Catching up is hard to do

I’m so far behind on what I want to share with you that I have no idea how we’ll ever catch up. 

Oh where oh where has our Mama gone?

There is a very rude, fussy post on the fur-girls’ blog.    I’m wondering now – in the hour plus since I wrote that post – if maybe Sis is just stressed out because I wasn’t home enough this weekend?  I know stress can cause rashes on humans, and while this isn’t exactly a rash…  I’ll be interested to hear what y’all – and wondervet – think.

So.  The weekend!  Friday night, I went to a League-related cocktail party.  It was great to catch up with some old friends, and I met a few new (to me) people too.   Saturday, a League board retreat, complete with a DISC assessment.    What I got out of it is that I can over-think my way into such a hearty misrepresentation of myself that even a facilitator will note that clearly, my results weren’t accurate for my personality.

Sunday was the spin-in.  Please see Amy’s report for more photos and her take on the day.  It was the first time I’ve spun with more than one or two other people, and it was almost overwhelming.   There were friends I don’t get to see often, new friends to make, and such a variety of expertise and spinning wisdom to take in…

One such expert sat just to my right.  That’s a supported spindle, and she’s spinning a batt she made yesterday.  (Hold that thought – we’ll talk more about batt-making later.)  She also spun some of the finest, softest cotton I’ve ever seen with the same spindle.  She gave me some great ideas about how to catalog my fiber stash, but I’m also shopping for a Takhli spindle.  She suggested starting with a metal one, usually found in brass…

Oh – don’t miss her basket in the bottom of the photo.  That was her grandmother’s knitting basket.  My own heart swelled up so that I thought it would burst!  I love the history – personal and general – in fiber arts.

Barbara of Stony Mountain Fibers planned this lovely event.  That’s the great woman in the center, and a local gal (I finally figured out that I knew her from work!) making her own batt.  Barbara generously brought lots of fibers for us to blend via the Strauch Mad Batt’r.

There’s the batt I made.  I ran it through twice, because smooth and blended was what I was feeling yesterday.  It’s almost exclusively mohair.  There’s some teal wool in there, a bunch of different blue and green mohair locks, and I THOUGHT I was blending some soysilk roving in there, but that brilliant lady with the supported spindle used the same stuff to make her batt, and she reported that too was mohair.  I can only aspire to that kind of fiber, tactile awareness.

There was also a swap table, and I came home with two goodies.  The gal who fell in love with what I’d taken hadn’t planned on participating in the swap table, so she forced some hand carded and processed alpaca on me.  The plum-colored stuff is also mohair.  Seems I like mohair.

I  had the best time!  I do believe this is going to become a regular event, and there’s even a rumor of a local spinning guild forming.  I hope more of you can join us next time.  We have room for at least 100 spinners, I’d say.  I also vow to bring my spindles next time and get some help making friends with those little buggars!

Somehow, that reminds me that Jessi had so much fun moving into her new home that she’s moved to a new blog too, and she’s having a contest for some Wollmeise.  You don’t even have to tell her I sent you.

How was your weekend?

16 comments on “Catching up is hard to do

  1. gMarie says:

    but, but, but – why is everyone sharing Jessi’s contest! Stop it right now.

    Love that at least part of your weekend was lovely.

    Sis – hadn’t really give any thought to stress, but seriously – I doubt it. You mentioned she was already acting up early on Friday – before you vanished for the weekend. Could have made matters worse, your being gone. But I sincerely doubt it was the cause.

    And really – you overthink things. NEVER! ❤ g

  2. Blond Duck says:

    Stress totally affects dogs. When I’m stressed, the babies misbehave and Ben acts weird. The entire household reacts to my moods. It’s a terrifying power.

  3. Sue says:

    My dogs have been reacting to my recent activities, too. After my first surgery they were so clingy that they wouldn’t leave my side even when dinner was offered.

    That plum color is beautiful. That color grabs my attention lately.

  4. AlisonH says:

    Fiber and friends: sounds perfect to me!

  5. Marjie says:

    Well, while stress may affect Sissy, she must learn that sometimes Momma needs a little time off! Tell her I said so! You are a wonderful dog-mom, and she knows that. Looks like you had a great spinning day!

  6. Kathy says:

    Dogs stressed? Need we discuss Mr. Bettis’s activity when he’s stressed? lol So perhaps Miss Sissy was a little stressed about you being gone but I have to wonder if the heat also added to her stress. You know how heat can stress them.

    Oh my gosh, I am so envious of the spin-in. Looks like it was a lot of fun and hopefully I’ll get to one in the future.
    My weekend? It was spent wilting in the heat 😦

  7. Anita says:

    The girls missed their Mom. 🙂

    I love your batt & the other goodies you got. It sounds like you had such a good time, I so wish I could have been there!!!

  8. kathy b says:

    Thanks for sharing the fun event. I loved the spinning picture.

  9. Bubblesknits says:

    Wow. I’m so jealous! We used to have a spinning group, but it kind of fell apart a couple years ago. I’d love to be able to pick that spindle spinner’s brain. 😀 You’ll share everything you learn, though…righ? lol

  10. Walden says:

    Sounds like such fun! The purple is beyond gorgeous!

  11. Dianne says:

    Sounds like fun! Wish I had my grandmother’s knitting basket. I do have her favorite spoon, though. It’s just a big, banged-up metal stirring spoon, but I treasure it.

  12. Barbara says:

    Wow. Some of those wheels are huge…the way one thinks of them in the old days. Are they antiques? I like your compact one.
    You have to tote a lot of stuff, don’t you?
    The mohair colors are fabulous!
    Really looks like a fun day and I would have loved to watch.
    Hope Sis is feeling better!

  13. Nichole says:

    Fun, fun, fun… and I just adore that woman using her Grandmother’s knitting basket!!!!!

  14. Toni Gomez says:

    awh…don’t try to catch up..just skip stuff..I like my
    ‘rita’ on the rocks too!

    Love the gals….and love all this yummy fiber…I look at it all and try not to get attached…I know the love of fiber and spinning will do me in!! 🙂

  15. […] with an unprocessed fleece, I did enjoy creating a batt far more than I should admit. Back at our spin-in, I had my first drum carder experience.   I made a purdy mostly mohair batt, and knew it was […]

  16. […] of the honey white wedding tea that is for me!  I’d tried Bonnie’s blends at the spin-in a few months ago, but Ann and I  had a blast taking in the different aromas.  Bonnie is also […]

Leave a Reply

