Boxes of Fibery Fun

Good grief!  Where has yet another day gone?! 

Last week, two boxes, overflowing with fiber, showed up on my front porch. 

The first was from dear Alison.   She’s such an invaluable resource to me for all things fiber, and now, some of her stash that no longer sings to her has moved east, where it most assuredly does sing to me… and to MJ, who is just crazy about the round ball of roving.   If I remember correctly, the cone shaped fiber is wool, and the round one is unknown.  Thank you, Alison!  I do adore those colors!

The other package was from Kathy and her pack.   This is a mohair blend batt.   I just love the colors.  I’m on a blue kick, in case anyone has missed that.

This batt is named The Spa.  It reminds me that I need to MAKE time to get to the day spa!  It is a BFL batt, and on a rainy day like today, I can only wish I could go home and spin up some of this sunshine.

This is a lovely new base in the Gypsyknits line.  It’s a cashmere blend, and this colorway is Thunder.   I can only hope that today’s thunder and rain green the grass up a bit.

Regular readers might recall that Gretchen has a thing for cashmere.   Sure enough, before I could scoop the yarn to safety, she had sprinted up the steps and come to inspect the latest lovely to arrive for HER stash.

Of course, the girls weren’t forgotten.  Mr. Bettis took full credit for the Sissy-allowed treats, but a little birdy told me that Mr. B’s owner actually fetched the meat-free cookies.   I can’t tell you how much it means to me that my friends (and their spouses!) go to the extra trouble to find treats for my DIVA.  I can assure you, both dogs heartily appreciate it!

The girls would have liked to have posted their own thank-you, but it just wasn’t that kind of weekend. 

I tried to get a photo of the girls savoring their new favorite treats, but I’m afraid that they were so into them that all I have is an unimpressive cleaning up the crumbs shot.

How was your weekend?  I’ll have to tell you more about ours another day…

16 comments on “Boxes of Fibery Fun

  1. gMarie says:

    Oh that “spa” batt with the lemony yellow is fabulous! Almost makes me want to look into learning to spin – almost.

    Oh I can’t wait to see all the lovely new blue goodies. Your girls are adorable as always. g

  2. Well, the boxes and there content alone show a good weekend for you and ggrrlls. With all that fiber to spin, your knitting will likely suffer again. Love the pic of your vacuum cleaners, I mean pups, taking care of every last scrap of the goodies.

  3. Sue says:

    Looks like you’re going to be a busy girl for quite a while. I agree with G, that spa looks yummy.

  4. Barbara S. says:

    Weird. When I first pulled this post up, I could see all the bat pictures and the very last one, but not the one of Gretchen and the yarn or the one of the treats. I hit the refresh and I could then see those two, but not the one of the spa bat. I wonder what I’ll get next time I hit the refresh button? I also wonder if it is me or WordPress?

  5. Barbara S. says:

    Oh, as soon as I hit “Submit” they were all there in their beautifulness!

  6. anniebananie says:

    purty fiber – you are going to be one busy spinner!!!! And please tell Gretchen from me that although she has wonderful taste (the cashmere fiber) she would be better off wearing it rather than chewing on it.

  7. Marjie says:

    Alison’s pinks are pretty, and I love the thunder colorway, too! Glad the girls got cookies!

  8. Darcy says:

    Yummy love The Spa makes me feel happy just looking at it and the Thunder yarn is gorgeous and the fur girls well they are such cuties.Thankyou for sharing pictures I so enjoy them:)Hugs Darcy

  9. Anita says:

    Lucky you!! That’s some great fiber goodies! I really love the spa one. 🙂

  10. AlisonH says:

    You had fun! Both sets of roving are wool. The round may be superwash, not sure, but it’s wool; the other may have just a bit of mohair mixed in, I don’t remember, but it’s wool too. Have fun!

  11. Walden says:

    Beautiful fiber!! Definitely jealous. Someday when I have a wheel I will surround myself with fiber to spin. Until then . . . well I just don’t spin fast enough on a spindle 🙂

  12. Mary says:

    Gretchen has such good taste.

  13. km says:

    Can sissy have Peanut Butter? I’ll have to look for my Gram’s dog treat recipe.

    I have to look away from all that fiber. I do have one ball and it looks a lot like the one in the top pic.

  14. Nichole says:

    LOVE that ball that MJ loves! Gorgeous! The Spa bat is beautiful… and that blue cashmere yarn…. ooohhhhhhhh!

  15. Amy Darsie says:

    Wow – what amazing fiber!! I’ll have to look those folks up for more details, especially Alison.

  16. Bubblesknits says:

    Gorgeous goodies! Love that Spa batt. ::drool:: As for the Diva, I like to send them toys to chase/love/destroy, so I’m safe on the food allergies. 😉

Leave a Reply

