Gnome Mess with My Tutu

Did everyone in the US have a nice 4th of July?  We did.  It was quiet, and we didn’t even go watch fireworks this year.  The Knight prepared a feast, and we were just too content to leave.  (Grilled pork ribs, asparagus and the best yellow squash ever…)

My aunt would be proud!  I might sometimes forget or take too long to get a proper thank you out, but those fur-girls are timely.  Pop over to read their spin on their gifts.

Firstly, I must thank Grace for her delightful package.  It’s becoming a birthday tradition for her to send me my favorite snack ingredients – chocolate morsels, craisins and peanuts – and she always adds a couple of delightful surprises.  This year, this precious, funny gnome arrived with a pretty card.  Depending on your monitor, he might be shown larger than life.  I love the colors!

She also tucked some fibery goodness in there, with this Aspen Grove shawl kit featuring Wooly Wonka Fibers in Vermont Maples.  The yarn is even softer that it looks!  I’m going to have a hard time sticking to my knitting agenda with this staring me down.  Thank you Grace, for your lovely, thoughtful gifts!

Next up, we have goodies from Gmarie.   There are some great recipes in that book!  Maybe I’ll try to bake up some Sissy-allowed treats later today.

She also sent yarn.  This is Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino in colorway #P451.  Honestly yarn companies, can’t you do better than that?!   I like fun names for yarns and colors.  How ’bout Koigu Kushy Sok in Blueberry Jam?

Aslan Trends ALMOST gets it.  The yarn is Santa Fe, and when I went to their website, I learned this colorway is Antique.  Now, just put the color name on the tag…

Have you already clicked over to the fur-girls’ post today?  If not, then you don’t know that Gaylen (aka: Gmarie) also surprised me with Sissy’s own tailored, purple tutu!

The hard look from Sis is just because I made her stand still for a photo.  She loves  her short, fitted tutu and wants to prance around in  it, not stand still for a picture!  Gretch also got a pretty PANK dress, which she adores as well.

Don’t you love the hanger Gretchen’s dress came on?!  I think I have to find a way to turn it into wall art…

Thanks Gmarie, for a box full of giggles and soft, pretty yarns!

17 comments on “Gnome Mess with My Tutu

  1. gMarie says:

    OMGoodness – that yarn from Grace is fantastic – but you do know it looks orange on my monitor. and the gnome – too cute. g

  2. Sue says:

    I was going to say the same thing. If you need to rehome that orange yarn…. It’s gorgeous. I love all the yarns and the girls outfits are perfect. I recently found a pattern for a gnome and I hope to make a few at Christmas. What thoughtful birthday gifts.

  3. Bubblesknits says:

    Love that Sissy has a custom fitted tutu! 😀 And that gnome is great!

  4. Walden says:

    Lovely gifts! Baking treats for puppies, now that is my kind of baking!

  5. Barbara says:

    You got some lovely birthday goodies, Chan! They must know your taste in yarns! They’re really lovely.

    Nice that the girls actually seem to enjoy wearing their new duds. Any dog we’ve ever had would tear at something like that until it was either off or in shreds. 🙂

    Ought to be funny making doggie food from the cookbook. I’ve been in a doggie bakery, so I guess cookbooks shouln’t surprise me.

    What did the Knight do with the yellow squash?

  6. km says:

    Lovely birthday goodies! What a fun gnome! I’m with you on the yarn names! In fact, they could hire me and I’d name their colors.

    Our 4th was great…until the 1am wake-up from a sick kid. He feels better this morning. Now I’ll be on the countdown to see if the rest of the family gets it or we stay clear. I hate this.

  7. Anita says:

    Awesome goodies! You & the girls both got spoiled. 🙂
    I love Sissy’s new tutu!! And Gretchie’s dress! Cutie pies.

  8. AlisonH says:

    Gnome message could come through clearer–you had a great time!

  9. Marjie says:

    What nice birthday surprises! I always say that G sends the greatest boxes, and her hanger is a real hoot. Hope you’ve got one more quiet day today!

  10. I’m so gald you honor Birth “Month”, as I wasn’t here to pull off any surprises on the proper “Day”. Lovely goodies….

  11. Darcy says:

    Lovely pictures love all your Birthday surprises and the fur girls look so cute.
    How do you prepare your yellow squash I bought some the other day.Hugs Darcy

  12. kathy b says:

    What wonderful gifties. Don’t know what I like best! The gnome is so darn cute.

  13. AllyB says:

    Great gifts! Glad you had such a nice birthday. The dogs as always are precious. Have a great week.

  14. Nichole says:

    Great gifts!!!!! More of yours finally made it to NH… now to get it to you before the end of your birth-month! LOL 🙂
    LOVE that look from Sis! hee hee

  15. grace says:

    Channon, glad you enjoyed your gifts but you might have missed one, there was a tiny little key chain in their too with a bee on it, if you can’t find it, I will whip you up another!!!!

    Glad you had a happy birthday and a good 4th of July weekend!!!

  16. Julie says:

    Happy Birthday a bit late! Just keep on celebrating! I love the name Aslan yarns… one of my grandkids middle names is Aslan. I may have to check them out. Really nice catch you have there! Keep on knittin’!

  17. Kathy says:

    Lovely lovely gifts.
    Sissy looks quite prima in her new tutu. And she really is giving you a look, isn’t she? LOL

Leave a Reply

