Calming Collar

Do they make one for humans?

A few weeks ago, something on the pet aisle in WalMart caught my eye.  If you’ve been reading this blog very long at all, you know that Gretchen just doesn’t ride well.  We’ve tried all kinds of drugs, with no relief for her, and the side effects have been VERY stressful for the humans.

So, with a low price point (I honestly can’t recall, but I’m hoping to grab a few more this  weekend), the Knight agreed we couldn’t afford NOT to try it.

The maiden voyage was a simple trip to Smoothie King, all of 15 minutes from home.   Gretchen was notably less stressed, which is to say she didn’t try to bounce off the walls in the car.   She’s used it four more times for trips to and from the shop, all of which were less than 15 minute rides, and by the last one, she sat in the back seat with Sissy like a sane doggy.

Do I look stressed to you?!

On the very first use, we noted that even Sissy – not wearing a collar – wasn’t whining, which is highly unusual (and appreciated).  It is my theory that Sis, like Fred before her, “sings” on the first part of a ride because she’s that darned happy.  It is also my opinion that Sis’s antics add to Gretchen’s frenzy.  If we can find the 27″ collar (we suspect the small one that barely fits Gretchen was a mis-labeled CAT collar), Sis will be wearing one too, just for the heck of it.

(Hey!  The 27″ one would fit me too.  Just a thought…)

Keep your fingers crossed that podunk’s Wally World has more.

Dudley, center, snuggled up with some of his pack

While you have those fingers crossed, think good thoughts for dear Dudley and his pack.   I really, REALLY hate cancer, but when it is a sweet old doggums stricken…  He’s fighting a good fight and maintaining his loving spirit, so I’m wishing more of the same for the rest of his pack, especially the humans.

Thanks for the continued support for Sissy and me.  Wondervet called this morning, but you can read the update here. 

Happy dogs on thursday and little friday!

17 comments on “Calming Collar

  1. Nichole says:

    Lola “expresses herself” (er, sings?) on the start of car rides too…..

    I wonder if that collar might help Sophie to drool less, hmm… She’s certainly gotten MILES better in the car, but…

  2. Sue says:

    Yes, this human could use one of those collars, too. Is it a certain aroma that is in the collar? Maybe we can buy candles and incense in that flavor and treat the entire house with it.

  3. gMarie says:

    Thanks for the shout out for my Dudley Dog – he’s being a trouper!

    Gretchen doesn’t looked stressed at all. I wonder if it would work on you. g

  4. Barbara says:

    I see your other commentors correctly identified your tree as a mimosa. Pretty, isn’t it?

    As for those collars, I wouldn’t mind one myself. 🙂

    (Emailing in a bit.)

  5. Marjie says:

    That is one cute picture of Gretchen. I’m so glad you found something that seems to help. The real test will be the next jaunt to OBX, of course…and I loved that picture of G’s sleeping beauties, too!

  6. Kristin says:

    If they did, I’d be lining up to get it! Guess I’ll have to try yoga instead. HA!

  7. AlisonH says:

    So I’m dying to know–what was *in* those collars?!

  8. Jessica says:

    if/when you find the human version, could you grab me one, too?

  9. Dawn says:

    Wow, what a great collar! Never heard of such a thing! Lots of prayers sent up for Dudley….ug the C word :(… Have a wonderful weekend!

  10. Anita says:

    That’s wonderful news about the collar! What a deal! And after all the meds… who would have thought huh? 🙂

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    Hrm…if that was a mislabeled cat collar, that might help Puss on her car rides to the vet. Glad it helped the girls!

  12. Krystle says:

    Ooo, they should hand them out as you board planes.. I don’t hate flying but I surely don’t like the way my tummy feels during take off and landing! I’m off to see Mr. Dudders this weekend. Hopefully he’ll be up for my visit.

  13. Louise says:

    Okay, so I missed guessing the tree, so, how about guessing what’s in that fabulous find. I’m thinking chamomile, peppermint, or a wee bit of lavender. All stress relievers I’ve come to depend on.

    Getchen looks quite relaxed and adorable of course. I can see it rubbing off on Sissy:) It’s like kids in the car, when one acts up, most times they all do.

    Thanks for sharing, Chan…

    Happy Picnic Day!!!

  14. Kathy says:

    How large are these collars. Mr. Bettis is absolutely horrible in the car and you can only imagine 140 pounds of whining and wailing in the back seat.

    Glad it worked for Miss Gretchen. That should help stress for everyone in the vehicle ;).

  15. Alexis says:

    I just saw these too at our Wally World and was thinking they would be good for my friend’s dog when she has her baby.

  16. Lacey says:

    That is so interesting. Angus does ok in the car. Of course as soon as he can get to where he is going the better. He usually curls up in my lap or in the floor board and sleeps. I think on the move to NJ, he will be riding in a kennel. I won’t the distraction of him trying to get comfortable while driving across country, and riding with Geoff is not an option.

  17. Dianne says:

    I’ll have to look for those calming collars at our local Wally World. So far Cooper’s Thundershirt has worked perfectly—we haven’t had a storm since it came in the mail! LOL! I hate to wish for thunder, but I really, really want to know if it will help him!

Leave a Reply

