2nd Chance

Photo borrowed from Auntie's Facebook

World, meet Chance.   He’s my aunt’s third rescue dog, hence the title… he’s found his forever home on his second try.    He’s a darling, handsome, playful, black and tan standard daschund.     He’s three years old and my girls are smitten.

Sissy did her own post about the day, but alas, it’s a bit ego-centric.   I’ll start at the beginning.  Friday night, the girls got baths to be all purdy for the family reunion.   I really thought I took several photos, but this is the only one my camera shared with me when I downloaded (uploaded?) to my computer.

Why yes, that is the Knight's hand in the toy basket

Sis is right that I had the devil of a time trying to get a photo of Chance.  He’s one happy, active little guy.  However, what I also didn’t capture was how sweet Sissy was, trying not to overwhelm him.  She dropped to her belly when he seemed a little uncertain about the big, playful dog, and when that wasn’t enough, she rolled onto one side and just batted at the little dogs with her front paws. 

There was a “hayless hayride” we skipped to continue supervising the doggy romper room.  I also missed the trip to the local alpaca farm because Sis had an upset tummy…

I was a little nervous about having Sissy and her food restrictions at a family reunion, but it went pretty well.  Phew!

My aunt’s other dog, Luna, is also a rescue.   She didn’t adapt to their household quite as seemlessly as Chance has, but my aunt and uncle were patient and she’s quite the fixture now.    She wasn’t interested in the playful antics of the younger set though. 

Here’s Sis, being the alpha-diva.   Luna’s bed, the two bones Gretchen found…  And don’t you love that LOOOOONG pink tongue?!

Of course, I can’t leave Gretchen with that less than flattering shot from the tub.  She was  happy to pose for her fans!

What?!  Your family reunions aren’t all about the fur-kids?  Huh.  Well, ours are…

Happy dogs on thursday and little friday!

16 comments on “2nd Chance

  1. Nichole says:

    Love the pics… Chance sure is a cutie pie!!! Luna is quite beautiful herself… of course, no one is as stunning as Gretchie though (sorry Sis… you’re just gorgeous yourself too!).

  2. Blond Duck says:

    The babies would be so mean to them… they really need socialization classes. They’re so anti-social!

  3. Lacey says:

    Love Chance! I have been thinking of getting Angus a buddy since it is looking like I will be working in the future. All the girls are so adorable!

  4. Marjie says:

    The reunion was as it should be. Drools and happiness! Hubby had dachsunds when we were married, but he really pined for mastiffs, and then found a girl who would enable him to have a giant around. Silly man! Thor would have been with Luna, hiding in the corner from the bouncing and antics of the young-uns!

  5. Dawn says:

    Chance sure is a cutie! Wow I don’t get Fuji near any other dogs…she’s grouchy even with other people. All the training hasn’t helped that one either!:(

  6. Dianne says:

    Great pics! It looks like all the furbabes had a great time–even Luna!

  7. km says:

    Great family reunion. M sure would love a daschund, but I don’t think that’s the right mix for us. I’m glad that Chance is loving his new family.

  8. Sue says:

    Chance looks so much like our Porsche. She was a character and I’ll bet he is too. What a great companion for Luna. He should liven things up and coax her to play.

  9. Right now, the only family reunion I want, is the one WITH my dogs! I miss them…Saw an adorable Westie on the banks of Loch Ness today and wished I could have petted it, at least.

  10. Bridget says:

    What sweet pups! I’m glad they are all friends.

  11. Kathy says:

    I absolutely love this post. I read it twice.
    Yay for Chance and Luna to have found loving parents. Sounds like a lovely reunion with the pups.

    Mr. Bettis is wondering why he’s never invited to a family reunion. I’m trying to explain no one would want the picnic table overturned because he walked under it.

  12. Anita says:

    Chance is a pretty little thing. 🙂 Or should I say handsome. LOL
    I’m glad you guys all had a good time & that Sissy was such a good girl. Harley used to play with Theo & Jazzy like that. So sweet…

    I LOVE the bath shot of little Gretchie!! Too cute!

  13. Barbara says:

    So nice of your aunt to rescue dogs…looks like she’s had pretty good luck, too.
    Loved this doggy post! Considering they all move around a lot, it’s a wonder you got any decent photos at all.

  14. Joe sends a hearty wwuwoo-offf to Chance – he (and the rest of the pack) are happy Chance has found his furever home!

  15. Terrie says:

    Chance is adorable!! I’m so happy he found his forever home with your aunt, and Luna,too!! Sissy is so sweet to try and make Chance comfortable with her larger size. Glad they had fun playing with each other. I love all the doggy photos 🙂

  16. Bubblesknits says:

    Looks like the girls had a very good time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

