Name that Tree

Ignore the weeds and such all around it.  What is this pretty, funky bloom on this fern-y tree?

This one is growing around an out building in the lot at work, and I see LOTS of them on my home, along the side of the road.  It seems to grow wild here in central VA, but honestly, this is the first time I’ve noticed it.

12 comments on “Name that Tree

  1. Nichole says:

    I’ll go with “funky ferny” 🙂

  2. Jessica says:

    well my dear, that appears to be a silk tree! aka a mimosa-tree. Appeals to both the knitter, and the drinker! I like to knit with silk, and i like to drink mimosas! ;o)

  3. Sue says:

    Your tree is a Mimosa. They are pretty and Rob is so very allergic to them. He starts sneezing the minute they pop into bloom.

  4. Blond Duck says:

    MIMOSA! It’s a Mimosa! We had tons in our yard growing up!

  5. gMarie says:

    I’m glad somebody knew! Was that VDK who said they appeal to the knitter and drinker? She’s funny that one! g

  6. Well! You’ve certaily had a lot going on while I wasn’t watching. Too much to comment on in one little comment, I’m afraid. Good back, bad on Sissy. Cute flip flops, Silk Tree….what did I miss? LOL…I’ll check back as often as I’m able…

  7. Anita says:

    Yep, it’s a Mimosa Tree. I love them!! I’ve been wanting one since we moved in 2000 & still don’t have one. 🙂 I’ll have to figure out somewhere to plant one, they can get rather large & sprawley.

  8. Bubblesknits says:

    We’ve got tons of those down here, too. 🙂

  9. Kathy says:

    Looks like a “fun-fur” tree…lol

  10. Lacey says:

    Don’t know the name, but we had one in our yard growing up

  11. Dianne says:

    Yup – it’s a mimosa alright. We had them in our front yard growing up. Beautiful when they were in bloom, but when the blooms fell it left a mess in our front yard. Being as anal-rententive (and I say that in the most loving way) as my dad is, he would send me out with a grocery bag and make me pick up every single dead blossom. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

