America, the Beautiful

I do love America, the Beautiful.  It’s a lovely, patriotic song.    Since I don’t have sound on my computer at work, I’m humming loudly.  Luckily, Uncle is patriotic and used to my strange habits.

I’m late blogging today because I was slow doing invoicing because Best Thing (refresher:  Neighbor Guy’s fiancee) sent me the coolest link this morning. 

Know Your States  

I’m proud to announce I got 90% on the first try, and my highest score is a 96%.  Let me know how you do, or as Best Thing did, she informed me that she played once, got what we’d call a passing grade if we were still in elementary school, but she doesn’t REALLY adore trying to place the outlines of states into the outline of the continent.

I do.  You see, while Best Thing and I agree that books are the best toys for girls and boys of all ages, I had a beloved, wooden puzzle map that was a shared podunk toy from one of the farms in the area where the kiddos were significantly older. 

Anyhoo, that’s all great fodder that allows a punny segue to a special award Bridget bestowed upon me, whether I am worthy or not. 

The next step is to share ten interesting things about me.  Gee, I am rather certain I’ve already shared everything that is REMOTELY interesting, but I’ll share away…

  1. My hair has a mind of its own.  It was rather straight until my late teens, and has been getting progressively wavier ever since. 
  2. Sushi and I are not friends.  I feel this is a big gap in my culinary experience, but I’ve not been able to bridge it.
  3. I am newly addicted to Walk It Out, a silly little walking game for the Wii.  It doesn’t scare Gretchen the way Wii Fit Plus does.  (Go figure?!)
  4. The interesting well is dry.  That is noteworthy because I’m rarely at a loss for words.
  5. I’ve never eaten at Chipotle.   Dear Ann had to explain that it is basically fast food to me yesterday…
  6. I’ve never watched a full episode of any reality show.  I just don’t find them entertaining.
  7. Another lull.  Hmmm…  I don’t care for brazil nuts.  I do believe they’re the only nut I don’t adore, while the Knight and his mother rank them as a favorite.
  8. I don’t like spanish rice.
  9. I’m a glass half full kind of gal, so it irks me that the theme of this list seems to be “I never” and “I don’t”.
  10. Any of you who’ve read one of my swap questionnaires know I ADORE dark chocolate, so imagine my surprise when I discovered that the new white chocolate wine from Horton Vineyards is better than the original! 

(Hold that thought.  We’ll talk more about the wine, I promise.)

Next, I need to pass the award along.  While so many of you bring so much beauty to my life, I’m going to share this with some new to me bloggers that I need to be sure you know about too!

  • Barbara at Moveable Feasts has become a cherished friend, but it was her recipes and photos that pulled me in.
  • The Blond Duck at A Duck in her Pond is always mixing it up with her whimsical stories, poems, recipes, cute pups…
  • Dog-Lover’s Yarn has beautiful dogs, spinning advice, fabulous photos.
  • Those darling fashionistas, the BonBon Rose Girls are always mixing it up with fashion, friendship, fun, family…

(Why yes, I do seem to like blogs that mix it up, the way I do, only better!)

Now, back to that wine.   I couldn’t find it on Horton’s website, but it’s the most pleasing dessert wine.   This one (the bottle is actually a lovely green) is white, while they’re still offering their original chocolate (red) wine too.  We were told it had already won an award, and I’m pretty sure Saturday was its public debut.   It is very sweet and very much tastes like chocolate.  (But not white chocolate, not to my tastebuds anyway.)

You also needed to see the text on the back side of the glass.  Every year, the Hortons include a new glass, with a fun saying on one side.  This year’s was spot-on; I just wish I’d been able to get a better photo for you!

In case you can’t read it too easily, it says:

12-Step Chocoholics Program

Never be more than

12 steps

away from chocolate

I think I need that on a coffee mug, a tea cup, a tee shirt, a night shirt…  How ’bout you?

15 comments on “America, the Beautiful

  1. gMarie says:

    Lovely list.

    Sue needs that on a shirt. You know I could leave chocolate, right?

    Thanks for blogging! g

  2. km says:

    I got 90% on my first try. Some were mouse errors. I once let go before I got to the map. Studying the States for the kids school has really helped my geography.

    I love chocolate…I would definitely give that a try.

  3. km says:

    Ooooo…I was comment 15500 today. I think you’re 20000th comment needs an award (blog badge or something). ;0)

  4. With you on books AND puzzles. Will go play the game shortly….and must try some chocolate wine. When you coming to share it with me?

  5. Sue says:

    Ohhhh… chocolate wine! Life is good!!!

    On the map, you should have warned us that if you release the mouse because your mouse pad slipped, it counts against you. A couple I had in the right area, was just off a smidge and you have to be very exact. I got 92%, but really only goofed badly on one state. Sorry Rhode Island!

  6. Anita says:

    I played the Know Your States…. it’s not fair though. I knew where all of them were but the first few in the middle are tricky! I was only off by 40 miles, by gosh that means I knew where they were! LOL

  7. Walden says:

    Well, my first time was bad, in the mid 70s, but the second time I got a 96%. I am horrible at geography though! Chipotle is good for Mexican fast food, though.

  8. Barbara S. says:

    So how soon are you going to rectify this Chipotle problem? It is fast, but I wouldn’t really call it “basic” myself. I would defiantly call it “Yum!” and “Worth going to soon!” though.

  9. anniebananie says:

    I love the Hortons, and I’m going to have to pick up some of that wine!

    Now, I got an 86% on my first try with an average mile error of 27. So, while I had Vermont in generally the right place, along with Tennessee, I was still off and they counted it wrong.

  10. Kathy says:

    I haven’t eaten at Chipolte either. Of course I’d have to find one first..hee-hee
    Chocolate wine? oh my gosh sounds simply divine (smacking my lips);)

  11. Marjie says:

    I’ll have to try the state game later; I’ll let the little boys try it, too. Love the chocolate wine glass. My daughter brought me a box of white chocolate and raspberry bunnies from the local Gertrude Hawk store, and I do love them…almost as much as the dark or milk chocolate ones…

  12. Marjie says:

    My first state score was 94%. I drew Indiana first and missed it by 128 miles, then drew Colorado and missed it by 76 miles. I also missed Missouri by 43 miles. Not too awful, I’d say. The boys will like this!

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    I got a 96%, but that was with help from Dr. Tooth. lol

  14. grace says:

    what a great wine glass!!!

  15. Nichole says:

    White Chocolate Wine? MUST. TRY. IT.
    LOVE that glass!
    I’m no fan of sushi or spanish rice either… 😉

Leave a Reply

