Melancholy Lost Summer

I finished reading The Lost Summer…   The only thing I can add is that it did finally jump into the fictionalized version of Ms. Alcott’s present there at the end. 

Next up is Father Melancholy’s Daughter.  I just KNEW I was going to love this book, based in Romulus, VA, which is supposedly just a valley away from here, somewhere near Staunton, VA.   Ol’ podunk Charlottesville is mentioned early and often too, especially after said Daughter ends up at UVA.  Father Melancholy is even an Episcopal priest, and since I grew up going back and forth between the big E and the big C (the Roman Catholic Church), that too is very familiar.

But…

I don’t get why this is such a rave reviewed book.  I was a little light-headed last night, and I’m sure it’s from all the timeline jumping Ms. Godwin does.   I want to love the characters and care about them, but I don’t.  Father Melancholy needs antidepressants and his daughter is his enabler.  I want to give them both a stern talking-to and tell them to pull themselves up by their bootstraps and get on with their lives.  They’re both brilliant and talented, but so far – over half-way through – they aren’t moving on at all.

I’ve said once I wasn’t going to finish it, but I’m still turning pages.  As with my take on Edgar Sawtelle, it’s not them, it’s me.  I mean, for pete’s sake, one of my favorite books EVER is James Joyce’s Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, and if that doesn’t jump all over the place with its stream of consciousness…    

Of course, the happy ending factor is at play here.   Okay, Lost Summer had a pleasant enough ending (no spoilers here though!), and it’s too soon to tell about Melancholy.  Maybe it will convert me in the last third of the book. 

Not melancholy daylilies!

Of course, I’ve also gone at least one week past due on a haircut, and my hair appointment is this Saturday.  I’m not sure this style is working for my waves, which will not submit to ANYTHING with this humidity.  See!?  I’m sure it’s just me. 

Do note though that I’m reading.  In days of old, neither of these books would have lasted a weekend, but compared to my lack of reading for the first couple of years of my knitting addiction, I’m pleased.   I do still want to get sucked into a book I can’t put down again though.  Anyone have one of those to suggest?

15 comments on “Melancholy Lost Summer

  1. km says:

    When my hair was a bit shorter and cut with a style, even a week past due for a cut looked terrible. That’s the thing about a cute cut…keep up with the appointments. You might be fine if you just get it cut again.

    No time for reading books that are not read outloud. You can join me on the Little House series. ;0)

  2. gMarie says:

    We have such different taste in books that I really can’t help you. You might enjoy Maeve Binchy – her characters have a ton of debth – but there is nothing remotely historically accurate about them.

    Thanks so much for the daisies – I might steal them and make them my screen saver for the days spent in . . .

    g

  3. Sue says:

    I just found a new big, 800 some pages, book by Edward Rutherfurd called New York. He wrote Sarum, London and Russka,all of which I loved and two books about Ireland that I just couldn’t get into. I so love settling in with a thick book and a glass of wine which is how I spent Sunday evening.

  4. Nichole says:

    I need to find some time to pick up the books again…

  5. I get it, totally. I just read two book that I really wanted to like better than I did…one by a favorite author even…Oh well. Reading is good summer (and all other seasons) Now all you need is to turn that into reading at the beach, and voila! Everything is sooo much better.

  6. Kathy says:

    Your books sound interesting. How do you pick them out? The other day my mom asked me that question. It made me think. I have lots of sources for my picks.

  7. AlisonH says:

    Cold Mountain was one that, on the last page, I immediately started over, I could not let it go yet. The author’s “13 Moons,” though? Don’t even start.

  8. anniebananie says:

    I’m sorry but I couldn’t read a book with Melancholy in the title.

    Right now I’m reading Michael Ruhlman’s first book, The Making of a Chef. It’s about him attending the Culinary Institute of America. It is fascinating. Absolutely fascinating.

  9. Kathy says:

    Can’t help you on choosing a book.
    The haircut might tame it a bit in this humidity. BTW, have you noticed Ms. Humidity came back for another visit?

  10. Blond Duck says:

    I can’t wait until you try The Girl Who Chased the Moon.

  11. laceylee says:

    I love to read too, but it interferes with EVERYTHING if it is a good read. Nothing gets done by way of chores or hobbies. I just finished The Help. It was very good. Being from Alabama I could imagine it all happening. Enjoy your reading!

    All that fiber from the post below is gorgeous. You are making me think I might need to try spinning still and I know I just don’t.

  12. grace says:

    Casting OFf by Nicole Dickson—-I stayed up to the small hours reading this and hated seeing it end

  13. Barbara says:

    Funny, I didn’t like The Help. I mean, it was good, but I’m tired of the books about the south. Enough already.

    I know I’ve told you about a little one called Walking the Wrack Line. I was charmed. And gave it away as gifts for an entire year.
    (If you come across a small, exquisite gardening type book, let me know. Need to give my Garden Club board gifts next year.)

    How about:
    A reliable wife
    The housekeeper and the professor
    Embers
    Lark and termite
    Genesis
    The scenic route
    Portrait of a marriage

  14. Marjie says:

    I don’t start books too often, because I become obsessive, and no one will even eat if I’m reading. I wish I had more time!

Leave a Reply

