Soul Socks

Don’t look now, but I’ve finally finished a pair of adult socks this year.   This whole post will make more sense if you’re a Harry Potter fan, but in case you’re not, a horcrux is a bit of dark magic, with a piece of the dark wizard’s soul inside. 

Project:  Horcrux from London   Must be magic, because it restored not only my sock mojo but my general knitting mojo as well!

Pattern: Horcrux Socks, by Susan Lawrence  I really like her designs.  These socks were just right for me…  even if I do prefer toe-up sock knitting.  If I make them again, I might try to transpose them to toe-up.  Love the 3×2 ribbing, and the bit of lace – the horcrux connection, to resemble the scar on Harry Potter’s head – on the leg was perfect.  It wasn’t too challenging, but it broke up the sock a bit to keep it from being too boring. 

Yarn:  Regia Galaxy, from the awesome Monica.  That’s part of why I chose this pattern for this yarn; Monica picked it up in London a couple of years ago, and some of Harry Potter happens in London.  I look for these to become a favorite in my sock stable.  Jeans are a staple in my winter wardrobe, and I love the splashes of pink, aqua and pale yellow.  The good news is I have about 90% of one ball left, so I might need to start two at a time toe-up…  I should have enough for some anklets.

Needles:  US #2 Addi Turbo circ.  A bit too large, actually, but I couldn’t find my #1, so what’s a girl to do?  (These were cast on pre-Clicks.   If I haven’t waxed poetic about the Clicks, I’ve done you a disservice.  LOVE that set so much that I’ll have to add the Lace tips too, just because…)

Verdict:  I could totally knit this pattern again, but there are so many sock patterns out there.  If ever I run out and need to start knitting them a second time, I’ll start with this pattern.

The weekend was a nice one.  Saturday, we headed to the farm for a family reunion.  The fur-girls love their new cousin Chance, but you’ll have to wait to meet him later in the week.  The calming collar definitely earned its keep, but it does cost more than I thought at $8.99.  Still, we purchased two more Saturday night.  Yesterday, we celebrated Fathers Day with Dae and Uncle Timmy, the uncle next door to the inlaws.   The Knight’s cousin like a brother to us both grilled perfect steaks, and CLAB’s sweet bride shared her wine with me, so what’s not to love, even if it was 100 degrees outside?! 

On my (first) wedding day, 1993

Please don’t take my silence on Fathers Day as a slight.  I was blessed with the most awesome father in the world, but his death still finds me raw and emotional a few times each year.   The fur-girls wanted to post to their Dadaw on Sunday, but I just wasn’t up to it.   It’s not fair to the great fathers still in my life, but he and Pop left big holes in my life.  (And yes, we glossed over the second anniversary of Pop’s death last week too.  More rawness.)

How was your weekend?

22 comments on “Soul Socks

  1. Sue says:

    The socks look good. I’m glad to hear that the collar seems to be working. Have you received the thundershirt yet? I can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

  2. gMarie says:

    I thought about you off and on all day yesterday knowing it would be difficult for you. I’m glad you have a lovely fur-dog-dad in your life. That’s one special Knight you have.

    Your socks are lovely – wish I had finished photos of anything . . . .

  3. Kristyn says:

    I understand your feelings about Father’s day completely. I have hated Mother’s day ever since my mom passed away in 2002. Even now that I’m a mom it is still a hard day.

  4. Anniebananie says:

    1. Socks – I love them. And I have sock yarn just begging to be turned into socks. I may have to take a close look at that pattern.

    2. Somehow I’m not surprised about the glossing over of some things. You do whatever it is you need to do to get through these days. And if you ever want a hug, I’ve got plenty.

    3. Our father’s day was very nice. We all (including Tony) went over to my parents house for a pool party and light supper. Dad is healing well from his knee replacement (but he’s not in the pool yet) and we brought food so mom didn’t have to cook. It was a really great day and I left HRH with mom/dad and took K with me. She and G have ID tech camp this week, and B and HRH have “Camp Granny” (the name annoys my mother to no end – tee hee hee!)

    Oh, and I have a little something for the fur girls, so I need your availability, or I’ll just throw it in the mail. 🙂

  5. Barbara says:

    Love the horcrux socks, Chan, and their connection to Harry Potter. I dearly love Harry Potter. You are so talented!
    Sweet photo of you and your Dad. 🙂

  6. AlisonH says:

    What a sweet, sweet picture of you and your Dad. Thank you for that. (Love the socks, too!)

  7. Blond Duck says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your father.

  8. Marjie says:

    I knew you had plans for Sunday, and expected no post. The love in your heart is tribute enough to your father, and I for one don’t expect a public display of something which still cuts you so deeply. As for your socks, well, they’re charming, even if I don’t know Harry from Hogwarts. Happy Monday; go give the girls a hug!

  9. Nichole says:

    Gorgeous socks!!!!!
    Great pic of you and your Dad 🙂

  10. StarSpry says:

    Great socks!! I’m glad they brought your knitting mojo back 🙂

    That’s a wonderful photo of you and your father. I’m sorry yesterday was hard, but I’m glad you had a nice weekend with your family. Can’t wait to meet Chance!

  11. Amy says:

    The socks are great. Normally, I don’t like it when colors pool together, but with that pattern they look awesome.

    I understand about your Dad. I know that, one day, I will lose mine and I’ll be raw at times as well.

  12. ((((hugs))) I can only imagine how hard days like yesterday must be for you. My dad is my world and I still can’t think of what life would be like without him. Take care.

  13. Darcy says:

    I love the socks so pretty and understand the sadness of Father’s Day.Hugs Darcy

  14. kathy b says:

    Oh I am so sorry about your sadness. How very wonderful he must have been.

    THe socks are really really something. What a great look.

  15. The socks look lovely!! What a very serendipitous pattern choice and project name.

  16. Louise says:

    I LOVE those socks!!! Harry Potter fan or not…

    I’m “glossing” also this weekend. It may just be the reason I got surprise guests from New York.

    A treasured photo…

  17. Kristin says:

    I’m so sorry about your dad.

  18. Anita says:

    I love, love, love your socks!!!

    I thought of you on Sunday…. I knew you would have an emotional day. I’m glad you’ve got those silly girls to keep a smile on your face. 🙂

  19. Walden says:

    The socks look wonderful! I’m all for the Harry Potter. I’m considering knitting Hermione’s Everyday Socks.

    Don’t worry, each of us deals with the hurts in our lives the best way we can. 🙂

  20. Kathy says:

    I thought about you on Sunday and knew why you were quiet. A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do. ((HUGS))

    The socks are awesome. Love the pattern and I’m glad your sock mojo returned :).

  21. Dianne says:

    Big hugs, Chan. HUGE hugs.

  22. Bubblesknits says:

    Love the socks. 🙂 I think I need to try that pattern, especially since I’m a HP fan.

    Speaking of Dads…my best bud gave birth to her second child today and her hubby is very pleased with their latest addition.

Leave a Reply

