four on the end?  Not that there was any doubt, but 4 has been my favorite number since I started playing sports and wearing uniforms.  My first track jersey made me #14, and the rest is history. 

I’m also thankful for each of you, even those lurkers who swing by and I don’t even know your names.   I started blogging just because I wanted to swap and it was a requirement, but now, some of the women I chat with most came into my life through blogging!

15 comments on “Support

  1. anniebananie says:

    !!! And we are thankful for you!

  2. km says:

    I like the fresh & easy brand yogurt, but I doubt you have one of those stores near you. I also figured that the yogurt was good enough for me that it didn’t matter if I added a lot of jam to it while I was adjusting to the taste. I’ve since weaned down on the jam. ;0) Glad you found one you like. I haven’t seen that one yet…but it’s probably because the ‘regular’ grocery isn’t my go-market as much a TJ’s or F&E.

    I’m on the same sort of climb. I bought a fitness ball…I’m really liking that. You might like one.

    I’m THANKFUL for you all the time….

  3. Dawn says:

    Congrats on the new wheel!:)

    Thankful for you!:)

  4. Blond Duck says:

    I had no idea you did power lifting!

  5. I found The Greek Gods brand of Greek yoghurt at my local grocery, and I love it! They usually have 3 flavors plus 2 kinds of plain (fat and no fat)Right now I can’t enjoy because it has too much sugar for my current diet…sniff, sniff…So glad you blog, too!

  6. AlisonH says:

    Here’s to four times four times four times four friends and four more! (Is that enough fours?) Enjoy your new wheel!

  7. Dianne says:

    We are all so very thankful for you!!! Greek yogurt? I’ll have to give it a try. I can’t eat the regular stuff–too much acid in it.

  8. Sue says:

    I started blogging because I was pushed into it. Then it became my journal, no one but me was reading it anyway. Then something happened and I met a lot of neat people and made some wonderful friends. I’m still surprised by it all.

    I don’t like yogurt because of the chalky aftertaste. Did you discover one that’s different and might taste good?

  9. Nichole says:

    Oh now I’m going to have to go find some of that Dannon greek to try too… esp since the only greek I tried, I hated. hmmm…

  10. Anita says:

    I’m thankful for all of the friends I’ve made online too, from blogging, from Ravelry & from etsy… what would I do without you all? 🙂

    PS – I love yogurt with granola sprinkled on top! 🙂
    What is special about Greek?

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    I’m thankful for you, too. I don’t know what I’d do if it weren’t for my knitting/doggy/kitty buds. 🙂

  12. Louise says:

    I’ve been trying to master the art of Greek Yogurt now for quite some time. Not there yet:( I make my own yogurt each week and for some reason the only way I can get it to Greek Yogurty is to strain it. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my home made yogurt. Perhaps, I should try the Dannon brand just to see how close I really am. I’m thinking mine is probably much like Greek Yogurt unbeknownst to me!

    There are so many things to be thankful for, where do I begin…

    Thanks for sharing, Chan…

  13. Amanda says:

    I’m thankful for you everyday of my life! Love you, Chan!

  14. Krystle says:

    If I provide you any of the friendship and support that you provide me, then I’m doing a good job, you are a wonderful friend and a great person to have come into my life 🙂

  15. Mary says:

    Thanks for sharing yourself with those of us who read your blog. Have so enjoyed getting to know you through it, even though I don’t blog myself.

    As for yogurt, I am less discriminating than most of you guys and swallow down whatever brand I can find when I force myself into a grocery store (fage, some other one that begins with a C, etc. etc.). I am with Anita; I put a bit of granola on top to give it some crunch.

Leave a Reply

