Flip-flop

Cole Haan at Bluefly

I love flip flops, don’t you?  But what I was referring to is that I’m going to do Thankful Thursday today, because I need to, and because it’s getting lost in the shuffle on Thursday. 

Why yes, I do think I might need to order these too.  I still want the wedges I haven’t been able to get across town to buy, but maybe this will be the summer I wear madras on my feet most days?

Anyway, I am insanely thankful for the resources that allow us to care for Sissy.  For the latest on our saga and her struggles, see the other blog.   We have a great vet with the kindest, most patient staff ever, and we have friends who listen to Sis’s tale over and over, with genuine concern.

I’m also thankful that Sis doesn’t seem miserable.  She’s so good about taking her pills – even if she does spit them out now and then.  She still chatters at me and falls asleep most nights sharing MY pillow with me, with Gretchen perched on top of one or both of us.

And my back is behaving itself so that I can burn off my stress.   I really appreciate that, because for me, nothing relieves stress like a hard workout. 

How do you relieve stress?  I know several of you knit so you don’t kill people, but that hasn’t been working for me for a while.    It seems I’m also finding a little joy in shopping, but that is often coupled with a touch of guilt…

10 comments on “Flip-flop

  1. Kristyn says:

    I HATE things between my toes. The thought of wearing flip flops gives me the heebie jeebies. Ususally when I’m stressed I eat but I am trying to stop that. Not so good on the waistline or the health.

  2. Barbara says:

    We USED to call flip flops thongs when I was young. It took me many reprimands from my granddaughter some years back before I understood thongs are underwear and flip flops are what you put on your feet. 🙂

    Stress? I live with it. Working out does help.
    Really bad stress? Valium.

  3. gMarie says:

    Oh I’m with Kristyn on the stress eating and with the attempting to stop. I do love to throw a good tempter tantrum in the office bathroom – marble floors – stomping your feet. Great noise and release!

    I used to hate flip flops, but I like the ones with the toe band – they aren’t as weird as just the little bitty something sticking between your toes. What I really hate is how noisy they are – but I’m getting used to that too.

    So – maybe Gratitude Wednesday? I know what you mean about it getting lost – heck I can hardly remember to post my own unless I’m nugged 🙂 g

  4. Nichole says:

    I was just going to email you about the wedges… just came from my local Target and they didn’t have my size (only a handful of pairs scattered about). :/ Sigh.

    Love the flip flops… and I keep reminding myself that I MUST knit more… you know, because I”m one of those who knits so I don’t kill people……

  5. Marjie says:

    I am weirded out by the little thing between my toes. I used to wear Dr.Scholl’s sandals a million years ago, but the noise of having wooden feet is weird, too.

    Stress? Me? I’ll turn ugly in a heartbeat and give a tongue lashing at any volume required to anyone who needs it, in my house or not, for any reason. I stunned a visitor a while back who had 6 and 3 year old sons. Her 6 year old poked his brother’s dinner because he thought it was funny. Her 3 year old then stuck his fingers in my 3 year old’s food, which caused my kid to cry. I told my kid to quit bawling, told her 3 year old to keep his hands to himself, then berated her 6 year old because he should have known better than to start this foolishness and he certainly should not have egged his brother on to poke my kid’s food even more once mine started to cry. The 6 year old bawled for an hour, even as his own mother told him I was right. On more than one occasion, I’ve been told that my adult sons tell people you don’t f*** with their mother, because she’s a fierce midget. See? Be a fierce midget. No stress.

  6. Sue says:

    I do love ‘flip flops’ though I still prefer to call them thongs. I bought about twenty pair a couple years ago because everywhere I went I found another cute pair.

    I’m with Marjie. There are ways I can cool off, but nothing is better than just facing the problem causer head on and telling them exactly what you think. I guess that’s something you learn with age.

  7. AlisonH says:

    Thank heavens for better backs!

    When I was a kid, I used to go bang out some Rachmaninoff on the piano to let out stress. Or take a good swift long walk. Nowadays, I find that pouring some water into a cup for a thirsty squirrel or seed out for the birds has a great calming effect.

  8. Amy says:

    Spinning is my main way to let go and relax. I put on some Paul Simon, sit on my porch with a cold beer, and spin for hours. It soothes my soul.

    Those flip flops are so cute! I love the plaid.

    Glad to hear Sissy is going well. A good vet, compasstionate and understanding, is important.

  9. Bubblesknits says:

    Mine is knitting while watching some good sci fi DVDs. Star Trek Next Generation is on the playlist right now. 😀

  10. Kathy says:

    Like Barbara, we called them thongs too :). Love the little plaid design on these. So cute.

    Glad to hear Sissy is doing better. I was going to send an inquiring email and decided to hop over here to check first. Glad I did.
    Stress? What stress? Don’t know what you’re talking about……LOL
    Ok. I either retreat to my own little space or I make certain all who reside in this house know I’m STRESSED! Never a good way to handle it….lol

Leave a Reply

