Toot, toot!

We'll both be there!

Before I get all crazed and forget, do stop by the spin-in on Sunday if you’re local, or live anywhere near central VA and want to see a bunch of spinners all in one place.  The link is to the Ravelry event page, but if you are planning to attend, you can also email me for more information. 

I shall endeavor to take photos, since I failed miserably at that task yesterday.  I took my little camera, so I had that AND a Blackberry with a decent enough camera within, and I was a good 10 minutes into my train ride home when I realized I’d not taken a single photo for you. 

I’ll get to yesterday’s adventures in a moment, but I might not have literally gotten there without Amtrak.  I’ve only taken the train once before, and that was about 15 years ago.  So, I wasn’t sure what to expect when I booked my ride from podunk to my college town and back again. 

It was the BOMB.  I somehow managed to have a seat to myself, which is to say I had two seats to call my own, both going and coming.  I know the drive well, since as I just said, DC was my college town.  The most thrilling part was driving through one of the farms I lived on in my teens.  Wow, what they’ve done with the place!  I couldn’t see much because I figure we were going around 70+ miles per hour, but the house and yard looked amazing.  You can’t see the house from Rt. 29, and I’ve never ventured any closer.

But you want to hear about my visit with Ruth, don’t you?   We met at Union Station, which was another blast from the past.  We used to grab lunch there all the time back in the day, and then wander around the shops.  And that’s just what we – and that we includes Ruth’s hubby too – did. 

I snagged some costume stuff for the fur-girls thanks to Ruth’s good eyes, but I honestly have no idea when I’ll get to take photos of such.  It’s way too hot out there now to get great photos of them, so just be patient.  Actually, I have a whole host of fun props to use with the fur-girls when time and medications and allergies allow…  And I snagged these Merrell sandals for me.  Mine are a little different,  with a solid brown footbed and a bronzy leather upper, but again, I don’t know what the chances are of getting a photo for you before I’m wearing wool socks and clogs again, so that gets you in the ballpark, so to speak.

It was a long day.  I figured up on my ride home that I spent about an hour in the car, about five hours on the train, and another hour either marching down to the right spot to board or de-train, or waiting to board the trains that carried me to and fro.  Still, I was in far better shape than I would have been if I’d driven, even to the nearest Metro station to take the subway into the city…  And it was all worth it to catch up with the Scrabblequeen and her hubby again!

Don’t look for another post before Monday morning, but in the meantime, those BonBon Rose Girls are giving away a ring I really want.   (That’s the catch-22.  To get more entries, I have to tell you about it, but that also means more competition.) 

So, will you be doing some resting and relaxing for me?  Or maybe folding the laundry I did last week that STILL hasn’t found its way into the drawers yet?

Toot, toot!  All aboard the weekend express!  Scratch that.  I want a good, old-fashioned steam engine to pull my weekend train, and one of those high-speed things from Europe for the weekdays.

Cuff of first sock... you're really in the dark on this one, eh?

P.S. – I am now working on the heel flap of my second sock.  Maybe on the 2+ hour ride to the family reunion later this month, I’ll come close to finishing them?

This used to be a knitting blog…

18 comments on “Toot, toot!

  1. gMarie says:

    ::love:: (this used to be a knitting blog. . . )

    Sounds like you had a lovely day yesterday. The sandals are amazing.

    Don’t forget Saturday is world-wide knit in public day. It’s schedule to rain buckets here. g

  2. Sue says:

    It sounds like you had a fun day. Are there pictures ?

  3. Marjie says:

    It used to be a knitting blog, but now it’s a funning blog. What’s not to love?

  4. Barbara S. says:

    I love that Union Station! Amtrak really rocks for trips like that. Did you knit on the train?

  5. Yeah! I was worried that the train ride was a problem, not a solution….Your sandals are way cooler in bronze than that pair. And, i used to have a knitting blog , too…wonder what gives here?

  6. kathy b says:

    It is still a great knitting blog. I can’t focus completely on knitting either. Tell the girls to send me lots of patience…..
    Cricket is trying mine these days. I think he can feel the stress around here which should be lightening up shorty.

  7. Amy says:

    Can’t wait to see you on Sunday, and meet some other spinners! I have not had the chance to meet other spinners other than those I know via my knitting group and friend in New York, so this should be fun!

  8. Louise says:

    Well, aren’t you just having a blast!

    Don’t laugh, I’ve always wanted to travel on Amtrak. They have trips across the US I think. Perhaps, I’ll just take it down your way:) I do believe I can catch a train from State College, hmmmm….

  9. km says:

    We drove past so many trains yesterday…I really want to get on a train again.

    Love the sock. I’m almost to the toe of a sock I started last spring. Hmm…my knitting blog might have some knitting photos soon too.

  10. Barbara says:

    I wish I could help you win the ring, but there are some girls that have 9 or 10 entries! That’s some serious stuff. I gave up before I even started!
    Glad you had fun on your visit…
    Wish I could see you spin. I have no idea what it entails. The closest thing I ever got to this sort of thing was weaving, which I did in high school. And needlework, which everyone does.
    Have a great weekend, Chan!

  11. Mary says:

    Love the sandals! But then I love Merrells…the one company whose shoes don’t hurt my feet. I live in my clogs which are great for all the traveling I have to do…easy to go through airport security.

    Hope the spin-in is a great success. Oh, and putting clothes away in drawers is highly over-rated. You just have to go searching for them the next time you need them! Ask my DH, he hasn’t put away any of his clothes in 20+ years.

  12. Anita says:

    Sure wish I could make it to the spin-in! I hope you have lots of fun. Pout. LOL

    Sounds like you had a good trip to DC. I wish I could find a place nearby to take the train to your house! 🙂

  13. Minna Krebs says:

    Hello, I just dropped by to introduce myself. I saw Gretchen and Sissy on the red bandana day blog post and thought they are just adorable!

    Then, what a happy surprise, to see that you are a knitter! Looking forward to following you!

    MinnaK (and mom..Cheryl)

  14. Kathy says:

    It’s been 14 yrs since I’ve been on a train and to Union Station.
    Sounds like you had a fun and productive day. Love the sandals. They look so comfy.
    Enjoy the spin-in. Can’t wait to hear about it.

    Resting and relaxing? In the heat? You’ve got to be kidding…..LOL

  15. Kristin says:

    Thanks for the sweet mention lady!!

  16. Dianne says:

    My first time on a train was last fall – the whirlwind 3-day trip to Vermont – and I’m surprised at how much I enjoyed the ride! I took the train up and drove home, and the train was much, much better than driving!

  17. Nichole says:

    What a fun trip!!!

  18. […] This is definitely a look I see in my wardrobe.   I’d wear it with my favorite metallic brown wedges from last year.  Until it warms up enough for bare toes, I’d want flats.  Oh – and […]

Leave a Reply

