Doggy Dental Discussion

I can open wide...

For this week’s Dogs on Thursday post, I was hoping y’all can give me some advice on dental care for the pooches.  None of my dogs have ever needed to have their teeth cleaned, but I already see a few tartar spots on Sissy’s teeth.  I brushed the boy-dogs’ teeth a few times, but they were such cooperative guys. 

I did find a cleaning gel for Sis that doesn’t have any of her allergens listed in the ingredients.  I suspect she’ll be about as cooperative as any dog is.  Gretchen?  I’m not optimistic.  She doesn’t like having her mouth messed with, so I just bought her a very little doggy tooth brush, and I figure we’ll just work on getting the buggar in her mouth for starters…

Do you brush your dog’s teeth?  I’d always heard that since we fed a dry kibble, treated with hard biscuits and provided bones of all sorts for gnawing and such, that we didn’t need to brush their teeth…

The braindead and the ever-understanding, aka: me & 'Nita 2008

It’s also little friday and Thankful Thursday.  Right now, I’m thankful for my friends who still love me when I drop the ball or even forget to show up for the game.  

Isn’t that really one of the signs of a real friend?  Someone who still likes you even when you’re not at your best? 

Sissy did get a quick post up today too.  Do pets understand death?

11 comments on “Doggy Dental Discussion

  1. gMarie says:

    We don’t brush teeth and even though we always feed dry kibble and treated with crunchy treats and bones, you could count on the vet to say – without fail – every single year. He could stand to loose a few pounds and do you feed soft food, his teeth are really dirty (about Dudley Dog).

    I can’t believe that photo is over 2 years old. I remember when you finished that little cardi – it’s still adorable – do you still wear it?

    and yes, I think they do understand death. Probably more than the understand the pain and suffering that leads up to it – both their and ours. ❤ g

  2. Nichole says:

    I have never brushed our dogs’ teeth, however Tut’s are really starting to look rather ragged. BUT… our vet always says they’re fine and that the combination as you mentioned is excellent (kibble, hard treats, bones to chew, etc). We toss some Denta Bones their way every now and then…
    The QuadBrush Ultimate that we got to review from Bamboo is really quite interesting and probably the best doggy toothbrush I’ve seen…

  3. Sue says:

    I brush now and then. Monty wouldn’t allow it and Tsar won’t either, but the others all like the attention and the taste of the toothpaste. I did best with Bentley, about three times a week, but the vet tells me they actually need it every day. With ten of them, I sometimes find it hard to find the time to brush my own teeth, let alone all of them. I have the vet clean their teeth about every two years and so far it’s working out well. At the same time he does their teeth, he does anything else that needs them to go under, cyst removal, deep ear cleaning, etc.

  4. Marjie says:

    We’ve never brushed our dogs’ teeth. hell, there are days I’m lucky to remember to brush my own teeth (almost). A local oral surgeon here adored our first mastiff so much that he borrowed the office of a friend of his who was a vet and repaired a cavity in the dog’s canine tooth. I think he was trying to butter us up to take a lowball offer on our house. That’s a long way from doggy tooth brushing, isn’t it? That’s how my pea sized brain works. I like the picture of you and Nita; that sweater is cute.

  5. Dawn says:

    I brush Fuji’s teeth, plus give her bones to chew on. Hate seeing them put out to have their teeth clean.

  6. Kathy says:

    Ya want me to brush Mr. B’s teeth? ROTFLOL….he says, no way.

    aawww…love the pic of you and Anita. I remember when it was first posted.

    Yes, I think pets understand death. Remind me to tell you a story of our cats and understanding death.

  7. Um…yeah. None of the dog’s who’ve owned us have ever wanted their teeth brushed. We were of the dry food + dry treats+ bones = good enough school too. I still love that pic…

  8. Walden says:

    Sorry, not much knowledge about doggy dental care. I do agree with you, a real friend is there when you are on the ball and when you drop it. 🙂

  9. Bubblesknits says:

    Can you believe Dr. Tooth doesn’t brush any of our cat’s teeth? I mean…geez, what a slacker. 😉 On a more serious note, I do believe in taking the girls to the vet at least once a year for a dental check up. An abscessed tooth is what got my childhood dog.

  10. Mary says:

    No dog tooth brushing here either. The Doberman and the Staffordshire Bull Terrier are not fond of folks messing with their mouths…and I am fond of my fingers, so I comply with their wishes.

  11. Anita says:

    Never tried brushing a dogs teeth… Harley never had any issues with that. Good luck with that though. 🙂

    You might have the Braindead & Ever Understanding backwards. LOL And yes, thank goodness that real friends understand & still love us when we aren’t at our best! I feel as if I haven’t been at my best in a long while….

    Do animals understand death? I don’t know if they “understand”, but I know that they feel the loss & the emotional pain associated with it.

Leave a Reply

